PDA

View Full Version : Another Hidden iOS 5 Feature: Autocorrect Keyboard Bar




MacRumors
Nov 9, 2011, 11:30 PM
http://images.macrumors.com/im/macrumorsthreadlogo.gif (http://www.macrumors.com/2011/11/10/another-hidden-ios-5-feature-autocorrect-keyboard-bar/)


http://images.macrumors.com/article-new/2011/11/large-500x750.png


Beyond the Panorama view (http://www.macrumors.com/2011/11/07/hidden-ios-5-panorama-mode-revealed/), it seems Apple left out another small feature in the final version of iOS 5. The bar appears while typing into the field as shown above, giving you a number of autocorrection options. Per 9to5mac (http://9to5mac.com/2011/11/09/ios-5-hides-an-android-like-autocorrect-keyboard-bar-heres-how-to-enable-it/), the feature can reportedly be enabled on a non-jailbroken phone with the following procedure :

1. Download iBackupBot (http://www.icopybot.com/itunes-backup-manager.htm)
2. Backup your iPhone/iPod in iTunes
3. Open iBackupBot and find the backup, then load it.
4. Find Library/Preferences/com.apple.keyboard.plist and open the file. (if your software isn't registered you'll have to press cancel and then it will open)
5. Add in the following code: <key>KeyboardAutocorrectionLists</key><string>YES</string>
6. Save your modifications, and then restore from backup from within iBackupbot.Based on comments, it seems a little unstable, so it seems there are reasons that this was never enabled for the final version. Still, it's interesting to see what other features Apple explored.

Article Link: Another Hidden iOS 5 Feature: Autocorrect Keyboard Bar (http://www.macrumors.com/2011/11/10/another-hidden-ios-5-feature-autocorrect-keyboard-bar/)



kikuchiyo
Nov 9, 2011, 11:36 PM
This is the autocorrect bar Japanese input now uses (without a hack) to suggest words or to convert kana into kanji. I don't like it. I think the old system was much, much better and allowed there to be more screen space.

Spooner83
Nov 9, 2011, 11:42 PM
I have a feeling these left out features will be released with iOS 5.1

ethan028
Nov 9, 2011, 11:42 PM
This kinda sucks, because you can't text correctly then.

beebler
Nov 9, 2011, 11:44 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Mobile/9A334)

This is the autocorrect bar Japanese input now uses (without a hack) to suggest words or to convert kana into kanji. I don't like it. I think the old system was much, much better and allowed there to be more screen space.

I prefer this method than the older one even with less screen space. It was too small for fingers before, or you'd have to cover the full screen to see all the options. It also give the English word option when typing katakana-eigo.

winks360
Nov 9, 2011, 11:45 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

I have a feeling these left out features will be released with iOS 5.1

Don't you mean "Just a few of the hundreds of new features in iOS 6"

Haha ;)

adder7712
Nov 9, 2011, 11:47 PM
What's up with the hidden features?

Oh, it seems to work a bit like the autocorrection bar in Android.

maxreps1003
Nov 9, 2011, 11:53 PM
So i am using an iPhone 4S, have listened to all of these instructions, but CANNOT find this keyboard.plist file. i have talked to some friends and they do not have it either when they try. I have tried backing up multiple times and i still don't know what to do. Anyone have suggestions? Thanks!

alectheking
Nov 9, 2011, 11:58 PM
Sweet, took 5 minutes on my 4S. It was buggy but I did the first restart and now it seems surprisingly good actually. I like it.

maxreps1003
Nov 10, 2011, 12:01 AM
Sweet, took 5 minutes on my 4S. It was buggy but I did the first restart and now it seems surprisingly good actually. I like it.

Where did you find the plist? i can't find it anywhere on my 4S!

Tortri
Nov 10, 2011, 12:02 AM
So i am using an iPhone 4S, have listened to all of these instructions, but CANNOT find this keyboard.plist file. i have talked to some friends and they do not have it either when they try. I have tried backing up multiple times and i still don't know what to do. Anyone have suggestions? Thanks!

load up ibackbot, click your backup on the left, click the Path bar(it'll sort by letter), scroll to Library/Preferences/com.apple.keyboard.plist, double click the file and click cancel, copy the code line and paste via the icon button after <true/> value, save, click the power button like icon on the top right, restore.


it works, but annoyance is that you have to click the confirm button on the bottom right every time, then space bar..

alectheking
Nov 10, 2011, 12:04 AM
Where did you find the plist? i can't find it anywhere on my 4S!

