PDA

View Full Version : G3 to G4 logic board swap?




sick70malibu
Sep 19, 2010, 01:39 PM
Would it be possible to get a logic board with a 1.33ghz or faster processor out of a 12.1" G4 and swap it in to a G3? Are the parts even compatible? I know from building engines that certain years and parts are interchangable but I don't know about computers.

Thanks



spinnerlys
Sep 19, 2010, 01:47 PM
No, take a look at these two guides and scroll down to step 52 (http://www.ifixit.com/pdf/ifixit/guide_715_en.pdf) and 72 (http://www.ifixit.com/pdf/ifixit/guide_135_en.pdf).

sick70malibu
Sep 19, 2010, 02:51 PM
Forgive me for asking the stupid question, but why exactly is it not possible? Judging from the pictures it looks to me that the different boards mount differently in different cases?

spinnerlys
Sep 19, 2010, 03:02 PM
Forgive me for asking the stupid question, but why exactly is it not possible? Judging from the pictures it looks to me that the different boards mount differently in different cases?

If the cases and the boards are different, how should one fit into the other?

Maybe someone already did that, otherwise we wouldn't really know. Have you found any examples of someone putting a G4 logic board into a G3 iBook?

They look similar, but they are not, even if it is only mm in some places.

G3 12" iBook logic board
http://www.thebookyard.com/images/IBG3800LOG.jpg

G4 12" iBook logic board
http://www.thebookyard.com/images/IB412LOG12.jpg

sick70malibu
Sep 19, 2010, 06:17 PM
But in theory would a little bit of massaging with a file a bit of sand paper and asteady touch help? Or would it just be best to start from scratch and do a fresh custom build?

max••
Sep 19, 2010, 06:27 PM
even if you made it fit, the dc board, screen, ram, battery and possibly the hd cable wouldn't work