PDA

View Full Version : 2nd HDD in base 2011 Mini




JupiterTwo
Jul 20, 2011, 11:54 AM
Anyone know if you can put a 2nd HDD inside the base 2011 Mini now?
Given the same chassis, it doesn't sound unreasonable? :)

Cheaper server version, or am I missing something?



profets
Jul 20, 2011, 12:04 PM
I'm curious about this as well. I'm hoping to be able to place an SSD next to the existing HDD in one of the non-server models.

Kasperl
Jul 20, 2011, 12:07 PM
I'm curious about this as well. I'm hoping to be able to place an SSD next to the existing HDD in one of the non-server models.
I also want to do this. I hope it works but we will need to wait until the mini has been teared down :)

FrankHahn
Jul 20, 2011, 12:40 PM
I am also waiting for a teardown in order to see what are inside a Mac Mini.

Outrigger
Jul 20, 2011, 12:56 PM
I am also waiting for a teardown in order to see what are inside a Mac Mini.

I'm REALLY hoping that the 500GB version isn't 2 250GB HDDs running as RAID 0. That would REALLY suck.

C64
Jul 20, 2011, 12:59 PM
I'm curious about this as well. I'm hoping to be able to place an SSD next to the existing HDD in one of the non-server models.

If they don't plug the flash directly into the mini's motherboard, like they do with the MacBook Air. That's probably harder to find and do by yourself.

Wicked1
Jul 20, 2011, 01:06 PM
Will be interestign because the $799 model offers a 750GB HDD and 256 SSD drive so I assume there are two ports, but boohoo on removing the Superdrive, now I have to either use DVD sharing or get a cheap USB external for Encoding my DVD's :rolleyes:

Stan Mikulenka
Jul 20, 2011, 01:19 PM
Hi,
looks like you can put 2 hard drives in 2.5 model:

BJonson
Jul 20, 2011, 02:35 PM
Hi,
looks like you can put 2 hard drives in 2.5 model:

Imac was same way but it did not include the cable if you ordered it with just one drive. Lets hope the dual drive cable is in there if you order it with only one drive.

Edge
Jul 21, 2011, 08:22 AM
The 500GB models do not include the second hard drive cable. There is an empty SATA zif port on the motherboard however, and room for the 2nd HD. (It may also require temp sensor. Unsure.)

BJonson
Jul 21, 2011, 08:45 AM
The 500GB models do not include the second hard drive cable. There is an empty SATA zif port on the motherboard however, and room for the 2nd HD. (It may also require temp sensor. Unsure.)

In all sincerity, how do you know this?

Teeohbee
Jul 21, 2011, 08:59 AM
In all sincerity, how do you know this?

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1192861

:)