Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Spiritandtruth

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 25, 2010
On my pc I've been using photoshop elements 5.0LE forever. I've never used a newer version. That version was included in a camera I bought long ago.

I tried to load it on my new imac and it said it doesn't support it even though it was a pc/mac CD. I guess it was for the old systems. I'm not too literate on all this stuff.

Anyhow, I was looking on eBay to buy photoshop to load onto this new imac of mine and I'm clueless as to which to buy. I'm noticing people are saying I can buy this old version and then "upgrade." Is it cheaper to do that?

Which would you guys prefer? I don't need anything great considering I've been using this old 5.0LE forever. I sell on eBay for a living and just need the basic functions really....although if there is an inexpensive way to get a much better version I'm in. I'm looking to spend max....$200 on this.

Any tips would be helpful. I don't do pirated stuff and want to be legit. I like the real stuff and paying what I'm supposed to pay. I like to be legal.

Thanks in advance!

flyfish29

macrumors 68020
Feb 4, 2003
New HAMpshire
I guess I would ask- what are you wanting to do with the pictures really? Basic cropping, color fixes, etc can be done with the free iPhoto.

Are you dropping in items in your photos that you don't really own but are "selling":D on Ebay.

However, it sounds like you are too honest to do that, so iPhoto might be enough.

Let us know what you want to do with pics.

If you do need more, photoshop elements sounds ideal.

Tesseract

macrumors regular
Mar 2, 2008
GIMP is also a great free alternative to Photoshop. Nowhere near the amount of functionality or bells and whistles, but still a great and powerful program.

But if you go with Photoshop, straight up buying the recently released Elements 9.0 is probably your best choice.