Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Dr. Dastardly

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jun 26, 2004
I live in a giant bucket!
So heres the deal. A friend of mine wanted to lock one file (the contents of the file I didn't care to know :rolleyes: ) and thought that that is what file vault is used for. Instead he locked his computer down and really doesn't want a password on it if he's the only user. The only way I know how to get rid of this is to create a new user account and delete the old one.

I guess my question is

1) Am I mistaken in thinking you cant turn off the master password to access that particular users account.

and

2) What is the easiest way to copy all his files to a new userid.

I have never done this before but know there are a number of differnet ways. I'm just looking for the easiest and most effeciant. He is mostly concerned about losing his iTunes tracks and star ratings.
But his school files and settings are important to. :rolleyes:

stubeeef

macrumors 68030
Aug 10, 2004
you need to read up on it but go to sys pref>accounts>security and at the bottom is "turn file vault off".

Depending on how many files are encrypted, it may take a while.

Probably ought to get some better research, I am NOT an IT pro, and rarely take my own recommendations.

good luck.

Norouzi

macrumors 6502
Aug 6, 2004
Philadelphia, PA
There is a password reset utility on your Panther Install CD. You boot up from the install disk and at the first screen select the "Installer" menue and the reset password utility is in there. You can use it to reset the password to nothing if you want, just don't enter anything as the new password. Now OS X will still ask you for a password to preform certain tasks, that's just the way it is, you just click "OK" without entering a password though.