PDA

View Full Version : MBP 15" now, or wait for new Macbook Air for DAW use?




Cicatrix
Feb 27, 2011, 09:48 PM
Hey Mac Air folks,

I have almost pulled the trigger on a new 2011 MBP 15". It will be my first Mac. I plan on using it mainly for audio applications, Logic, Reaper, with a few VST and audio tracks. Originally wanted the 13" but did not want 1280x800 res once I compared it to the 1440x900 res of the Air, and the MBP 15". So now I am thinking of possibly waiting until the MBA refresh comes out later this year to buy, and pick up an Air instead of the MBP 15". If it will have SB that would be more than enough processing power for what I will be throwing at it. Also, with the likeliness that they will include Thunderbolt I will be able to hook up my external audio interface, and other peripherals no problem.

Should I wait and see what comes with the Air refresh, or should I just get the MBP 15" now? I was looking at the MBP, and the Air again today in Best Buy and I must say the sleek form factor of the Air is sooo nice!



iPhone1
Feb 27, 2011, 10:16 PM
Wait for the new Air. Thunderbolt will be on all future Macs. It is a standard Apple is fully behind.

drxcm
Feb 28, 2011, 02:43 AM
Hey Mac Air folks,

I have almost pulled the trigger on a new 2011 MBP 15". It will be my first Mac. I plan on using it mainly for audio applications, Logic, Reaper, with a few VST and audio tracks. Originally wanted the 13" but did not want 1280x800 res once I compared it to the 1440x900 res of the Air, and the MBP 15". So now I am thinking of possibly waiting until the MBA refresh comes out later this year to buy, and pick up an Air instead of the MBP 15". If it will have SB that would be more than enough processing power for what I will be throwing at it. Also, with the likeliness that they will include Thunderbolt I will be able to hook up my external audio interface, and other peripherals no problem.

Should I wait and see what comes with the Air refresh, or should I just get the MBP 15" now? I was looking at the MBP, and the Air again today in Best Buy and I must say the sleek form factor of the Air is sooo nice!

Which audio interface do you have that has Thunderbolt?

xparaparafreakx
Feb 28, 2011, 04:29 AM
Which audio interface do you have that has Thunderbolt?

I was about to ask the same question.

How many tracks are you using? The Air is nice for Logic Studio but their won't be enough space to do a full install. My Logic Studio install took over 55GBs. Maybe you don't need all that stuff but just giving you a heads up.

Used Logic Studio on a Rev. A for fun, it works. 8-10 Tracks. Used Native Instruments' Audio 8 DJ as the interface.

I have an Air but I know better when it comes to Logic. Get a desktop --> Audio interface --> good speakers (I have KRK Rokit 5 G2)

Cicatrix
Feb 28, 2011, 06:49 AM
To my understanding of how Thunderbolt works is that it allows you to hook up different types of interfaces that have been implemented into the Thunderbolt chip. ie, Firewire, USB, Etc... through a hub that connects to the Thunderbolt port since. USB interface>Thunderbolt Hub> Thunderbolt Port on computer.

Currently I have an RME Fireface UC. Very nice piece of kit.

Thanks for the input fellas.