It was super easy. Just open your backup and scroll down a bit to the plist section. Its in there.

maxreps1003
Nov 10, 2011, 12:04 AM
load up ibackbot, click your backup on the left, click the Path bar(it'll sort by letter), scroll to Library/Preferences/com.apple.keyboard.plist, double click the file and click cancel, copy the code line and paste via the icon button after <true/> value, save, click the power button like icon on the top right, restore.


it works, but annoyance is that you have to click the confirm button on the bottom right every time, then space bar..

no like i don't have the plist file. there is none in iBackUpBot. i have gone through it like 20 times 0_o

Natesac
Nov 10, 2011, 12:05 AM
I feel like this and the panorama are features they left out to show off the delta updates once they are "fully baked". I hope deep Facebook integration makes it too.

Tortri
Nov 10, 2011, 12:18 AM
no like i don't have the plist file. there is none in iBackUpBot. i have gone through it like 20 times 0_o

Well in my file it says something about buddysetupdone, maybe setup a buddy in game center or something along those lines. :-\

maxreps1003
Nov 10, 2011, 12:24 AM
Well in my file it says something about buddysetupdone, maybe setup a buddy in game center or something along those lines. :-\

What do you mean?

seamer
Nov 10, 2011, 12:48 AM
I dunno... For my money, these things are disabled for a reason. Both the autocorrect KB and the panoramic camera view look unpolished to the point Apple didn't enable them. If they look like crap, they probably function like crap, too.

Rodimus Prime
Nov 10, 2011, 12:53 AM
Some how I see Apple left this out because it does not look at good but it is one of those great features that should be at least optional to pop up.

I would not be surprised if it in there for this was in there for testing auto correct. It see what other options the keyboard was looking at.

ppc_michael
Nov 10, 2011, 01:35 AM
Hmmm....

kockgunner
Nov 10, 2011, 01:58 AM
Hmmm....

I guess that's the only obvious place to put suggested words. Surprisingly, that's the thing about Android that always irked me when I see the screenshots. It looks like it takes up too much space.

Does it actually help in your experience? I seems just typing words like normal is more efficient than typing a part of the word and slowing down to select if from a list.

hyedgha87
Nov 10, 2011, 02:45 AM
I updated to use this feature. Now wifi is broken. Yay!

Jeayese
Nov 10, 2011, 03:03 AM
I can't find the plist: "com.apple.keyboard.plist" at all, I have searched and searched.. Did apple remove it? I'm on iOS 5.0.1 beta 2 & have an iPhone 4S

someone please get back to me on this..

*returns to hunting for the plist*

TraceyS/FL
Nov 10, 2011, 04:52 AM
Someone mentioned it is used now or the Japanese keyboard, those of you missing the plist have you turned other keyboards on? I'm assuming you need to do that first... Like the Japanese one you used to have to do to get emoji.

Just a thought so early in the am!

ombrenelcielo
Nov 10, 2011, 05:45 AM
It seems to be the correction bar for a Swype keyboard.

Take a look to the attachment: it's a screenshot from my Nokia N9 with Swype keyboard enabled.

csheath
Nov 10, 2011, 06:02 AM
I no longer have access to this plist on 5.0.1 either, its there on older backups. I imagine its still accessible on a jailbroken device but its not in the backup file anymore

Jeayese
Nov 10, 2011, 06:10 AM
Tried enabling the Japanese Keyboard; Romaji and still seeing no plist for the keyboard.

thesalmonator
Nov 10, 2011, 06:32 AM
It seems like this is 5.0 only and has been removed in the beta versions of 5.0.1. This could possibly be because Apple might be saving these new 'hidden' features for the first decent sized update e.g. 5.1 and just assumed people wouldn't find them, but now that people have they want to stop us from using them until they're more stable? Just a thought.

