PDA

View Full Version : Error 3004




itsohkaye
Oct 12, 2011, 03:24 PM
Restoring & Updating and getting this error! Now I can't do anything with my iPad. :(



hockeydude12
Oct 12, 2011, 03:33 PM
I have the same thing but with my iphone 4. Now it's stuck in recovery mode and won't restore

bigkito
Oct 12, 2011, 03:34 PM
Same here. Really fckin frustrating

pkts
Oct 12, 2011, 03:35 PM
Yup me too. Can't just restore back to OS 4.x, only option is to restore to 5...which fails repeatedly.

MCKENNATECH
Oct 12, 2011, 03:36 PM
Just give it a bit, and it'll be fine. Whenever Apple rolls out new software and millions of people download it at one time, this always happens. No big deal.

dukefan
Oct 12, 2011, 03:36 PM
Ditto. Unacceptable for a production device with a production OS.

r.morrow
Oct 12, 2011, 03:38 PM
Keep trying, or wait a bit -- appears to be (as usual) a network traffic issue:

http://www.cultofmac.com/123035/early-ios-5-installation-problems-surface-as-upgraders-cannot-restoreupdate-their-iphones/

pkts
Oct 12, 2011, 03:38 PM
Does this really happen everytime? If so, you think they'd figure out some way to stagger it...

iTouch.lover22
Oct 12, 2011, 03:41 PM
I got the same thing, and my phone got put into recovery mode. I just unplugged it and replugged it, it asked me to restore so that's what I did. It's currently restoring my backup now onto iOS 5.

bigkito
Oct 12, 2011, 03:42 PM
You would think a company of their stature would prepare for sh** like this.

pkts
Oct 12, 2011, 03:44 PM
I got the same thing, and my phone got put into recovery mode. I just unplugged it and replugged it, it asked me to restore so that's what I did. It's currently restoring my backup now onto iOS 5.

Mine did that too.....twice.....and failed both times :mad:

Make that three times...different error this time (some encoding web page error)

techguy20
Oct 12, 2011, 03:46 PM
I've been getting a few of all these various errors... Still no iOS5!

Seems Apple's servers are getting killed these last few hours, probably as everyone is getting home and running the updates.

thoryamaha919
Oct 12, 2011, 03:47 PM
would the 3002 error be in any relation to the 3004 and the 3200 errors that people are getting? I have been getting the 3002 Error with my iPad.

c0reyann
Oct 12, 2011, 03:47 PM
I got 3004 error and got stuck in recovery mode which made me go back to factory settings. It appears to have lost the backups I made today and is in this cycle of failing the restore and telling me that I am stuck in recovery mode.

Fun times.

techguy20
Oct 12, 2011, 03:49 PM
Finally! Just keep plugging it in and out and keep restoring.

Guess I finally snatched a spot on Apple's servers to verify the update!

In the restore process now.

biker74
Oct 12, 2011, 03:56 PM
My is now been plunged into recovery mode. Cant do anything with it, itunes now not finding my iphone. Anyone?

gooberguy
Oct 12, 2011, 03:56 PM
For me, I hit the restore process, get a spot on apple's servers, it goes through the restore, and at the very end it fails and gives me error 3004 :|

Mavrack
Oct 12, 2011, 04:00 PM
I have the exact same problem but thankfully it is restoring finally.

N-Y
Oct 12, 2011, 04:01 PM
i dont understand why the server has anything to do with it? if i was able to download the entire setup file, shouldn't it work?

Shearwater
Oct 12, 2011, 04:02 PM
...the devices restore eventually..........just a bit scary when it repeatedly fails to restore......lololol

TsuaSai
Oct 12, 2011, 04:07 PM
For me, I hit the restore process, get a spot on apple's servers, it goes through the restore, and at the very end it fails and gives me error 3004 :|

Same thing is happening to me..

bigkito
Oct 12, 2011, 04:07 PM
My is now been plunged into recovery mode. Cant do anything with it, itunes now not finding my iphone. Anyone?

im in the same boat. my itunes wont even recognize the phone being plugged in

akuma13
Oct 12, 2011, 04:12 PM
Add me to the list. My iPhone updated fine but a few hours later can't update my iPad getting the 3004 error all the time. aargh!

pkts
Oct 12, 2011, 04:12 PM
it probably stopped with the phone off or crashed. I had to hold down home and power one time.

MacObsessed
Oct 12, 2011, 04:15 PM
I originally got a 3014 error, so I switched networks, then I got error 3004. I found the following article:

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS3694#error3004

There are several solutions for 3xxx errors, but the one that ended up helping was listed as:

Error 3004: If the steps listed in Error 3000-3999 do not resolve the issue, and you are using a Mac, you may be able to resolve an error 3004 by quitting iTunes and using the following command at the command line: dscacheutil -flushcache

This worked for me, and got my phone out of recovery mode. Hopefully it wasn't just a fluke.

laura1o26
Oct 12, 2011, 04:16 PM
Same issue. I've been all the way through the restore SEVERAL times only to receive error 3004 right at the end every time. Has anyone else had any success yet?

furam90
Oct 12, 2011, 04:18 PM
Same issue. I've been all the way through the restore SEVERAL times only to receive error 3004 right at the end every time. Has anyone else had any success yet?

