Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bassdude

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 11, 2011
Somehow, my google fu has failed me. Programs like magnifique do not seem to work for Lion and i can't find any themes at all. I'm new to mac, so i don't know if this is even possible?
I really don't like the grey "graphite" theme and would like something black. Hell, i even prefer the universal access black "theme" for handicapped people.

stefan1975

macrumors 6502a
Apr 15, 2010
without hacking there is very little you can change. the wallpaper and aqua/graphite and the location of the dock are just about it by default. it is not tunable like linux is. you can't even change the icon set easily without replacing system files.

bassdude

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 11, 2011
so what are my options? Are there any specific programs i can download? for christs sake, i just want to change the colour - even windows lets you do that..

MartiNZ

macrumors 65816
Apr 10, 2008
Auckland, New Zealand
And to say you *just* want to change the colour :eek:. That's blasphemy to :apple:. There is theme stuff out there still but it is a very grey area (irony) and they have made it harder to do with each release - just realise that you don't actually want to change the colour scheme and you'll be fine.

*LTD*

macrumors G4
Feb 5, 2009
Canada
There are theming apps out there. If I'm not mistaken the major ones are developed by Unsanity. But there may be others.

http://unsanity.com/products

The last time I was heavily into theming was during my time with Windows XP. Most of my stuff is on Customize.org. I left the scene completely when I went back to Mac in April 2006. I played with Linux briefly before then.

http://customize.org/LTD/gallery

Downgrade to Snow Leopard.

I'm not sure how this will help.

Last edited:

bassdude

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 11, 2011