Can anyone running 5.0.1 confirm this? (I can find the option and enabled it on my 4S running 5.0 but don't particularly want to update to a beta version just to check on this)

Jeayese
Nov 10, 2011, 06:48 AM
It seems like this is 5.0 only and has been removed in the beta versions of 5.0.1. This could possibly be because Apple might be saving these new 'hidden' features for the first decent sized update e.g. 5.1 and just assumed people wouldn't find them, but now that people have they want to stop us from using them until they're more stable? Just a thought.

Can anyone running 5.0.1 confirm this? (I can find the option and enabled it on my 4S running 5.0 but don't particularly want to update to a beta version just to check on this)

Could possibly be true, maybe 5.0.1 beta 3? or possibly 5.1? but at the moment I see no option to turn these on in beta 2 :(

samcraig
Nov 10, 2011, 07:09 AM
Apple isn't copying android. Apple's clearly been working on this for a long time and just hasn't enabled it. And when it does - this new killer feature will be far superior than anything on Android.

Did I type that correctly? It was hard since my eyes were rolled so far off to the side...

Leven
Nov 10, 2011, 07:18 AM
Does it actually help in your experience? I seems just typing words like normal is more efficient than typing a part of the word and slowing down to select if from a list.

It does generally help - most of the time you just keep typing, but if it's worked out which word you mean you just press space and it autocompletes for you. Words that aren't in the dictionary sometimes need a press on the autocomplete bar, to say "Yes, I really mean that and not the guess you've made." Pressing the same place twice adds the word to the dictionary, though, so it's rarely an issue. Presumably the iOS one behaves in a similar manner, since it seems like the common sense approach.

adder7712
Nov 10, 2011, 07:37 AM
Hmmm....

My thoughts exactly.

Jeayese
Nov 10, 2011, 07:39 AM
When someone figures out how to get this working on iOS 5.0.1 beta 2, please let me know!

GenesisST
Nov 10, 2011, 07:42 AM
What's up with the hidden features?

Oh, it seems to work a bit like the autocorrection bar in Android.

Google obviously stole it with their time machine! :D

adder7712
Nov 10, 2011, 07:46 AM
Google obviously stole it with their time machine! :D The same method on how they've managed to copy notifications. ;)

GiantSteve
Nov 10, 2011, 07:54 AM
I guess that's the only obvious place to put suggested words. Surprisingly, that's the thing about Android that always irked me when I see the screenshots. It looks like it takes up too much space.

Does it actually help in your experience? I seems just typing words like normal is more efficient than typing a part of the word and slowing down to select if from a list.

It is actually an amazing productivity enhancer. Coming from Android the keyboard experience on the iPhone lags far behind, especially considering some of the third party keyboards out there. I used SwiftKey which can actually reduce your keystrokes nearly by 50%... not only does it "tee up" words to eliminate typing the whole thing, it's suggestions are context sensitive based on your own writing style. To say it's awesome is an understatement. It's really the only feature from my Android phone I miss.

yongren
Nov 10, 2011, 08:06 AM
This is the autocorrect bar Japanese input now uses (without a hack) to suggest words or to convert kana into kanji. I don't like it. I think the old system was much, much better and allowed there to be more screen space.

It's also the bar that appears for Chinese (Pinyin) input. I agree that it does take up too much screen space—for me, sometimes it even covers the field I'm typing in so I can't see what I'm doing.

However, I also think it looks a little more "polished" / iOS-esque than the former look...

Don't see why they couldn't just chop off four or five pixels.

RipsMctits
Nov 10, 2011, 08:08 AM
I hope this feature stays hidden. It looks like ass and takes up valuable screen space.

jclardy
Nov 10, 2011, 08:52 AM
Hmmm....

*sigh* well before Android, the inventor of all things.

/s

http://www.infohtc.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/02/touch-input-landscape-thumb.jpg

andybno1
Nov 10, 2011, 09:03 AM
It seems like this is 5.0 only and has been removed in the beta versions of 5.0.1.

