YUP I'm a newbie and want to buy accessories!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by katiecross, Jan 13, 2010.

1. katiecross macrumors newbie

So I know there are a million threads about this but they are all so very inconclusive. I recently got a 15" mbp and I need to buy some things. I would like to buy a case or sleeve, but I don't know which i would like better; any opinion on the speck clear case or the colcosac, its an either or for me even though they are completely different. My 4 year old laptop doesnt have a scratch on it but it is a dell so different material...Also i need to get either iwork or office and I don't know which to get. I mainly just need to write essays and do homework with a word processor and some presentations from time to time. I wouldnt mind iwork if it was easily compatible with other office users. I dont know if I should buy applecare...I'm also not sure if the trackpad on the mbp discolors or anything like the white macbooks. I know this is a ton of questions and like a million questions in one, but after hours on this forum I still need help. Thank you everyone!

2. rlav macrumors member

MS Office, hands down. especially if you are working with other windows users. That way you don't have to worry about compatibility. Also take a look at NeoOffice. I used it for a semester of school, but ended up getting MS office mainly because of the group projects at school, and the need for the formatting to work across many computers.

Don't really know about the other questions.

3. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

Chupa Chupa

A few comments to your questions:

1) I've had a combination of 5 PB (aluminum/titantium)/MBPs in the last 10 years. If you treat them well they will look like new the last day you own them. A sleeve or case is 100% essential to this though. There are all very similar so get the one that has the features you like.