PDA

View Full Version : Lion has out of the box video encoding




scmaster53
Feb 26, 2011, 05:55 PM
Last night I used this feature to compress and encode a screen recording I did. I didn't realize that it was new to Lion until I went back over to my Snow Leopard partition and attempted to do the same thing for another screen recording. You can do this by right clicking on a video file and choosing "encode selected video files" from the list. You can encode up to 1080p .m4v/AAC. Image attached for proof.



LoganT
Feb 26, 2011, 06:03 PM
Could you post a screen shot of the settings?

Thanks.

QuarterSwede
Feb 26, 2011, 06:06 PM
It seems like QuickTime in Lion is finally getting to be what QT7 Pro was. What is the version number now?

kuwisdelu
Feb 26, 2011, 06:09 PM
How fast/slow is it?

scmaster53
Feb 26, 2011, 06:12 PM
Could you post a screen shot of the settings?

Thanks.

Sure thing

It seems like QuickTime in Lion is finally getting to be what QT7 Pro was. What is the version number now?

I gotcha covered too. See images below.

EDIT: I missed that 1080p encodes into H.264. Awesome. And it's decently fast. I'm on a Macbook Pro 15inch Core i7 and it moves right along.

LoganT
Feb 26, 2011, 06:14 PM
Thank you! It's definitely not as full featured as Quicktime 7 Pro is, but maybe by release it will be.

scmaster53
Feb 26, 2011, 06:16 PM
I just want to clarify that the option to encode is found in Finder when right clicking a mov file. The option is not found in Quicktime. I am unsure as to whether this is something new for OS X, or if it's just OS X using Finder to call to Quicktime to do the encoding.

kuwisdelu
Feb 26, 2011, 06:20 PM
And it's decently fast.

If you've used Handbrake before, can you offer a comparison?

Using QT to re-encode is slow as hell in SL.

scmaster53
Feb 26, 2011, 06:31 PM
No I have never used Handbrake, nor Final Cut, nor any major video editing application on any platform. I'm a coder/gamer haha. What I will do for you is take a 3 minute screen recording at 1920 x 1080 and compress it into 1080p H.264 and time it for you. If that helps at all.


EDIT: I think this feature is still a bit buggy. I told it to encode and a .m4v file showed up for a bit (said it was zero KB in size and would not open) and then a bit later promptly vanished. Also when encoding there is a total lack of progress bar or any pop up window at all. A new file just appears next to the source file and when it finishes you can open the compressed/encoded file. Hope that gets changed by the time Lion RTMs