PDA

View Full Version : My Macbook won't shut down! D:




MitoBEve
Oct 21, 2011, 03:13 PM
Hey peoplez,
So yeah, I'm new to the forum but ugh I swear my Macboook hates me! A little while ago it just wouldn't shut down, so I forced it to shut down, now it just seems to do it all the time O.o I've tried repairing the permissions (Always seems to be about a million permissions to repair every time), I've tried repairing the disk via the OS X install DVD (It came back saying everything appeared OK), I've EVEN tried re-installing the whole OS yet it still does it D: I know forcing it to shut down isn't good, eventually my mac will go bye-bye but I srsly need some help here O.o. Using a macbook with OS X 10.6.8 any other details about it just ask really.

Would appreciate it if someone got back to me quickly :3.

P.S OCCASIONALLY repairing the permissions before I shut down works, rarely.

Thanks,



simsaladimbamba
Oct 21, 2011, 03:15 PM
Have you tried an SMC reset yet?
Intel-based Macs: Resetting the System Management Controller (SMC) (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3964)

Btw, there is no need to shut down the Mac, unless you need to restart it. You can always use SLEEP.

Helpful Information for Any Mac User (http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=9848667&postcount=6) by GGJstudios (http://forums.macrumors.com/member.php?u=186377)

MitoBEve
Oct 21, 2011, 03:18 PM
Have you tried an SMC reset yet?
Intel-based Macs: Resetting the System Management Controller (SMC) (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3964)

Btw, there is no need to shut down the Mac, unless you need to restart it. You can always use SLEEP.

Helpful Information for Any Mac User (http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=9848667&postcount=6) by GGJstudios (http://forums.macrumors.com/member.php?u=186377)

Yeah I already tried the stuff that said

Note: Portable computers that have a battery you should not remove on your own include MacBook Pro (Early 2009) and later, all models of MacBook Air, and MacBook (Late 2009).

Shut down the computer.
Plug in the MagSafe power adapter to a power source, connecting it to the Mac if its not already connected.
On the built-in keyboard, press the (left side) Shift-Control-Option keys and the power button at the same time.
Release all the keys and the power button at the same time.
Press the power button to turn on the computer.
Note: The LED on the MagSafe power adapter may change states or temporarily turn off when you reset the SMC.

It didn't even do anything :S

EDIT: I don't usually put my mac to sleep, infact, I never have O.o what's really the benefits?

simsaladimbamba
Oct 21, 2011, 03:29 PM
EDIT: I don't usually put my mac to sleep, infact, I never have O.o what's really the benefits?

Instant on, not needing to shut down all applications including the open documents. Less wear on the HDD during startup.

Since I switched I have maybe shutdown my portable Macs for less than 30 times, and that since 2004. I just use its SLEEP feature. But your SHUT DOWN problem is still a valid problem.
Do you still have warranty or Apple Care?

MitoBEve
Oct 21, 2011, 03:30 PM
Instant on, not needing to shut down all applications including the open documents. Less wear on the HDD during startup.

Since I switched I have maybe shutdown my portable Macs for less than 30 times, and that since 2004. I just use its SLEEP feature. But your SHUT DOWN problem is still a valid problem.
Do you still have warranty or Apple Care?

Yeah, but how slowly does it drain the battery by putting it in sleep mode? and well I don't know really, I got it as a gift from someone so I have no idea

simsaladimbamba
Oct 21, 2011, 03:34 PM
Yeah, but how slowly does it drain the battery by putting it in sleep mode?

If the MB is unplugged, it uses 1% capacity per hour. But it doesn't need to be unplugged.
______________________________________________________
This should answer most, if not all, of your battery questions:
Apple Notebook Battery FAQ (http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=9875442&postcount=23) by GGJstudios (http://forums.macrumors.com/member.php?u=186377)
______________________________________________________


and well I don't know really, I got it as a gift from someone so I have no idea
Go here (https://selfsolve.apple.com/agreementWarrantyDynamic.do) to check you warranty status via your serial number (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1529).

MitoBEve
Oct 21, 2011, 03:49 PM
If the MB is unplugged, it uses 1% capacity per hour. But it doesn't need to be unplugged.
______________________________________________________
This should answer most, if not all, of your battery questions:
Apple Notebook Battery FAQ (http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=9875442&postcount=23) by GGJstudios (http://forums.macrumors.com/member.php?u=186377)
______________________________________________________



Go here (https://selfsolve.apple.com/agreementWarrantyDynamic.do) to check you warranty status via your serial number (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1529).

Ah I see, I might start using that instead then, when I get this fixed, and well I was just looking at the link you gave me, it's like

"Repairs and Service Coverage"

That expires next June, however I don't have "AppleCare Protection Plan" (Too expensive at the time I assume)


EDIT: I THINK I just managed to do an SMC reset, while I was holding the keys down the LED on the magsafe thing turned green and went back to orange (it's charging atm) when I released the keys?

iThinkergoiMac
Oct 21, 2011, 07:38 PM
Btw, there is no need to shut down the Mac, unless you need to restart it. You can always use SLEEP.

