PDA

View Full Version : Can you use the Duet 2 XLR inputs for line level audio?




ryanstewart
Jul 24, 2011, 01:47 AM
Heyo,

About to snag an Apogee Duet 2, but need to know this first. I'll be running my guitar through an Axe-FX II Digital Preamp and Effects Processor and need to be able to run XLR out of that into the Duet 2 at line level. Obviously the 1/4" inputs on the Duet 2 can do this, but can the XLR inputs be line level as well, or only mic level?

Fingers crossed, lemme know!

Thanks!



Papanate
Jul 24, 2011, 07:24 AM
Heyo,
but can the XLR inputs be line level as well,
Thanks!

Yes the Duets XLR willnrun at +4 line level.
Even so you could easily get an XLR to 1/4"TRS
Cable at most music stores and not worry about it.

ryanstewart
Jul 24, 2011, 09:32 AM
Killer. Thanks!

ryanstewart
Jul 24, 2011, 09:59 AM
Yes the Duets XLR willnrun at +4 line level.
Even so you could easily get an XLR to 1/4"TRS
Cable at most music stores and not worry about it.

But wait - using the XLR to 1/4" TRS would not be getting me balanced line...b/c the 1/4" inputs on the Apogee are unbalanced, right? And obviously, going balanced out of the Axe and switching last minute to unbalanced isn't something that you wanna do.

However, since you can send XLR into the Duet 2 at line level, it shouldn't be a problem for my setup anyway.

Papanate
Jul 24, 2011, 02:23 PM
But wait - using the XLR to 1/4" TRS would not be getting me balanced line...b/c the 1/4" inputs on the Apogee are unbalanced, right? And obviously, going balanced out of the Axe and switching last minute to unbalanced isn't something that you wanna do.

However, since you can send XLR into the Duet 2 at line level, it shouldn't be a problem for my setup anyway.

Nope the Duet 2 dual XLR/1/4" inputs are balanced.