Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ZballZ

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 11, 2006
I need a little help here on a decision to buy the new mac mini or not. I do a lot of photo editing - also professionally - and have been using my Macbook Pro on an external monitor to do retouching and grading...

Recently, I've become really tired of carrying my MBP with me to my office every day - and now thinking of getting a secondary computer, and just leave it there. The iMac is no good for me b/c of the glossy screen; the Mac Pro is too pricy and overkill for my needs. I really dont want to buy another MBP; so this basically leaves me with the mac mini. Which sounds ideal, only I've never used one before, and have no frame of reference for it. I know the new ones have benchmarked really well. Would a mac mini be good enough for photo work?? I am thinking of getting the "cheaper" version and maxing out on the RAM to 8 GB. I figure the GFX-card in the bigger model is only usefull for 3D-gaming and stuff, and wont really make a difference in photoshop-work?

Any help appreciated...

Ruahrc

macrumors 65816
Jun 9, 2009
I think the quad core is technically the better choice for photoshop work if you use a lot of complicated plugins or do a lot of stitching or HDR stuff, etc. But I am in a very similar situation and feel just about the same as you do re: the available Mac desktop choices and have trouble buying a 2GHz quad core with Intel HD3000 graphics. I like the concept of the discrete graphics in the dual-core version but then I'm buying another dual core computer...