Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

UFMatt

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 28, 2009
I know ios 4 had a problem that would actually cause servers to become slow and unresponsive, I was wondering if anyone has updated to ios 5 and uses an exchange server for work? (I'm SURE there is, just haven't seen anyone say anything about this, which may be a good thing) I don't want to update then crash my work servers :eek:, but at the same time if it's safe I DO want to update and mess with the new features.

Matt

grapes911

Moderator emeritus
Jul 28, 2003
Citizens Bank Park
I've been using iOS 5 and Exchange for months with no issues. I used iOS 4 and Exchange for a long time and had no issues. What issues are you talking about? Link?

dpetree

macrumors member
Oct 22, 2010
Florida
yes, i have been running test for about 5 months with the beta against our Exchange servers and do not see any of the iOS 4 issues you seen before.

The thing is, we do not see what we do not know. SO,, so far, so good

i think you should be good to go

grapes911

Moderator emeritus
Jul 28, 2003
Citizens Bank Park
Here's a couple of links, one would think that if this caused an issue in 4, they'd have 5 set at the same parameters as the fix:

http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/10/06/30/apple_issues_ios_4_fix_for_exchange_activesync_issues.html

http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-13727_7-20009510-263.html

The articles you linked say Apple addressed a potential issue almost a year and a half ago, which was just days after iOS 4 was released. I see no reason to think that potential issue made it back into iOS 5.

UFMatt

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 28, 2009
The articles you linked say Apple addressed a potential issue almost a year and a half ago, which was just days after iOS 4 was released. I see no reason to think that potential issue made it back into iOS 5.