Can anyone running 5.0.1 confirm this? (I can find the option and enabled it on my 4S running 5.0 but don't particularly want to update to a beta version just to check on this)

Could possibly be true, maybe 5.0.1 beta 3? or possibly 5.1? but at the moment I see no option to turn these on in beta 2 :(
worked fine for me I am running beta 2 I deleted older backups and then backed up in iTunes and it works. Try sorting the plists by path?

Attached image to illustrate the file is there in the backup for 5.0.1 beta 2

I don't really like the bar as if I hit space after typing a correct word and hit space it will highlight the first word suggested (which is a different word than the one I typed) and change the word.

erzhik
Nov 10, 2011, 09:07 AM
This was supposed to be a selling point for iPhone 5...

Amazing Iceman
Nov 10, 2011, 09:27 AM
I don't remember where I saw that feature before...

Anyways, could the procedure outlined above be used to enable gestures on the iPad 1?
As far as I know, it required to Jailbreak the device in order to modify a config file, but if this iBackupBot can do it, then there's no need to Jailbreak, is it?

1. Download iBackupBot
2. Backup your iPhone/iPod in iTunes
3. Open iBackupBot and find the backup, then load it.
4. modify the related file...
5. Etc.
6. Save your modifications, and then restore from backup from within iBackupbot.


I guess I've been living in a bubble.... I just found another solution, but I wouldn't discard the one suggested above may also work.

Here's the link: http://cydiahelp.com/enable-multitasking-gestures-ipad-1-ios-5-and-display-mirroring-without-jailbreak/

Enjoy!

andybno1
Nov 10, 2011, 09:33 AM
Anyways, could the procedure outlined above be used to enable gestures on the iPad 1?
Apple enabled gestures again in the 5.0.1 beta for iPad 1 don't know if that will be the same after official release but can live in hope

Amazing Iceman
Nov 10, 2011, 09:42 AM
Apple enabled gestures again in the 5.0.1 beta for iPad 1 don't know if that will be the same after official release but can live in hope

True, I read that too. Hopefully it will be enabled in the final release.
I was also reading at the link I mentioned above that the fix will also enable Video Mirroring... Gotta check that. I'm currently backing up my iPad and then will try the fix.

bruce in boston
Nov 10, 2011, 11:32 AM
Here's my Library/Preferences\com.apple.keyboard.plist

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>BuddySetupDone</key>
<true/>
</dict>
</plist>

Canb someone tell me exactly where the new key is to be inserted, including any new or modified tags?

tk421
Nov 10, 2011, 11:34 AM
Hmmm.... Where have I seen THIS before?

Several places, including the Wii on screen keyboard.
http://media.wiley.com/Lux/20/162720.image9.jpg
(not a great image, but it's what I could find with a google search)

bushido
Nov 10, 2011, 11:42 AM
well it sucks just as much as the native autocorrection on the iphone always did tbh. i still dont understand why it corrects the word when u hit space and not when you tab the suggested word. first thing i disabled on my iPhone

i also type too fast, by the time i would get a suggestion im already done typing

GenesisST
Nov 10, 2011, 11:43 AM
Several places, including the Wii on screen keyboard.
Image (http://media.wiley.com/Lux/20/162720.image9.jpg)
(not a great image, but it's what I could find with a google search)

My eyes...

macinnv
Nov 10, 2011, 11:45 AM
I hope Apple does this officially. Coming from Android, this autocorrect bar is a must have. IMO, I feel one of the only drawbacks to iOS is the current autocorrect setup. A user dictionary would be cool especially if it syncs with your other iOS devices but I dont see Apple doing that ever.

andybno1
Nov 10, 2011, 12:03 PM
Here's my Library/Preferences\com.apple.keyboard.plist
Canb someone tell me exactly where the new key is to be inserted, including any new or modified tags?
I have edited how the plist should look below

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>BuddySetupDone</key>
<true/>
<key>KeyboardAutocorrectionLists</key>
<string>YES</string>
</dict>
</plist>

DESNOS
Nov 10, 2011, 12:35 PM
Several places, including the Wii on screen keyboard.
Image (http://media.wiley.com/Lux/20/162720.image9.jpg)
(not a great image, but it's what I could find with a google search)

That keyboard is ugly as sin... I'm sorry, but I just had to point that out. What on earth were they thinking? I wouldn't be shocked if that keyboard alone tanks the company. It's an eyesore.

