Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sxpcreative

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 12, 2005
Toronto
Hi Everyone!

I'm a new student of Art & Design and have been a PC user up until starting school. I have grown to liking Mac's as that is all we use at school. Therefore, I am interested in buying one and I don't know which one to get.

Space:

I have space issues at home at the moment, so a laptop makes sense. However, can it handle all the design applications I will get for it properly? Quark, Photoshop, Dreamweaver, better than a desktop?

Price:

Being a full time student means a shoe string budget, although I am not cheap. I want to be able to buy something that will last a while and is easy to upgrade.

What would be a good starting point for me as a Designer, future Graphic Artist?

I will probably get a Mac educational discount, although I don't expect it to be much, because prices here in Toronto are bit higher than in the states. However, I hope I can get away with finding something decent.

I have done my browsing and was playing around with an Ibook 12" when I went to visit Carbonation. I also checked out all the Apple choices...and oh boy do I feel confussed!

I have a PC Compaq Laptop Intel 2.8, 80 Gig Hard Drive, 1 Gig Memory and it works fine, but I will have tons of homework as well as in-class work with Macs, so naturally, I would like to have the ability to be able to do homework at home instead of being stuck at labs in school.

Your help is appreciated!

Regards,

San ;)

CanadaRAM

macrumors G5
OK, let's tackle your questions:

Space issues: Powerbook, iBook, Mac Mini or iMac G5 all deal with limited space in their own ways. One of these will be right for you.