Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sveno

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 25, 2010
Hello,

I actually want to buy a MBP 15", but I want to wait until the next revision. I don't really need it yet, but im currently participating on a lab in iPhone programming at my university and I don't possess a Mac atm. I can use the Macs in my university, but it is really annoying that I cannot work on the lab on the weekend and in the upcoming christmas holidays. So I am thinking about buying a MBA and resaling it when the next generation of MBPs comes out. So what do you generally think of this idea?
I'm studying on a university that participates on the "Apple on Campus" program so I get educational discount.
I definitely would use the upgrade option to 4GB memory, so here are the current prices for me (inclusively educational discount):
MBA 11" 64GB 4GB Ram: 960,51€ (without educational discount: 1089€ (+128,49€))
MBA 11" 128GB 4GB Ram 1,4GHz: 1092,60€ (without educational discount: 1239€ (+146,40€))
MBA 11" 128GB 4GB Ram 1,6GHz: 1171,14€ (without educational discount: 1329€ (+157,86€))
MBA 13" 128GB 4GB Ram: 1224,69€ (without educational discount: 1389€ (+164,31€))
MBA 13" 256GB 4GB Ram 1,86GHz: 1488,87€ (without educational discount: 1689€ (+200,13€))
MBA 13" 256GB 4GB Ram 2,13GHz: 1567,41€ (without educational discount: 1779€ (+211,59€))

What do you think is the one with the smallest loss when I resale it when the new MBPs (February-April '11) are coming out? Can you give an estimation for the resale value? What is the best way to resale it (Ebay?)?

Thank you very much in advance. Sorry for my possibly not perfect english. It is not my mother language.

Best regards,
Sveno

stridemat

Staff member
Apr 2, 2008
UK
I would go with the MBA with the highest spec, especially if you sell it on for full retail value. It could even be the same as you brought it for from the education store.

KPOM