PDA

View Full Version : [Resolved] sleep while copying files




Frozzie
Dec 12, 2011, 12:09 PM
Was just copying a large file from external HDD and in the middle the computer went to sleep. Logged back in and the process seemed to carry on from where it stopped.

Will going to sleep have done do any harm to either Mac, eHDD or file itself? In Windows this would have resulted in error message and you would have to restart the whole process. Any official Apple documents on what happens?



GGJstudios
Dec 12, 2011, 12:14 PM
It shouldn't sleep while actively transferring a file, unless it was deliberately put to sleep. I'm not sure I'd trust a file transfer that was interrupted by sleep. I'd at least check the files to make sure they're intact.

Frozzie
Dec 12, 2011, 12:24 PM
Well I should have changed power settings to never go on sleep, but what happened has happened.

It was on power supply as well - and I also believed Lion won't sleep whilst doing file transfers because I thought it was something that was 'active'.

sweetbrat
Dec 12, 2011, 12:49 PM
Are you sure it wasn't just the display that went to sleep?

GGJstudios
Dec 12, 2011, 12:51 PM
Are you sure it wasn't just the display that went to sleep?
It doesn't sound like it.
Logged back in and the process seemed to carry on from where it stopped.

Frozzie
Dec 12, 2011, 01:04 PM
It was at default settings (Display sleep was set to 10 minutes, computer sleep was set at 10 minutes)

Does display sleep require password login as well? Also how would you distinguish between display sleep and computer sleep (if display sleep require password to log back in)?

edit: http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1776

Note: Hard disk activity does not prevent display sleep, but it does prevent system sleep. It is not uncommon for the display to sleep before the system goes to sleep if both types of sleep are set to occur after the same length of inactivity.

So I assume it was display sleep and that it couldn't have been system sleep?

edit 2: So did experiment of copying, it carried on despite on sleep, so it was display sleep which still required password.