Yosemite 10.5 on Mac Pro 1.1, Is it safe to enable TRIM on my SSD ?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by JOSECBA, Sep 1, 2015.

  1. JOSECBA macrumors member

    JOSECBA

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    #1
    Hello, I have full and working very well YOSEMITE 10.5 on my old Mac Pro 1.1, installed on a SSD, question
    Is it Safe to Enable TRIM on my SSD ? I am worried about not being able to boot over after....
     
  2. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #2
    I have a 3rd party SSD on my 2011 MBP 15" with 10.10.5 and TRIM enabled via the trimforce command (terminal command: sudo trimforce enable). No problems so far.
     
  3. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #3
    With trimforce? Should be fine, mine is. With the 3rd party Trim Enabler...who knows, lots of reports of non-booting depending on the sequence of enable/disable/upgrade whatever. I used to use Trim Enabler, stopped when Yosemite came out and just starting using trimforce.
     
  4. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #4
    Just an update, I just swapped out my Crucial 512GB SSD for a Crucial 1TB - Trimforce was enabled on the new SSD as soon as I connected it and looked, I had assumed trimforce was enabled per SSD but it seems a system-wide setting. You may already know this but it hadn't occurred to me...
     
  5. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #5
    ^^^^Yes, it's system wide. I have 5 SSDs installed on my Mac Pro. I just installed a new Blade last week, and because TRIM was previously enabled the Blade picked it up. I wouldn't have expected anything else.

    Lou
     

Share This Page