PDA

View Full Version : Training/Workout Diet...

acearchie
May 5, 2011, 10:44 AM
I don't really want to sign up to a fitness forum just for one post so I was wondering if there were any other "keen to get fit" members out there who could help me out.

I am running 4 times a week and doing a home workout 4 times as well.

I'm looking at altering my diet so I can gain some muscle and have enough energy to sustain the extra exercise.

However, I am a student and therefore don't really have a budget for cashing out on expensive fish and steaks every night of the week so I was wondering if anyone had any tips for getting that added protein?

So far I have dumped crisps as a snack and opted for fat free yoghurt. A small bowl of tinned tuna and mayo is also another option.

Any suggested meals or any advice at all would be great!

I'm aiming to try and get a better looking body but also run my first marathon next year.

Thanks for the help!

wpotere
May 5, 2011, 11:10 AM
Great thread! I am an avid gym rat at 42 and I have recently altered my diet so that I can shred some weight.

My first question to you is: what are your goals?

Are you trying to lose weight, gain muscle mass or both? The reason for this is that it does affect the answer to some degree. (oops, just saw the marathon bit... )

I spent 2 years lifting with minimal (2 x per week) on cardio. I am now lifting 245 for my regular workout but I still weight 225 at 6'1". I recently decided to change my diet to shred the belly fat. In the morning I usually have a cup of oatmeal and some yogurt (Chobani greek stuff) followed by a Casein protein shake (Optimum Nutrition). Around 9 I have a piece of fruit and then at lunch a salad or even something heavier depending on my location. Then about 3 it is more fruit or a yogurt and for dinner it will be a salad or something light. My salads usually have chicken and nuts on them so they are filling. Lastly is a small shake of Casein before bed to continue burning fat...