PDA

View Full Version : SCSI 68pin with 80pin adapter in PowerMac G4 AGP, no sense?




Cox Orange
Aug 26, 2011, 08:24 AM
Hello,

I got 4 SCSI drives for free. 2x Seagate Cheetah ST173404LCV 73GB Hard Drive, 10,000 rpm, 16 MB buffer, 80pol U160 SCSI, SCA and 2x IBM, 7200rpm DRHS-36 (confusing is, that the last 2 are described as 68pin and 80pin here http://www.netcomdirect.com/ibmdrul36367.html)

I do not know, if they work, but I plan to keep one, if one works, in my PowerMac G4 AGP.

The Mac seems to have a 68pin connector (I can only see 80pin connectors on the Drives), would it make sense to use an adapter? Or would that be totally dull? Would that work anyway?
I would not do it for the speed only, but more to have a third drive on a seperate cable (I have one IDE on the IDE and one on an ATA-133-PCI-CARD).

I found the SCSI-capabilities for PowerMacs here http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3074?viewlocale=de_DE



zen.state
Aug 26, 2011, 08:35 AM
The G4's never had built in SCSI so you must have the Adaptec PCI card.

This (http://www.onhop.ca/product/1198197/scsi-internal-adapter-80-pin-centronics-sca-2-female-68-pin-hd-d-sub-hd) may very well do the trick for you.

Cox Orange
Aug 26, 2011, 11:25 AM
Oh, I somehow misinterpreted the unused airport-slot for an SCSI-port (how awkward for me :o ).

So, if I install an adaptec PCI card (I see them going for 1eur at ebay), will the overall speed on the PCI-busses drop? (I mean having one allready in use for the ATA-133 card). In other words will the IDE-PCI attached Drive and the SCSI-PCI attached card canibalize each other when used at the sam time?

Plus will the konverter 80-68pin, drop the speed an additionally (versus using a 68pin drive directly attached)?

zen.state
Aug 26, 2011, 11:48 AM
PCI in the G4 towers tends to be quite good at balancing the overall bandwidth of the logic board PCI bus evenly between the expansion cards.

I have one of those Adaptec SCSI cards you can have for free if you pay shipping. I will never use it. It's not worth enough to ask anything for it.

Cox Orange
Aug 26, 2011, 05:42 PM
That's very kind of you! But I live in Germany, so shipping cost would be a lot I guess, so I will get me one were I live, on ebay(dot)de for 1EUR plus domestic shipping (2-4EUR). But thank you, though! Really nice of you!

zen.state
Aug 26, 2011, 05:50 PM
That's very kind of you! But I live in Germany, so shipping cost would be a lot I guess, so I will get me one were I live, on ebay(dot)de for 1EUR plus domestic shipping (2-4EUR). But thank you, though! Really nice of you!

No problem. Ebay would be cheaper yes. It would cost about $12-15 Canadian to ship it.