View Full Version : Used Mac Site Called "www.cmd-r.com"
stepbasin
Jan 29, 2005, 07:00 PM
Has anyone ever heard of this site? Its called www.cmd-r.com and allow people to post for sale used Macs & associated hardware and software. Anyway, it looks like it could be pretty cool it just needs some more people to look at it and post stuff. Anyway, please give it a try and see what you think.
Patmian212
Jan 29, 2005, 07:24 PM
Spam?
iBook
Jan 29, 2005, 07:28 PM
Spam?
Not in my opinion. I appreciate information like this.
As an owner of a used Mac that does nothing but sit in my closet and a used Mac that does nothing but sit in my bookcase, I appreciate knowing where to find a market for these machines.
Furthermore, the category is "Marketplace and Classifieds." :eek:
What did you expect? Everything in here is going to be sales-oriented.
Patmian212
Jan 29, 2005, 07:32 PM
Not in my opinion. I appreciate information like this.
As an owner of a used Mac that does nothing but sit in my closet and a used Mac that does nothing but sit in my bookcase, I appreciate knowing where to find a market for these machines.
Furthermore, the category is "Marketplace and Classifieds." :eek:
What did you expect? Everything in here is going to be sales-oriented.
It is actually in buying tips and advice ;)
Westside guy
Jan 29, 2005, 09:55 PM
Interesting that it doesn't have a "whois" entry... I'd be inclined to stay away from there. :confused:
stepbasin
Jan 30, 2005, 01:01 AM
Interesting that it doesn't have a "whois" entry... I'd be inclined to stay away from there. :confused:
What is a "whois" entry? And this is not meant to be spam, just a suggestion for those of you who might be interested in other outlets for selling used stuff.
Westside guy
Jan 30, 2005, 03:28 PM
What is a "whois" entry?
A "whois" entry is the report you can get regarding any website's registration information. From the Unix command line, you type in "whois cmd-r.com" and you should get a report of when the site was registered, who owns it, when it was created, etc.
But I mispoke - it does have a whois entry when queried from Network Solutions website. It wasn't found when I did it from the command line earlier, for some odd reason.
The reason I did a whois lookup is because I wanted to see when the site was created. A lot of times scam sites will have a very recent start date. The cmd-r.com site was set up just last November. Note that this doesn't mean it's a scam site! It just means it's a new site, and so one should tread especially carefully when it comes to personal info, money changing hands, etc.
vBulletin® v3.8.6, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.