PDA

View Full Version : Front Row missing in Lion?




borisiii
May 28, 2011, 09:15 AM
I hear that Front Row is missing from Lion (or at least the DPs). This is a big deal for me since I use it a lot to listen to music when my MacBook is connected to speakers on the other side of the room.

Is anyone able to confirm whether moving Front Row.app across from Snow Leopard works on Lion?

I am hoping the only reason it is missing in the DPs because Apple will unveil a worthy replacement for it at WWDC, like a revamped version which offers features from the Apple TV 2, or is integrated into iTunes or something.

Thanks.



celticpride678
May 28, 2011, 10:09 AM
Front Row is missing. As far as I know, the app from Snow Leopard won't work on Lion because of all the frameworks and other files attached to Front Row.

It's certainly possible that Apple will still bring back something like Front Row before Lion is released to the public, but I just don't see it happening.

bushido
May 28, 2011, 11:30 AM
i'm afraid they got rid of it to push the appleTV

JTToft
May 28, 2011, 11:50 AM
Why are you using Front Row instead of iTunes to listen to music?

RoelJuun
May 28, 2011, 01:30 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; nl-nl) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

Why are you using Front Row instead of iTunes to listen to music?

Because you can't read iTunes from 5 meters away. You can't browse music with the remote in iTunes, let alone from 5 meters.

JTToft
May 28, 2011, 02:32 PM
Because you can't read iTunes from 5 meters away. You can't browse music with the remote in iTunes, let alone from 5 meters.

- I can see that. But I would probably just use the Remote app on my iPhone to control iTunes - that way you don't even have to look at the computer. But if you don't have an iPhone (or similar device) then that is, of course, not an option.

infernohellion
May 28, 2011, 10:37 PM
Perhaps it will be turned into a separate Mac App Store app later.

Matthew Yohe
May 28, 2011, 10:39 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; nl-nl) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)



Because you can't read iTunes from 5 meters away. You can't browse music with the remote in iTunes, let alone from 5 meters.

If you have any iOS device you can browse your entire library with the Remote app.

borisiii
May 29, 2011, 05:27 AM
I do have an iPhone, I just appreciate the simplicity of using the remote with front row. There's nothing extra to turn on, set up, charge etc.

aniketroxx
May 29, 2011, 05:29 AM
If you have any iOS device you can browse your entire library with the Remote app.

Ya i does this everytime:D

RoelJuun
May 29, 2011, 10:46 AM
The remote app is incredible in my opinion, I use it all the time while playing fullscreen games. But while cleaning my room (wet hands) or other such jobs, an iPhone (or whatever iDevice) is just less handy.
Also watching DVD's or shows is nice with front row, no distractions. I've been hoping they would increase the amount of supported formats, but for now they just delete the whole app… Hope it returns.

Ow, and showing people Front Row on a 27 inch iMac makes them drop their jaws :)

bushido
May 29, 2011, 02:35 PM
the remote works with iTunes btw, and with VLC too

PBF
May 29, 2011, 02:43 PM
I used Front Row for previewing upcoming movies. So convenient and organized. Why the hell did they have to get rid of it??? Stupid move. :mad::mad::mad:

jaw04005
May 29, 2011, 05:24 PM
I used Front Row for previewing upcoming movies. So convenient and organized. Why the hell did they have to get rid of it??? Stupid move. :mad::mad::mad:

Not really. The successor to the original Front Row software is the Apple TV software, which is now ported to the ARM/iOS architecture. Apple hasn't updated Front Row for Mac (other than the occasional security fix) since 2007. The last three revisions of the "Front Row" software weren't even ported to the Mac. They were released solely on the Apple TV.

Development on Front Row for Mac has been dead for awhile. Makes sense to pull it 10.7 Lion. It'll join Sherlock, Inkwell, Classic, Apple MP3 Player and all the other dead OS X projects.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Front_Row_(software)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apple_TV#Software

FroMann
May 29, 2011, 05:26 PM
Its gone forever, good riddance really. Felt like all it did was waste space.

ErikGrim
May 29, 2011, 08:06 PM
http://plexapp.com

That's all. Good bye and good riddance to FrontRow. They completely ruined it in Leopard anyway.

Brien
May 29, 2011, 08:18 PM
Not really. The successor to the original Front Row software is the Apple TV software, which is now ported to the ARM/iOS architecture. Apple hasn't updated Front Row for Mac (other than the occasional security fix) since 2007. The last three revisions of the "Front Row" software weren't even ported to the Mac. They were released solely on the Apple TV.