Rodimus Prime
Nov 10, 2011, 01:16 PM
Apple isn't copying android. Apple's clearly been working on this for a long time and just hasn't enabled it. And when it does - this new killer feature will be far superior than anything on Android.

Did I type that correctly? It was hard since my eyes were rolled so far off to the side...

You know calling it a "killer feature and superior than anything on Android" makes you sound VERY VERY fanboyish.

I call tell right off from the photo that no it is not going to top swiftkey. It is pretty much a copy of lots of other keyboards for touch screen devices that has been around for a VERY VERY long time dating back to dumb phones. It looks like a stock little bar above it to help choose words quicker. I have seen it on dumb phones and yes the stock keyboard on Android phones but that has been around for a while.

I would not be willing to give up swiftkey to switch to that mess.

JoeG4
Nov 10, 2011, 01:26 PM
Rod it was a sarcastic post - note his eyes rolling XD

The first place I saw that 'feature' was on Motorola's version of T9. (called iTap):

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/8/84/ITap_on_Motorola_C350.jpg

It was great because you didn't have to type the whole word - just start tapping the respective 1-9 keys (once) and the possible words would show up (T9 sorta did this, as you know.. just horribly!) Thus it was usually more accurate ;)

However, that was way back in the late 90's/early 2000's.

Arminator
Nov 10, 2011, 01:58 PM
Google obviously stole it with their time machine! :D

time machine is macintosh only :rolleyes:

HoopTrundler
Nov 10, 2011, 02:37 PM
Hmmm....

Even the Nintendo Wii had an autocorrection bar before Android did...

something3153
Nov 10, 2011, 03:10 PM
Image (http://www.macrumors.com/2011/11/10/another-hidden-ios-5-feature-autocorrect-keyboard-bar/)


Image (http://cdn.macrumors.com/article-new/2011/11/large-500x750.png)


Beyond the Panorama view (http://www.macrumors.com/2011/11/07/hidden-ios-5-panorama-mode-revealed/), it seems Apple left out another small feature in the final version of iOS 5. The bar appears while typing into the field as shown above, giving you a number of autocorrection options. Per 9to5mac (http://9to5mac.com/2011/11/09/ios-5-hides-an-android-like-autocorrect-keyboard-bar-heres-how-to-enable-it/), the feature can reportedly be enabled on a non-jailbroken phone with the following procedure :

Based on comments, it seems a little unstable, so it seems there are reasons that this was never enabled for the final version. Still, it's interesting to see what other features Apple explored.

Article Link: Another Hidden iOS 5 Feature: Autocorrect Keyboard Bar (http://www.macrumors.com/2011/11/10/another-hidden-ios-5-feature-autocorrect-keyboard-bar/)

Clearly copied from WP7.

Zeberg
Nov 10, 2011, 04:47 PM
When someone figures out how to get this working on iOS 5.0.1 beta 2, please let me know!

I used the GlobalPreferences.plist and it worked!!
I have iOS 5.0.1 Beta 2 on an iPhone 4 S.
You just need to put in <key>KeyboardAutocorrectionLists</key><string>YES</string>
anywhere in between the <dict> and <dict> on a new line of course.

Enjoy!

timothyjay2004
Nov 10, 2011, 05:08 PM
Can it be hidden should you not want to use the feature all the time? Or does it always show up once you enable it?

andybno1
Nov 10, 2011, 06:23 PM
Can it be hidden should you not want to use the feature all the time? Or does it always show up once you enable it?
looks to be all the time not seen anything in the settings to disable

Jeayese
Nov 10, 2011, 06:50 PM
I used the GlobalPreferences.plist and it worked!!
I have iOS 5.0.1 Beta 2 on an iPhone 4 S.
You just need to put in <key>KeyboardAutocorrectionLists</key><string>YES</string>
anywhere in between the <dict> and <dict> on a new line of course.

Enjoy!

Sweet! going to try this now!

