PDA

View Full Version : I have a dilemma

GWagon
Sep 27, 2011, 06:07 PM
Hey guys. This is my first time posting on this forum but have been a long time follower.

I've always wanted to try out a Mac and, now that I'm starting Uni, I've decided to take the plunge.

I'm going for a notebook for the portability. At first I wanted to go for the Pro, but I keep hearing that a redesign is due at the first Q of next year, something I really want to wait for.

But the thing is I need something now, and I've come up with the idea of going for the Air now, and when the new Pros hit the stores I can then sell it and pay the difference for a new Pro.

How does this plan sound? Do you think I can get something decent for the Air when I come to selling it, as it has just been refreshed? If you were in my situation, would you just go for the Pro or what I suggested above?

The notebook will be used mostly for word processing, surfing and maybe some light gaming.

Also, If I were to go down the Air root, should I go for the 11" or 13"? Baring in mind that it will be my primary computer.

I'm looking forward to hear what you have to say.

Cheers

PDFierro
Sep 27, 2011, 06:12 PM
So what makes you want the Pro versus the Air? Your uses didn't seem to indicate that the Pro could offer you specs the Air doesn't.

CardboardGiant
Sep 27, 2011, 06:13 PM
It sounds like a great plan.

The Air is an ultraportable laptop. Not a netbook. There's a big difference.

With the Macbook Pro you may do a lot more than the Macbook Air.

Since you are interested in exploring Apple's OS and products, MBA would be a good start.

Just note that if you end up switching to a Macbook Pro in the future, you might miss the speed of the Macbook Air.

This is coming from somebody who switched from a Macbook Pro to a Macbook Air.

tigres
Sep 27, 2011, 06:14 PM
Based on what you refer to as "your needs", I would highly recommend getting a 13" air (as the pro you speak of does not come in 11").