Development on Front Row for Mac has been dead for awhile. Makes sense to pull it 10.7 Lion. It'll join Sherlock, Inkwell, Classic, Apple MP3 Player and all the other dead OS X projects.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Front_Row_(software)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apple_TV#Software

Don't forgot iSync.

blueroom
May 29, 2011, 08:22 PM
Its gone forever, good riddance really. Felt like all it did was waste space.

+1 Never used it, I see no real use for it, AirPlay is the future. Heck an ATV2 costs less than some HDMI cables...

borisiii
May 29, 2011, 08:35 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-gb) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

I have an Apple TV as well, but AirPlay is unreliable for me - you won't be able to get through a whole song without the audio cutting out for a few seconds, and sometimes my devices completely fail to detect it.

I still think anything which requires additional hardware beyond a MacBook and remote is a big step backwards, so assuming Lion ships without Front Row, I will have to try Plex.

blueroom
May 29, 2011, 08:41 PM
Problems streaming to your ATV2 are most likely network problems (your router). Run Ethernet cables to both the ATV2 and your Mac and see if your problems go away.
A good 802.11n simultaneous dual band router like the WNDR3700 works flawlessly for me.
Of course if your ATV2 is jailbroken and you're playing who knows what video format through it well that's also going to be very hit and miss.

Furrybeagle
May 30, 2011, 01:00 AM
I used Front Row for previewing upcoming movies. So convenient and organized. Why the hell did they have to get rid of it??? Stupid move. :mad::mad::mad:

http://trailers.apple.com/ :)

borisiii
May 30, 2011, 06:07 AM
Problems streaming to your ATV2 are most likely network problems (your router). Run Ethernet cables to both the ATV2 and your Mac and see if your problems go away.
A good 802.11n simultaneous dual band router like the WNDR3700 works flawlessly for me.
Of course if your ATV2 is jailbroken and you're playing who knows what video format through it well that's also going to be very hit and miss.

I appreciate the help but I have just resigned myself to not being able to get it to work.

I live in a 150 year old house with very thick walls on a busy street where you pick up about 50 wireless networks whenever you scan. I have tried AirPlay from my iPhone, iPad, and MacBook to my Apple TV and airport expresses and they all cut out.

I spent three hours on the phone to AppleCare and we eventually concluded that the problem was wireless interference. My router is a time capsule so I don't think the problem is going to be because of a crappy router. My ATV is not jailbroken, and the only files I play are iTunes music files (video just doesn't work at all).

To give you an idea of how badly the connection suffers because of all the interference my internet connection is 50Mb, and I achieve this with over ethernet, but as soon as I go 25ft to another room the wireless speed drops, often below 1Mb.

Jolly Jimmy
May 30, 2011, 06:21 AM
[url]Good bye and good riddance to FrontRow. They completely ruined it in Leopard anyway.

Yeah, FrontRow so much better in Tiger. The synchronisation with iTunes was brilliant. And the cool transition visuals :D.

hexonxonx
May 30, 2011, 06:41 AM
Yeah, FrontRow so much better in Tiger. The synchronisation with iTunes was brilliant. And the cool transition visuals :D.

Once SL was released, videos played in FR never updated play counts in iTunes. I still like using FR to watch videos on my Samsung monitor so I still use FR for that because i can read the screen from anywhere in the room like someone mentioned above.

hopejr
May 30, 2011, 06:21 PM
Once SL was released, videos played in FR never updated play counts in iTunes. I still like using FR to watch videos on my Samsung monitor so I still use FR for that because i can read the screen from anywhere in the room like someone mentioned above.

I used to use it quite a bit back with Tiger, but I haven't much since. My main problem is the pref hacks that need to be done to get it to run on an external display (such as my TV) when mirroring is turned off. That and the fact that I kept on hitting cmd+esc instead of cmd+` when wanting to switch app windows, so I turned cmd+esc off. Hence, I have to actually now click on the FR app in Applications to open it and that's a hassle. It's easier just to open stuff in QT Player.