Jeayese
Nov 10, 2011, 07:03 PM
here is my recent try, Not sure if I did it right as it didn't work :/

http://i.imgur.com/4KhiR.png

andybno1
Nov 10, 2011, 07:24 PM
here is my recent try, Not sure if I did it right as it didn't work :/
thats the wrong file

4. Find Library/Preferences/com.apple.keyboard.plist and open the file.

Jeayese
Nov 10, 2011, 07:40 PM
After several minutes of tampering with the plist file (Not the keyboard one but the one in the screenshot) I seem to have gotten this to work on iOS 5.0.1 beta 2!

Now my first thoughts are;

Interesting! I see how this could be useful for some people, then again I was fast at typing on the keyboard, this just felt like I was making errors errors like "ham" that could not be corrected without pressing 3 more more buttons just to get the right word. I think this needs a lot more work! not to mention tapping the up arrow simply crashes the app/ OS.

I have restored back to the what I had earlier and am happy... Can't wait for iOS 5.1!

Mr. G
Nov 10, 2011, 10:28 PM
After several minutes of tampering with the plist file (Not the keyboard one but the one in the screenshot) I seem to have gotten this to work on iOS 5.0.1 beta 2!

Now my first thoughts are;

Interesting! I see how this could be useful for some people, then again I was fast at typing on the keyboard, this just felt like I was making errors errors like "ham" that could not be corrected without pressing 3 more more buttons just to get the right word. I think this needs a lot more work! not to mention tapping the up arrow simply crashes the app/ OS.

I have restored back to the what I had earlier and am happy... Can't wait for iOS 5.1!

Same issue here: typing the up arrow crashes the app. This is trash, in my opinion. Why can't Apple get a quality autocorrect keyboard Copyright/patent issues? It seems so obvious that their keyboard is terrible!

I had a Droid for 2 years before switching to an iPhone 4 recently and the keyboard (lack of) functionality really surprised me. Androids seem to be more intuitive than iOS --- surprisingly so! iPhone has better hardware - for the most part - and obviously better design, but maybe "fragmentation" is a small trade off to have a better OS...

Tmelon
Nov 10, 2011, 11:18 PM
Well I tried that for a solid minute and there's no way I'm keeping it. Of course it's an incomplete feature, so it at least shows that Apple is working to improve its autocorrection.

Melkorr
Nov 11, 2011, 01:07 AM
I'd like to see it as an option to turn off and on rather then not using it or forcing it on us.

SteelWheel
Nov 11, 2011, 02:02 AM
I'd like to try this out. Two questions though:

1. Earlier this evening, I took the public release of 5.0.1. Anyone able to confirm that this will work with the latest update?

2. I'm unfamiliar with iBackupBot. I have another program called PhoneView that has some similar features:

http://www.ecamm.com/mac/phoneview/

Hoping that someone with experience with these kinds of things would know if I could use PhoneView for this purpose. iBackupBot seemed a little expensive if I'm only going to use it this one time.

andybno1
Nov 11, 2011, 04:57 AM
I'd like to try this out. Two questions though:

1. Earlier this evening, I took the public release of 5.0.1. Anyone able to confirm that this will work with the latest update?

2. I'm unfamiliar with iBackupBot. I have another program called PhoneView that has some similar features
phoneview is more for jailbroken devices, if you are jailbroken you need to go looking in the folders for the file were as with ibackupbot looks at the backup folder from iTunes.

You do not need to purchase ibackupbot to do this, when you find the plist and go to open it just hit cancel on the prompt to enter registration deails and you can then edit the plist and save it

MatLu
Nov 13, 2011, 09:55 PM
Somebody has probably already mentioned this (maybe multiple somebodies; so sorry is I'm repeating what's already been said), but this isn't really a 'hidden' feature. You can do this right now using the Japanese keyboard (and maybe others) without any hacks.

WeatherGuy
Nov 14, 2011, 11:47 AM
Maybe I am blind... But DO NOT have this file on my backup. I've tried backing up three times now and each time it does not show up. I've seen the pictures on this thread of where the file should be... But it is there for me. Any reason why this could be?

bruce in boston
Nov 14, 2011, 04:20 PM
I've never tried it on Android so I can't compare, but on the iPhone 4S I undid the hack after a frustrating 20 minutes.