PDA

View Full Version : connecting G4 to G5 via eithernet?




MACH3
May 1, 2005, 07:04 PM
hi guys i wanted 2 know if this could be done and if so what do i have to do after i connect the wire

i have alot of files on my G4 that i want to bring over to the new G5

i hope someone can help
thank you



grapes911
May 1, 2005, 07:07 PM
It can be done, but do you have a firewire cable? It would be easier. Boot one computer while holding the "T" key. Connect them with the firewire cable. The one in "Target mode" should appear as a firewire hard drive.

Edit: if you don't have a fireware cable, connect the two computers with the ethernet cable and manually give them IP addresses. FTP from one to the other. If you need more detail, let us know.

MACH3
May 1, 2005, 07:10 PM
ohh so have my g4 (with all my files) connected to my G5
then turn the G5 on holding T and i'll see it as a hard drive?
hmm i guess im going 2 have 2 go buy a firewire 6-6pin 2night
thanx for all the help guys
i love this site already lol

grapes911
May 1, 2005, 07:11 PM
ohh so have my g4 (with all my files) connected to my G5
then turn the G5 on holding T and i'll see it as a hard drive?
hmm i guess im going 2 have 2 go buy a firewire 6-6pin 2night
thanx for all the help guys
i love this site already lol

That would be the easiest way. Like I said, you can use the ethernet cable if you want.

zach
May 1, 2005, 08:58 PM
ohh so have my g4 (with all my files) connected to my G5
then turn the G5 on holding T and i'll see it as a hard drive?
hmm i guess im going 2 have 2 go buy a firewire 6-6pin 2night
thanx for all the help guys
i love this site already lol

Other way around. If you want the files from the G4 to go onto the G5, you need to boot the G4 while holding T, and boot the G5 normally.

TMA
May 1, 2005, 09:20 PM
Should it not be a crossover Ethernet cable this guys needs rather than a straight Ethernet cable?

Or have ethernet controllers advanced enough to not care any more?

grapes911
May 1, 2005, 09:24 PM
Should it not be a crossover Ethernet cable this guys needs rather than a straight Ethernet cable?

Or have ethernet controllers advanced enough to not care any more?

Apple has used auto-sensing ethernet cards for years now. Cross-over or standard makes no difference.