This isn't exactly true. Restarting clears out RAM, for one thing. Yes, I'm aware of the purge command, but most users aren't.

Instant on, not needing to shut down all applications including the open documents. Less wear on the HDD during startup.

And more wear on the HDD when writing a 2-6 GB sleepimage. Also, you should always save your work before sleeping the computer, just like you would if shutting down.

Not in any way advocating never sleeping or anything like that, but saying there is no need to shut down isn't quite accurate either. I love sleep, and I use it all the time. But I find that it's helpful to restart once a month or so.

Yeah, but how slowly does it drain the battery by putting it in sleep mode? and well I don't know really, I got it as a gift from someone so I have no idea

VERY slowly. I can put my MacBook to sleep, come back in 24 hours, and it's lost maybe 10% battery charge (give or take a bit).

simsaladimbamba
Oct 21, 2011, 07:48 PM
This isn't exactly true. Restarting clears out RAM, for one thing. Yes, I'm aware of the purge command, but most users aren't.


Not necessary for me.

And more wear on the HDD when writing a 2-6 GB sleepimage. Also, you should always save your work before sleeping the computer, just like you would if shutting down.
I disabled it, as I don't like the sleepimage, but you are correct, the standard setting is that sleepimage.


Not in any way advocating never sleeping or anything like that, but saying there is no need to shut down isn't quite accurate either. I love sleep, and I use it all the time. But I find that it's helpful to restart once a month or so.
Maybe I should have added the "IMHO" disclaimer.

MitoBEve
Oct 21, 2011, 10:28 PM
After resetting the SMC and all this, the problem is STILL there, just have no idea what to do now :mad:

simsaladimbamba
Oct 21, 2011, 10:31 PM
Check the Console for hints. (http://www.thexlab.com/faqs/checkconsole.html)

MitoBEve
Oct 21, 2011, 10:41 PM
Check the Console for hints. (http://www.thexlab.com/faqs/checkconsole.html)

I've been checking the console just now, it seems to have a few odd things in it..

"com.f-secure.clstate-periodic[521]: This system does not have a valid license key."

I don't even use F-Secure anymore (I don't think I even uninstalled that correctly, I just shoved it in the trash) Idk why it's saying i dont have a valid license key O.o I got this macbook as a gift from a family member brand new from apple O.o

and this,
" smcFanControl[370]: IMKClient: exception caught trying to get the rootProxy for connection *load of other writing* NSPortTimeoutException : connection timeout: did not receive reply"

"VMware Fusion Helper[372]: Could not connect the action buttonPressed: to target of class NSApplication"

Not really sure..

simsaladimbamba
Oct 21, 2011, 10:46 PM
Use the following steps to get rid of F-Secure:
Best way to FULLY DELETE a program (http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=11171082&postcount=16)

I have SMC Fan Control and VMWare Fusion and they don't stop me from shutting down AFAIK.

iThinkergoiMac
Oct 21, 2011, 11:37 PM
When you got this MacBook as a gift, had it been erased? If not, did you erase it? Whenever I get a used computer, that's my first response: erase and reinstall the OS. That way I know EVERYTHING that has been done to the system.

MitoBEve
Oct 21, 2011, 11:38 PM
When you got this MacBook as a gift, had it been erased? If not, did you erase it? Whenever I get a used computer, that's my first response: erase and reinstall the OS. That way I know EVERYTHING that has been done to the system.

Oh, it was brand new when I got it, never been used by anyone else, normally that'd be the same think I'd do, but this was brand new

iThinkergoiMac
Oct 21, 2011, 11:45 PM
I see. Then just follow the steps simsaladimbamba (I always have to copy/paste that name) posted and you should be set. Sounds like F-Secure is what is holding you up.

simsaladimbamba
Oct 21, 2011, 11:49 PM
I see. Then just follow the steps simsaladimbamba (I always have to copy/paste that name) posted and you should be set. Sounds like F-Secure is what is holding you up.

You could call me "sim" or use Text Expander, that is how I write my name, namely "sim" and then that whole " simsaladimbamba " comes out of it.

MitoBEve
Oct 21, 2011, 11:52 PM
I see. Then just follow the steps simsaladimbamba (I always have to copy/paste that name) posted and you should be set. Sounds like F-Secure is what is holding you up.

Well, I just did that and did a reboot to make sure, it has seemed to have worked, but then I'll wait a few more hours before I try again, just to be sure it's all cleaned up, will report back with my findings!

MitoBEve
Oct 22, 2011, 11:54 PM
Hellooow, well I still seem to be having the problem, its getting on my nerves :mad: idk what else to do O.o

iThinkergoiMac
Oct 29, 2011, 05:03 PM
I don't know what to suggest other than reinstalling the OS. It looks like you may be getting an issue from SMC Fan Control, try uninstalling that.

MitoBEve
Oct 31, 2011, 05:33 PM
Just tried getting rid of SMC Fan Control, still not shutting down D:

iThinkergoiMac
Nov 1, 2011, 06:07 AM
Then I have no idea...

swbusiness
Feb 22, 2012, 01:52 AM
it just wouldn't shut down, so I forced it to shut down, now it just seems to do it all the time

Hi,

I'm having the same problem. Did you ever find a solution?

