PDA

View Full Version : HD space on MBA




fleeper
Apr 20, 2011, 05:55 AM
I am looking at purchasing the 11" MBA with the 64GB SSD. Those that own one, how do you handle the limited space? I have a home network so files are no issue.

i am talking about apps. I want to have WoW, and I also want to purchase the SDK and tinker with making an app or two. Will I have enough space on the HD to accomplish this?

Thanks.



jcd77
Apr 20, 2011, 06:14 AM
Hi, started out with the 64 and the same thinking using NAS drive for main storage. Took it back after two weeks and went for the 128. The 64 is much less when you subtract all the system software! Not sure of the exact numbers,

Loving the 128 genius bit of kit. Has replaced a dell xps and runs aperture, imovie etc no problems.

Hope useful.
Cheers

fleeper
Apr 20, 2011, 07:58 AM
If I purchase the 64GB ,model, can I change out the SSD myself at a later date to a higher capacity one?

ZombieZakk
Apr 20, 2011, 08:02 AM
If I purchase the 64GB ,model, can I change out the SSD myself at a later date to a higher capacity one?

yes you can

although let me say this even if you buy the 64gb model opt for the 4gb of ram seriously because you can upgrade the ram and it is worth it to have the 4gb

Hellhammer
Apr 20, 2011, 08:03 AM
If I purchase the 64GB ,model, can I change out the SSD myself at a later date to a higher capacity one?

Yes, but you may end up paying more than you would if you bought the 128GB now. 64GB has around 49GB of free space when you first boot it. That is lots of space but if you know that you will be using more than 40GB, go with the 128GB.

mrsir2009
Apr 20, 2011, 02:26 PM
Yes, but you may end up paying more than you would if you bought the 128GB now. 64GB has around 49GB of free space when you first boot it. That is lots of space but if you know that you will be using more than 40GB, go with the 128GB.

But the solid state memory on the MBAs are soldered onto the motherboard!

Hellhammer
Apr 20, 2011, 02:29 PM
But the solid state memory on the MBAs are soldered onto the motherboard!

It's not soldered, it's simply help by one screw.

http://guide-images.ifixit.net/igi/6YAVY1REY3n6DfAu.huge

http://guide-images.ifixit.net/igi/LknkqWKga2vIIUHD.huge

old-wiz
Apr 20, 2011, 06:10 PM
According to the ifixit teardown, the MBA SSD is indeed removable, but the system RAM is not.

Look at the teardown from

http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/MacBook-Air-11-Inch-Model-A1370-Teardown/3745/2

to quote "Unfortunately, like all previous MacBook Airs, the RAM is soldered to the logic board and is not upgradable. Apple does offer a 4GB RAM option at the time of purchase, but if you opt for only 2GB and decide you want more RAM later you'll be out of luck."

Also the picture from:

http://www.techrepublic.com/photos/apple-macbook-air-teardown-13-inch-2010/480019?seq=79&tag=content;thumbnail-view-selector

You can see the system RAM is indeed soldered to the logic board.

mrsir2009
Apr 20, 2011, 06:32 PM
Problem is though: Where would you get that sort of solid state memory?

Legion93
Apr 20, 2011, 06:44 PM
Problem is though: Where would you get that sort of solid state memory?

There is currently one company offering SSD upgrades for the 2010 MBA, which is OWC. Sizes range from 180GB, 240GB, and 360GB. These come down at an hefty price of $499.99, $579.99, and &1,179.99. Visit the following link for more information.

http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/SSD/OWC/Aura_Pro_Express

Memory modules (RAM) for the new MacBook Airs are not user replaceable - they are soldered onto the logic/motherboard, however the flash memory (SSD) is replaceable by unscrewing one screw that holds it in place. I advise you to buy the MBA with 4GB installed memory by Apple, because you cannot upgrade at a later date.

mrsir2009
Apr 20, 2011, 07:19 PM
There is currently one company offering SSD upgrades for the 2010 MBA, which is OWC. Sizes range from 180GB, 240GB, and 360GB. These come down at an hefty price of $499.99, $579.99, and &1,179.99. Visit the following link for more information.

http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/SSD/OWC/Aura_Pro_Express

Memory modules (RAM) for the new MacBook Airs are not user replaceable - they are soldered onto the logic/motherboard, however the flash memory (SSD) is replaceable by unscrewing one screw that holds it in place. I advise you to buy the MBA with 4GB installed memory by Apple, because you cannot upgrade at a later date.

Cool, so if you were rich you could stuff more and more solid state storage into your MacBook Air?

Legion93
Apr 20, 2011, 07:21 PM
Cool, so if you were rich you could stuff more and more solid state storage into your MacBook Air?

Well literally yes - you can go up to 360GB of storage space. Me personally, I wouldn't pay a grand to upgrade my storage space.

mrsir2009
Apr 20, 2011, 07:34 PM
Well literally yes - you can go up to 360GB of storage space. Me personally, I wouldn't pay a grand to upgrade my storage space.

I'm sure there's a way to get more than 360GB in there if you really really really wanted to :D

Legion93
Apr 20, 2011, 07:36 PM
I'm sure there's a way to get more than 360GB in there if you really really really wanted to :D

Yes, unless your the president of the US, or maybe Steve Jobs - he'll work something out with his black polo shirt and worker denim jeans :D