PDA

View Full Version : Macbook Air 2011 flash memory for Windows




ngeharley
Apr 19, 2011, 03:49 AM
Just installed Windows 7 using parallels desktop 6, however the avaliable flash memory in Windows is only 64 GB, under Leopard I have the full 256 GB avaliable.
How can I get the full flash memory of 256 GB valiable also for Windows? :confused:



Legion93
Apr 19, 2011, 03:50 AM
Did you try going to disk utility and select the drive and partition it?

simsaladimbamba
Apr 19, 2011, 03:57 AM
Just installed Windows 7 using parallels desktop 6, however the avaliable flash memory in Windows is only 64 GB, under Leopard I have the full 256 GB avaliable.
How can I get the full flash memory of 256 GB valiable also for Windows? :confused:
Why do you need that?

Did you try going to disk utility and select the drive and partition it?
No, Disk Utility can't help with VM disk space assignments.
Disk Utility is for the disks you use, HDDs, SSDs, USB flash memory thumb drives and ODs.


As Windows is installed via VM, it gets a certain amount of disk space assigned from Parallels Desktop (or the amount you chose), and it can't be the entire capacity your SSD has, as VMs are stored in a file or several files (accumulating to 64GB in your case), thus having a Windows VM with 256GB would mean, the file(s) could be 256GB in size.

Again, why do you need the VM to have 256GB of disk space capacity?

SR71
Apr 19, 2011, 11:29 AM
Why do you need that?


No, Disk Utility can't help with VM disk space assignments.
Disk Utility is for the disks you use, HDDs, SSDs, USB flash memory thumb drives and ODs.


As Windows is installed via VM, it gets a certain amount of disk space assigned from Parallels Desktop (or the amount you chose), and it can't be the entire capacity your SSD has, as VMs are stored in a file or several files (accumulating to 64GB in your case), thus having a Windows VM with 256GB would mean, the file(s) could be 256GB in size.

Again, why do you need the VM to have 256GB of disk space capacity?

I too am wondering why you'd need all 256GB in a VM.