Mine just went through. I was getting a little nervous cause it kept crapping out around when it was restoring firmware... but after several attempts I got it working!

So keep trying!

TsuaSai
Oct 12, 2011, 04:18 PM
Well after about 20 tries it says its restoring my apps something I haven't seen yet. So maybe it is going to work this time.

filmfanatic24
Oct 12, 2011, 05:29 PM
I originally got a 3014 error, so I switched networks, then I got error 3004. I found the following article:

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS3694#error3004

There are several solutions for 3xxx errors, but the one that ended up helping was listed as:



This worked for me, and got my phone out of recovery mode. Hopefully it wasn't just a fluke.



Thank you.

My mom called me FREAKING out because she couldn't get her phone back. After trying a couple of things I gave this a shot and it worked like a charm.

ladytonya
Oct 12, 2011, 06:41 PM
Yeah, this is not cool. I got 3004. Unplugged the phone from the computer and when I plugged it back in had to do the restore. For the more part I don't care. All my contacts and everything are in contacts and iCal. I deleted all the music from my phone in preparation of just using iCloud. I will have lost all my text messages which is a pisser, but my big thing is apps. I have never had to do a restore before so I have no clue what I am going to be looking at once this finishes. I'm kind of freaking out right now :-(

tipman2000
Oct 12, 2011, 06:45 PM
nice, started an update, put my iphone in recovery mode, and THEN decided to contact the server... which consequently gave me 3004, (servers are down from load), and now my phone is bricked until i can get that update. probably wont happen for at least a few more hours. phone isn't completely vital to my survival, but i was hoping that it wouldn't die without warning like this. hopefully everything goes smoothly when the servers are back up.

ladytonya
Oct 12, 2011, 06:52 PM
I had never had this happen before! I have now been at this for 3 hours and am in the same loop. I am totally freaking out! I can't even call anybody because this is my only phone. I get the 3004 message, then it'll go for a while and look like it's restoring but then throw another error, I'm so flustered right now that I don't remember the message. I have to leave in less than an hour and I have no phone! I think I'm going to be sick. :-(

It just went through restore then verify then back to same error message. I don't know what to do! I AM FREAKING OUT HERE!

pourme
Oct 12, 2011, 06:58 PM
Keep on trying, folks!....I had the same problem but finally got through and downloaded iso5!...

ladytonya
Oct 12, 2011, 07:01 PM
I keep getting as far as "restoring iPhone firmware" and them error. This is ridiculous! Did not have this when upgrading to iOS 4 last year, why is this so much worse? I need to leave in 30 minutes and I need my phone! So mad right now I could spit nails!

UFMatt
Oct 12, 2011, 07:09 PM
I originally got a 3014 error, so I switched networks, then I got error 3004. I found the following article:

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS3694#error3004

There are several solutions for 3xxx errors, but the one that ended up helping was listed as:



This worked for me, and got my phone out of recovery mode. Hopefully it wasn't just a fluke.

Just so I have this right, are you saying quit out of itunes and type that into terminal?

nevesis
Oct 12, 2011, 07:11 PM
Just so I have this right, are you saying quit out of itunes and type that into terminal?

I just did that and I'm still getting the same 3004 error. BRICKED IPHONE 4. :mad:

JoelMarcey
Oct 12, 2011, 07:13 PM
Just so I have this right, are you saying quit out of itunes and type that into terminal?

Theoretically, you:

1. Quit iTunes
2. Type 'dnscacheutil -flushcache' into the Terminal
2a. Restart your computer (I do this just in case; maybe not required)
3. Open iTunes again
4. Restore

But, I am on my 3rd attempt and it craps out at the end like many others. Trying again. Fun times! :rolleyes:

ladytonya
Oct 12, 2011, 07:19 PM
Mine FINALLY finished the restore. It then went to a screen that looking like I had a choice to either set up as a new phone or restore from backup. I was reading to try to figure out what I should do and it started restore from backup. Now my phone says "Restore in Progress" and iTunes says that it is restoring.

Now, what I am wondering, since it is restoring from backup are all my apps and settings going to still be there? At this point, I don't care so long as I have a working phone! Thanks for giving me a place to vent and something to read while freaking out on the inside. Thank goodness I backed it up before all this! LOL! While it seems like it's been hours and hours, I did the backup at 7:30 and it's only 8:18. Guess it wasn't as long as I thought! :D

MacObsessed
Oct 12, 2011, 07:48 PM
Thank you.

My mom called me FREAKING out because she couldn't get her phone back. After trying a couple of things I gave this a shot and it worked like a charm.

I'm glad it helped someone.

----------

Theoretically, you:

1. Quit iTunes
2. Type 'dnscacheutil -flushcache' into the Terminal
2a. Restart your computer (I do this just in case; maybe not required)
3. Open iTunes again
4. Restore

But, I am on my 3rd attempt and it craps out at the end like many others. Trying again. Fun times! :rolleyes:

That worked for me, and I don't know if it helped, but I also changed my DNS address to 8.8.8.8 (Google's I believe) because I've had issues in the past with this (netflix unable to connect for actual streaming etc.)

akashvij92
Jan 18, 2014, 07:44 AM
100% working solution
http://support.apple.com/kb/TS4451