Mal
May 30, 2011, 10:57 PM
I wonder if Apple's considering launching a new version of Front Row in the App Store, maybe even paid (though it'd probably be $1.99-4.99, not very expensive). I can't see them dropping it completely, because they know the Mac Mini is popular as a HTPC. They even advertise it that way on their website.

jW

kikuchiyo
May 30, 2011, 11:27 PM
I wonder if Apple's considering launching a new version of Front Row in the App Store, maybe even paid (though it'd probably be $1.99-4.99, not very expensive). I can't see them dropping it completely, because they know the Mac Mini is popular as a HTPC. They even advertise it that way on their website.

jW

I can't speak for everyone using Minis as HTPCs, but I use Plex or XBMC. I also believe it's the end of the line for Front Row, outside the atv.

Mal
May 31, 2011, 08:47 AM
I can't speak for everyone using Minis as HTPCs, but I use Plex or XBMC. I also believe it's the end of the line for Front Row, outside the atv.

I'm sure that's common, I also use Plex, but I wouldn't find it so absurd for Apple to release an App Store version of Front Row.

jW

ryanpfw
Jun 5, 2011, 03:28 PM
I'm hopeful they offer some type of replacement to allow Mac Mini home theaters to access iTunes content from the Apple remote, or I'll stick with Snow Leopard and Front Row. I have all my media stored in iTunes for easy access through Front Row and Plex won't play DMR content through the Apple Store, and very frequently screws up artwork/organization so that it's incredibly unreliable.

Worst case, I'd have to set up an aliased folder organized so that Remote Buddy can find everything, but that's be a big step backwards. Has there been any word on a potential iTunes upgrade that might pull video content in full screen?

ChristianJapan
Jun 6, 2011, 07:38 AM
Since I got my iMac 27" last year the remote controller often get disconnected. Don't know why but fine ... This makes Frontrow unusable for me. So actually I completely switch to Remote App on iPhone and enjoy that much more. And in some cases I even quick remote connect via SSH and shutdown the iMac without moving my tired body out of the bed; technology support laziness.

zorinlynx
Jun 6, 2011, 12:44 PM
There are numerous, far superior media center type apps.

XBMC is my favorite, for instance. It also plays a ton of video formats that Front Row doesn't support.

Honestly, good riddance.

ryanpfw
Jun 6, 2011, 01:57 PM
Will it work on iTunes purchased TV shows or movies? If not, it won't work for me.

MacRumoren
Jul 9, 2011, 01:17 PM
I used Frontrow to stream iphoto and aperture photos, but now I have to test to see if Plex could do so.

Heston
Jul 9, 2011, 07:29 PM
I appreciate the help but I have just resigned myself to not being able to get it to work.

I live in a 150 year old house with very thick walls on a busy street where you pick up about 50 wireless networks whenever you scan. I have tried AirPlay from my iPhone, iPad, and MacBook to my Apple TV and airport expresses and they all cut out.

I spent three hours on the phone to AppleCare and we eventually concluded that the problem was wireless interference. My router is a time capsule so I don't think the problem is going to be because of a crappy router. My ATV is not jailbroken, and the only files I play are iTunes music files (video just doesn't work at all).

To give you an idea of how badly the connection suffers because of all the interference my internet connection is 50Mb, and I achieve this with over ethernet, but as soon as I go 25ft to another room the wireless speed drops, often below 1Mb.

Oh man, I had this problem too. I use to be able to stream 1080p movies off of my laptop and onto the TV entertainment center before I moved into a garden apartment. Problem i found was that the distance wasn't the problem, but this big freaking mirror in my bathroom. My roommate, although further down the hallway, never had problems with connection, but I did because the angle of my room and the bathroom. Trust me when I say it took a lot of work to figure out why the heck my internet speeds weren't coming out as 24 mb/s and instead around like 10. I ended up bringing the wireless modem and the airport wireless N router smack across from my door in the hallway way to avoid the interference I was getting. All of the sudden I could get 24 mb/s anywhere in the apartment.

Over the next ten years i think wireless interference is going to become a huge problem, especially in congested cities like Chicago. I get reception just fine with my iPhone, but can't get download speeds worth squat. What's that law again where you eventually max out the bandwidth of a frequency (and recently someone was able to circumvent that)?

myjellyass
Jul 22, 2011, 05:21 AM
I know some of you didn't use/like it, but I did and I'm sure others were in the same boat. You can reclaim it though if you've downloaded lion, explained here:
http://osxdaily.com/2011/07/21/front-row-for-mac-os-x-lion/

I just reclaimed the files from my time capsule backup, or you can download the package from that page. Hope this helps some of you.