PDA

View Full Version : Dumb Question to ask.....


aaronl23
May 27, 2005, 07:18 AM
I have a single 1.6 ghz processor on my G5. Is there anyway to get another 1.6 processor andup grade it to a dual 1.6ghz or is it impossible? Also I can not afford a Dual 1.8 2.0 or 2.5 2.7 so I CAN NOT afford it. :confused:

gwuMACaddict
May 27, 2005, 07:21 AM
no

edit: suppose it isn't impossible (cause i know someone will post on here about linking multiple computers together, etc.) but it doesnt make any sense and would cost you more in the long run... why do you need dual anyway?

aaronl23
May 27, 2005, 07:22 AM
Anyone know where I can find a 1.6 processor???

mad jew
May 27, 2005, 07:25 AM
Anyone know where I can find a 1.6 processor???


You're not seriously gonna try this are you? I really recommend you don't. It's fine if you choose to ignore me, just make sure you post pictures. :p

aaronl23
May 27, 2005, 07:28 AM
Well how much do you think it will cost in the long rum Vs a 2.7 GHz Mac? I do video editing, graphic design, and gaminng.

Veldek
May 27, 2005, 07:39 AM
IIRC, there are connectors missing on the mainboard. So, it wouldn't be possible to do this.

smokeyrabbit
May 27, 2005, 07:41 AM
You can upgrade your boot disk to a 10,000 rpm disk, or even a pair of 10000 rpm SATA drives inside. You can get an 8-channel SATA card and have a stinking fast 4- or 8- drive RAID array externally for your video and photo scratch disk. You can upgrade your video card to the fastest one available. You can upgrade your DVD drive to the best one available.

BUT you can not upgrade your processor. All of the things above will make speed improvements to your system.