PDA

View Full Version : Testing Ram?


donniedarko
May 12, 2005, 10:30 AM
Would anyone know of a way of confirming the performance of my RAM. I am running 2 gigs but am finding it not as snappy as I might think?
Thanks

jeremy.king
May 12, 2005, 10:50 AM
Don't know if it tests performance

http://www.memtestosx.org/

Platform
May 12, 2005, 11:24 AM
Well:

Is your system detecting 2GB's :confused:

donniedarko
May 13, 2005, 07:20 PM
Yes it does- As you can see
Machine Model: PowerBook G4 17"
CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (1.1)
Number Of CPUs: 1
CPU Speed: 1.33 GHz
L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
Memory: 2 GB
Bus Speed: 167 MHz
Boot ROM Version: 4.7.1f1
Serial Number: V7346072P22

I have used other computers with less RAM and they seem snappier. maybe I am tripping. I am only using 7gb of storage space, and custom installed my OS so I should be real lean and mean.

Anyone have a recommendation to confirm my RAM is kosher-
Reason I ask is someone told me that all RAM is not equal.
My RAM I got from Lifetime fyi-

thanks

CanadaRAM
May 13, 2005, 07:38 PM
Well, yes and no.

If the RAM is working properly, then it will be working at the full memory buss speed. If you install "faster" RAM it will make no difference at all. So there is no performance difference among RAM brands as long as they are compatible.

Now if you have faulty RAM, or have installed PC2100 RAM in a machince that requires PC2700 that's another story.

You can run the Apple Hardware Test CD that came with your machine, or Rember (available from www.versiontracker.com) or TechTool Pro to test the RAM you have.

donniedarko
May 14, 2005, 01:33 AM
Thanks, the RAM is correct. The moules are 2700's.
My machine just seems slow for how I have it set up.
Thanks and appreciate the info
PS- I've also done hardware test and all indicated good