Thanks,

Sandra

swbusiness
Feb 29, 2012, 12:31 PM
Found this on another post - GREAT!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedRaven571
Whenever I have an issue and can't figure it out, I:

1) Run Repair Disk Permissions (from Disk Utility)
2) Delete whatever is in the caches: you>Library>Caches; your OSX drive>Library>Caches (this will require your password)
3) restart and do a PRAM reset (hold down Command, R, Option, and P keys before the chime sounds, continue to hold until the chime sounds again and release)

Almost always has my MBP running smooth as silk.
My MBP was not shutting down - I was getting desperate ....
THIS WORKED!!!!! It now shuts down very quickly, the startup is still a little slow - any advice on speeding this up?

THANK YOU VERY MUCH,

Sandra

GGJstudios
Mar 1, 2012, 06:51 AM
1) Run Repair Disk Permissions (from Disk Utility)
First, the OP already said that doesn't work. Read my response to your post in another thread (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=14410237#post14410237) about this.

2) Delete whatever is in the caches
No, do NOT do this! It will only slow your system and will not address the issue being discussed here. Again, read my response to your post in the other thread (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=14410237#post14410237).

3) restart and do a PRAM reset (hold down Command, R, Option, and P keys before the chime sounds, continue to hold until the chime sounds again and release)
Again, read the other thread (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=14410237#post14410237). Resetting NVRAM is only used for very specific purposes. It isn't something you need to do whenever you have any problem of any kind. Learn how these things work before you recommend them.

swbusiness
Mar 1, 2012, 03:33 PM
Learn how these things work before you recommend them.

Also as I said in another post:

Great info!! Thank you.

But can you suggest some way to help solve the problem of the user who started the thread?

Blondie :)
Mar 1, 2012, 03:42 PM
No, do NOT do this! It will only slow your system and will not address the issue being discussed here. Again, read my response to your post in the other thread (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=14410237#post14410237).

Why is clearing the cache's bad? I have been told that it is a good thing to do...I did it this morning and everything still seems to be running fine.

Update: GGJstudios, I just read your post "Five Mac Maintenance Myths" found at this link: http://www.macworld.com/article/133684/2008/06/maintenance_intro.html and gave it a look. The reason I cleared out my cache is because I had a lot of programs that I was no longer using and had deleted, but the cache's did not clear out. Rather than clearing out only the ones that I was not using, I just decided to delete them all. I haven't noticed any adverse effects yet. Is there a better way to delete the cache's that belong to programs that you don't use anymore? Thanks

GGJstudios
Mar 1, 2012, 05:27 PM
Is there a better way to delete the cache's that belong to programs that you don't use anymore? Thanks
Yes. The most effective method for complete app removal is manual deletion:
Best way to FULLY DELETE a program (http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=11171082&postcount=16)

Billy Buggs
Mar 15, 2012, 05:36 PM
Make sure you've closed all open windows and applications that you may be using. Also, go into System Preferences, General, and remove the check from the box that states: "Restore windows when quitting..." See if that helps.

Also, the first couple of times when shutting Lion down (especially if have open applications or windows) will take longer.

I expect they will fix this in a future upgrade. Surprised Microsoft hasn't filed a patent infringement suit over this already. Everyone knows Bill Gates holds an exclusive patent on "the do nothing loop".

GGJstudios
Mar 15, 2012, 05:43 PM
Also, the first couple of times when shutting Lion down (especially if have open applications or windows) will take longer.
If you bothered to read the thread, you'd see the OP isn't running Lion.

Billy Buggs
Mar 15, 2012, 10:02 PM
Same issue exists in snow leopard, carried into lion. It might solve this poster's problem if they try it. Certainly seems much easier than anything else that has been suggested, and its a pretty benign click of the mouse, so no harm no foul rule applies. But thanks for the polite heads up about not reading the thread. I had two open and actually meant to post this into a different thread.

GGJstudios
Mar 15, 2012, 10:44 PM
Same issue exists in snow leopard, carried into lion. It might solve this poster's problem if they try it.
No, it can't, because your "solution" has nothing to do with the problem being discussed in this thread, which has to do with problems shutting down, not apps launching on startup.
Also, go into System Preferences, General, and remove the check from the box that states: "Restore windows when quitting..."
That isn't possible on Snow Leopard, since those settings don't exist prior to Lion.

Speaking of "better answers", you're not contributing any.

theramatch1
Mar 16, 2012, 06:08 AM
I think this problem arises because of installation of any new software or It may just be a misbehaving app and the OS would eventually terminate it.

sitesme
May 16, 2013, 06:17 PM
My iMac (Mountain Lion 10.8.3) was not shutting down properly for around year. It would be stuck with the grey spinning gear and wouldn't move from here.

I tried the Safe Mode: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1455 and now it shuts down properly.

This fixed my issue and hope it helps someone.