PDA

View Full Version : Mission Control




jake4ever
Feb 27, 2011, 01:15 PM
So: in Mission Control I have 4 desktops + Dashboard. Does anyone know how to change the names of these Desktops (eg. Work, school..) Thanks!

~Jake



Steve Ballmer
Feb 27, 2011, 01:18 PM
I don't think it's possible in this build, but it does seem to imply we can assign custom names to each space (or is Desktop?) in a future build.

PBF
Feb 27, 2011, 01:31 PM
At least for me, Mission Control is totally messed up when certain apps/windows are open. They seem to overlay one another. Hope it is a display bug and gets fixed in the next build because I really don't like the feature in its current state.

funrush
Feb 27, 2011, 02:03 PM
I love MissionControl. Never used Spaces, but I already miss it when switching to Snow Leopard.

I'm really worried about Adobe COMPLETELY SCREWING UP their Creative Suite window management. Ow god that is going to be a nightmare.

PBF
Feb 27, 2011, 02:38 PM
By the way, have a look at my atrocious Mission Control:

http://cl.ly/4tL2/img.png

Does something like this happen to yours?

jake4ever
Feb 27, 2011, 09:42 PM
By the way, have a look at my atrocious Mission Control:

http://cl.ly/4tL2/img.png

Does something like this happen to yours?

Nope, not having that problem.

One bug is that my Desktops are:
Dashboard
Desktop 1
Desktop 3
Desktop 2
Desktop 4
:confused:

iPhone1
Feb 27, 2011, 09:51 PM
No way to rename Spaces at the time. Ensure you file a bug report asking for this feature.

ConnorCG
Feb 27, 2011, 09:52 PM
I am a little mad they removed the show desktop function of the trackpad, but I'll get used to using a few keys instead. I also cannot switch between what app window is in front of the other when in Mission Control.

PBF
Feb 27, 2011, 10:01 PM
I am a little mad they removed the show desktop function of the trackpad, but I'll get used to using a few keys instead.
They didn't. They just slightly altered the gesture:

Place four fingers (thumb, index, middle, ring) on trackpad, then spread them. ;)

ConnorCG
Feb 27, 2011, 10:23 PM
They didn't. They just slightly altered the gesture:

Place four fingers (thumb, index, middle, ring) on trackpad, then spread them. ;)

Oh wow, thanks.

PBF
Feb 27, 2011, 10:26 PM
Oh wow, thanks.
There's even more: place four fingers (thumb, index, middle, ring) on trackpad, then pinch them (opposite of spread), and voilą, Launchpad! :D

Bisz
Feb 27, 2011, 10:35 PM
Gestures are nothing new. Get BetterTouchTool for all of your gesture needs, right on SL. Its fantastic.

PBF
Feb 27, 2011, 10:43 PM
Gestures are nothing new. Get BetterTouchTool for all of your gesture needs, right on SL. Its fantastic.
Who wants a third-party solution? :p

jake4ever
Mar 1, 2011, 04:57 PM
Gestures are nothing new. Get BetterTouchTool for all of your gesture needs, right on SL. Its fantastic.

What's on it? and does it work with Lion?

antmarobel
Mar 1, 2011, 06:11 PM
I'm getting no success with Mission Control through mouse gesture here...Though Mission Control is configured on Mouse Configuration the "two clicks" to access Mission Control is not working with me...Any idea?

Zcott
Mar 1, 2011, 06:42 PM
I'm getting no success with Mission Control through mouse gesture here...Though Mission Control is configured on Mouse Configuration the "two clicks" to access Mission Control is not working with me...Any idea?

It's two taps, not two clicks. Assuming you're using a Magic Mouse, just tap it without actually pressing down the button.

Also, not sure if BetterTouchTool works on Lion yet.

antmarobel
Mar 1, 2011, 06:44 PM
It's two taps, not two clicks. Assuming you're using a Magic Mouse, just tap it without actually pressing down the button.

Also, not sure if BetterTouchTool works on Lion yet.

Nice!!! Thanks!! :D

mrblack927
Mar 1, 2011, 06:47 PM
BetterTouchTool does indeed work with Lion. Just remember to disable the default gestures (from system preferences) before mapping them to new actions with BTT. I've been using it for a while now and it seems solid. :)

ConnorCG
Mar 1, 2011, 10:02 PM
There's even more: place four fingers (thumb, index, middle, ring) on trackpad, then pinch them (opposite of spread), and voilą, Launchpad! :D

The most useless app included in Lion is now easily accessible!

Steve Ballmer
Mar 1, 2011, 10:17 PM
No way to rename Spaces at the time. Ensure you file a bug report asking for this feature.
You just reminded me to do just that. Filed one a minute ago, thanks.

hellomoto4
Mar 1, 2011, 10:38 PM
Is there any way to move Spaces/Desktops around?

For example I would like to have (in this order):
Fullscreen Mail
Fullscreen Safari
Desktop 1
Fullscreen iCal
Desktop 2
... so that when I am doing work on Desktop 1, I can quickly swipe to both iCal or Mail.

Thanks!

tourada
Mar 1, 2011, 10:41 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

Is there any way to move Spaces/Desktops around?

For example I would like to have (in this order):
Fullscreen Mail
Fullscreen Safari
Desktop 1
Fullscreen iCal
Desktop 2
... so that when I am doing work on Desktop 1, I can quickly swipe to both iCal or Mail.

Thanks!

Essentially yes. However, at this moment you can't "move" them. It just depends on where(desktop 1, 2, 3...etc) you open an application

mrblack927
Mar 2, 2011, 06:57 AM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)



Essentially yes. However, at this moment you can't "move" them. It just depends on where(desktop 1, 2, 3...etc) you open an application

Actually, they seem to move themselves. It not only depends on where you open them but also how you use them. The behavior is exactly the same as how apps in the "multitasking bar" are arranged on iOS devices. That is:


When you open a (full screen) app, it goes to the space immediately to the right of where you are
If you swipe to the app, it doesn't change the order
But if you click the app icon from the dock, it not only takes you there but moves it to the space to the immediate right of where you were


So essentially what you end up with is all of your apps ordered from most recent to least recent from left to right. You can't "lock your apps in place" as far as I know. The idea is that you will always have your most used apps closest to you. I personally dislike this feature, but I imagine Apple will probably add a manual arrangement function before the release.

legendzm
Jul 4, 2011, 12:26 PM
Thank you!!! Answered my question perfectly! :D




Actually, they seem to move themselves. It not only depends on where you open them but also how you use them. The behavior is exactly the same as how apps in the "multitasking bar" are arranged on iOS devices. That is:


When you open a (full screen) app, it goes to the space immediately to the right of where you are
If you swipe to the app, it doesn't change the order
But if you click the app icon from the dock, it not only takes you there but moves it to the space to the immediate right of where you were


So essentially what you end up with is all of your apps ordered from most recent to least recent from left to right. You can't "lock your apps in place" as far as I know. The idea is that you will always have your most used apps closest to you. I personally dislike this feature, but I imagine Apple will probably add a manual arrangement function before the release.