PDA

View Full Version : G5 2.0 GHz memory upgrade?


chasemac
Jan 30, 2005, 05:36 PM
Hey Everyone,

I just installed 2 x 512 MB ram today to the factory 2 x 256 MB. Everything seems to run fine. The system profile reads that I have 1.5 GB of ram. Although, I see under the speed list that all are running at PC3200U-30330 except the DIMM2 reads PC3200U-25330. Is there a reason for this? The memory I bought was Centon PC3200 DDR400 and are both the same.

Thanks for any info! :)

Sun Baked
Jan 30, 2005, 05:47 PM
Did you buy a kit (two matched pairs in a package) or two individual DIMMs?

If you bought two individual sticks, they are probably out of a bin -- so there's a possibility of getting two different spec DIMMs (different batches.)

chasemac
Jan 30, 2005, 06:09 PM
I did not buy a kit. I bought 2 individuals. Is that gonna cause any problems?

jsw
Jan 30, 2005, 06:11 PM
Unmatched RAM might slow you down a trivial amount. The speed boost from matched pairs is rarely noticeable under most conditions - I wouldn't worry about it.

chasemac
Jan 30, 2005, 06:17 PM
Thanks for your help. I'll try not to worry about it but keep a close eye on things.

Thanks Again! :)