PDA

View Full Version : Hard Drive Question For Power Mac G4 (mirrored doors)


Aldaris
Jan 20, 2005, 11:08 PM
I've been looking to upgrade the storage in my Power Mac G4 (and someday just turn it into a server) and was just wondering where I could find some ATA/66 drives for the front hard drive bays, any help or input would be greatly appriciated. Thank you all.

-Aldaris
Dual 1.25 GHz G4 PowerMac
80GB + 200GB ATA/100
AirPort
SuperDrive + ComboDrive

17" 1.5GHz G4 PowerBook
80GB
AirPort Extreme
SuperDrive

40GB 4G

Duff-Man
Jan 20, 2005, 11:15 PM
Duff-Man says....you don't have to use ATA-66 - you can use ATA-100, which there always seems to be deals on....keep an eye on http://www.dealmac.com or Deals on the Web (http://www.dealsontheweb.com) - there's drive deals posted there just about every day....oh yeah!

Aldaris
Jan 21, 2005, 01:30 AM
Thanks Duff-Man... ... ... but...

I've tried an ATA/100 in the front bays, and it won't show up in the finder...
In the manual it says ATA/100's can only go in the rear bay only...(pg.68).
Is there a special cable select mode?

Thanks Again

Bear
Jan 21, 2005, 07:18 AM
Thanks Duff-Man... ... ... but...

I've tried an ATA/100 in the front bays, and it won't show up in the finder...
In the manual it says ATA/100's can only go in the rear bay only...(pg.68).
Is there a special cable select mode?

Thanks AgainIf the drive is not jumpered correctly, you will have issues. The drive should be labeled with jumper information - if not it should've come with a booklet. In worst case, the drive manufacturers website should have the info.

I have ATA/100 drives on the ATA/66 bus and ATA/133 drives on the ATA/100 bus. (On an MDD FW800 model.)

Norouzi
Jan 21, 2005, 02:02 PM
An ATA 100 drive will work on a 66 bus. Unless you specificly need to have your drive on Cable Select for something, go with either Master or Slave. It will save you trouble trying to figure out why a drive dosen't show up.

Horrortaxi
Jan 22, 2005, 01:43 PM
The MDD manual says to jumper the hard drives as "cable select." I haven't had any problems with the ATA 100 drives in the front of mine.