PDA

View Full Version : Can you upgrade the ram on new Sandy Bridge 13" MBA?




gus6464
Oct 6, 2011, 10:55 PM
title says it all. Can't seem to find an upgrade option at the apple store site.



warfed
Oct 7, 2011, 09:26 AM
Nope, 4GB is your only option.

gus6464
Oct 7, 2011, 07:12 PM
Well that sucks.

old-wiz
Oct 8, 2011, 06:24 PM
The new MBAs have the memory soldered to the logic board, the only possible upgrades are from 2gb to 4gb at the factory, not aftermarket.

warfed
Oct 8, 2011, 06:46 PM
The new MBAs have the memory soldered to the logic board, the only possible upgrades are from 2gb to 4gb at the factory, not aftermarket.

The 13" doesn't have a 2GB option.

DieterRams
Oct 10, 2011, 07:40 PM
I am so there when the 8GB option inevitably comes out. Hope it's the next revision.

CardboardGiant
Oct 10, 2011, 08:12 PM
I am so there when the 8GB option inevitably comes out. Hope it's the next revision.

Try 16.

Six. Teen.

16 GB of WILD HORSE FIRE POWER!

:apple:

odin2free
Oct 10, 2011, 08:57 PM
Or when they release something better than 1333MHz memory and go with higher frequency for Intel Systems...and have 8GB models to :D

I like mine though C2D 4 GB 256SSD

Works runs everything swells..other then video production which is not a problem because ill just simply use ilife for that if need be
but aperture and lightroom after effects run swell on this machine :D

gus6464
Oct 11, 2011, 12:39 AM
The only thing holding me back from the MBA is the ram situation and now I am considering the 13" MBP, but if I decide for that I will hold out for the upcoming refresh. I just hope Apple decides to upgrade the MBP to the same resolution as the MBA. I hate that both machines in their current states have such a big compromise.