PDA

View Full Version : Keep Using Blackbook Core Duo Or Buy New MacBook Pro?




Zeus86
Mar 3, 2011, 09:52 AM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

I have been using a blackbook core duo since 2006 and it has done an amazing job. But its going to be 5 year mark soon and I think it's time for a new MacBook Pro. The technology had advanced so much since I bought the blackbook on Aug 06 it seems anchient now. It is still in great condition but I known I can't get no value since it's a 5 year old laptop, the trade in value is around $250 and I find that ridiculous because it still great condition. Should I just buy a new MP since I have the money?



altecXP
Mar 3, 2011, 10:17 AM
If it suits your needs then I would keep it. Just upgrade the memory and maybe add an SSD.

Zeus86
Mar 3, 2011, 10:22 AM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

I don't think you can add a ssd and ram is maxed out at 2 gigs.

Moyank24
Mar 3, 2011, 10:32 AM
I have a 2008 Blackbook which is still going strong. I'm at almost 1000 cycles on the original battery and it doesn't have a ding or dent in it.

That being said, I actually just sprung for one of the refurbished 2010 MBP's that have been discounted since the release of the new ones.. This computer is still in perfect working order, but I did want something with a little more "juice" so to speak. So, I was able to save a little money, while still getting myself a major upgrade. Right now I have 2.4 Ghz/2GB Ram/250 GB. I upgraded to 2.66 Ghz/4GB Ram/320 GB.

I'm just waiting for Fed Ex to knock on my door (it's on the truck for delivery) and then I'll have 2 awesome computers!

altecXP
Mar 3, 2011, 10:38 AM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

I don't think you can add a ssd and ram is maxed out at 2 gigs.

3GB, and it used SATA, so an SSD is possible. but I thought the Black books were in 2008? If thats the case then 6GB is the limit.

Zeus86
Mar 3, 2011, 10:47 AM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

I have a core duo 2006. The max ram is 2gb. Core 2 Duo you can use 3gb. Trust me. Core Duo was the first processor used in MacBooks. You can't use a SSD on this model.

altecXP
Mar 3, 2011, 11:56 AM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

I have a core duo 2006. The max ram is 2gb. Core 2 Duo you can use 3gb. Trust me. Core Duo was the first processor used in MacBooks. You can't use a SSD on this model.

yes I was thinking of the 2007 model.

Detrius
Mar 3, 2011, 12:18 PM
You can't use a SSD on this model.

Why not? It's just SATA. You should be able to.

CorporateFelon
Mar 3, 2011, 12:30 PM
Why not? It's just SATA. You should be able to.

Seconding this one.

I have never heard of this before.

altecXP
Mar 3, 2011, 12:36 PM
Seconding this one.

I have never heard of this before.

Its PATA not SATA.

logana
Mar 3, 2011, 04:33 PM
Its PATA not SATA.

All MacBooks are SATA (even the early Core Duos) - PowerBooks and iBooks were PATA.....