PDA

View Full Version : Total lockup in Lion




bobnlyne
Jul 27, 2011, 02:40 PM
I downloaded Lion to my new iMac on day two. Since then I've experienced something I never saw with Snow Leopard or on my MBP.

Three times now, twice when trying to watch a news video on Safari, and once in iCal, the entire system has locked up. Only the cursor moves. That's it. Buttons and function keys are dead. Nothing will launch, nothing will even happen. Battery power is 90+%.

I finally do a power button shut down, then a reboot, and all is well. Until the next time.

Help?



C64
Jul 27, 2011, 02:50 PM
Anything in the Console.app around the time this happens?

bobnlyne
Jul 27, 2011, 04:02 PM
No way to know what is going on. I can't look at ANYTHING except a pointer moving around on a totally dead display.

Taz Mangus
Jul 27, 2011, 04:11 PM
I am not saying this is your problem but when things like that have happened I always run DiskWarrior on the boot HD. Might want to try and see if that solves your problem.

greyparrot
Jul 27, 2011, 04:53 PM
I have the same problem. It's happened to me several times. There doesn't seem to be any connection to a specific app since it has occurred with different apps and even when I switched from desktop to dashboard with a trackpad gesture. I have used Diskwarrior and it didn't prevent the lockup.

jgo78
Jul 27, 2011, 05:27 PM
same problem, 2 hard lockups since Lion. I have hold the power button down to reboot.

orpheus1120
Jul 27, 2011, 06:15 PM
+1. Happened to me as well. Coming back from sleep, Lion resumed all my apps, and before I knew it, the cursor is the only moving thing on my screen. Everything else got frozen in eternal state. Had to power off and on again.

Hugh
Jul 27, 2011, 06:30 PM
Check your logs to see what they are saying. Possible post one of the errors in your log. You can do this after you had a hard reset.

Hugh

QuarterSwede
Jul 27, 2011, 06:36 PM
It's only happened to me when in Safari. After a few minutes everything works again.

AGEC2008
Jul 27, 2011, 07:03 PM
Same here. It has happened to me three times. Only thing I can do is manually turn it off and boot up again. Not good.

Psilocybin
Jul 27, 2011, 07:13 PM
I get this very often. I got rid of lion today until further builds are released