PDA

View Full Version : Lion: Enabling TRIM on MBA?




netdog
May 18, 2011, 03:42 AM
Is there anything one needs to do to enable TRIM on a current generation 13.3" MBA?



larkost
May 18, 2011, 09:59 PM
Why do you think you need to do this? (hint: no one has shown that it shows any benefit on drives with Apple's firmware on them)

MikhailT
May 18, 2011, 11:56 PM
Is there anything one needs to do to enable TRIM on a current generation 13.3" MBA?All Apple SSDs have TRIM enabled in Lion, IIRC. It is enabled for my 11 MBA.

Phantom Gremlin
May 20, 2011, 09:47 PM
So far, Lion doesn't seem to have a plethora of "must have" features.

So if TRIM isn't really needed, then maybe I shouldn't bother upgrading to Lion when it comes out? Things are working fine now, why rock the boat?

funkahdafi
May 21, 2011, 03:20 AM
My understanding (which might be wrong, of course) is that TRIM is no longer really necessary with modern SSD drives. They use something called Garbage Collection instead, and that's automatic. No OS support needed.

Einz
May 21, 2011, 06:24 PM
Using the TRIM command is more efficient than garbage collection.