PDA

View Full Version : Lion Clean Install

nunes013
Sep 10, 2011, 11:00 AM
so my computer is still running hot from lion and a few other bugs. I've always wanted to do a clean install since my computer is going on 3 years. i think i am about to do it but want to make sure im doing it right because i have never done it before. for lion clean install

-boot into recovery HD after holding option during restart.
-run disk utility and erase HD and set up as new.
-after its done and the fresh OS is on plug in time machine drive and get back all old documents and programs

i would know how to do it from snow leopard but without media i am a little confused. the first two steps are where i want clarification.

KingSpeedy
Sep 10, 2011, 11:04 AM
That's pretty much the process I used, only I went from a DVD I made from the dmg in the Lion Installer. Erased the drive and ran the installer right from it.

nunes013
Sep 10, 2011, 11:22 AM
cool. so if i just download the lion recovery disk assistant and make it bootable on a flash drive then boot from it and run disk utility i should be all set

Weaselboy
Sep 10, 2011, 12:03 PM
cool. so if i just download the lion recovery disk assistant and make it bootable on a flash drive then boot from it and run disk utility i should be all set

That would do it.

DocNYz
Sep 10, 2011, 12:07 PM

Yeah I highly recommend having a bootable flash drive in your possession for convenience/safety.

nunes013
Sep 10, 2011, 12:41 PM
thanks guys!!! going to do it now. im going to make a bootable flash drive too when i finish.

tahoeroscoe
Sep 10, 2011, 03:14 PM

Thats how i did it on my early 2009 MBP, really easy and straight forward, however it did take a while to download everything lion needed to install even with a 50mb connection.

jbg232
Sep 11, 2011, 10:56 AM