PDA

View Full Version : PMG4 with iPhone 4




ddeadserious
Sep 24, 2010, 11:00 PM
Have a Powermac G4, dual 500MHz, 2GB RAM, has a USB 2.0 card in one of the PCI(or whatever) slots.

Bought an iPhone 4.

Realized I needed to be running Leopard, so installed Leopard and updated, etc.

Now, I plug the iPhone in, iPhoto recognizes it as a camera, but iTunes is not responding.

Any ideas?



VanneDC
Sep 24, 2010, 11:09 PM
not 100% fer sure as i have a 3gs, but doesnt the iphone4 require Itunes10?

ddeadserious
Sep 24, 2010, 11:29 PM
It's running iTunes 10.

Giuly
Sep 25, 2010, 06:55 AM
It's running iTunes 10.

You unlocked the iPhone before? (Press the home-button, slide the slider and maybe enter the code). The iPhone is otherwise not recognized by iTunes.

ddeadserious
Sep 26, 2010, 01:30 PM
You unlocked the iPhone before? (Press the home-button, slide the slider and maybe enter the code). The iPhone is otherwise not recognized by iTunes.

Didn't make a difference, nice thought though.

Any other ideas?

raysfan81
Sep 26, 2010, 01:37 PM
Didn't make a difference, nice thought though.

Any other ideas?

I think I remember hearing something about iTunes 10 needing a 1ghz+ processor but I couldn't tell you for sure. Does iTunes actually open on your computer and just not recognize the iPhone or does it not open at all?

EDIT: Found it but I don't know if its right

Now, on the Apple side of things, machines that are capable of running Mac OS X 10.5.8 Leopard include all machines with processors that are faster than 867MHz, though iTunes requires at least a 1GHz processor and iPhone 4 requires a USB 2.0 connection.

http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-19512_7-20008845-233.html

ddeadserious
Sep 26, 2010, 02:53 PM
iTunes 10 does open, it just doesn't mount the iPhone. Obviously, the USB 2.0 capability is not on the motherboard, but with the PCI card that I added. I'm thinking that the issue is related to that.

raysfan81
Sep 27, 2010, 07:05 PM
iTunes 10 does open, it just doesn't mount the iPhone. Obviously, the USB 2.0 capability is not on the motherboard, but with the PCI card that I added. I'm thinking that the issue is related to that.

Have you checked in system profiler to see that it actually recognizes that you have a USB card in the PCI slot?