PDA

View Full Version : Mission Control bug?




mattwsp
Dec 17, 2011, 08:59 AM
I have 5 different desktops open with certain apps on different desktops. In Snow Leopard those apps would stay on that desktop even when closing the app or restarting the mac. But now its all changed when i re-open an app because i've had to close it, it doesn't default to the right desktop. This becomes really frustrating when i have to re start my mac and all my apps open on one desktop instead of the ones i set them to.

Is it supposed to be like that or am i missing something really obvious?

Thanks



GuitarG20
Dec 17, 2011, 09:06 AM
I have 5 different desktops open with certain apps on different desktops. In Snow Leopard those apps would stay on that desktop even when closing the app or restarting the mac. But now its all changed when i re-open an app because i've had to close it, it doesn't default to the right desktop. This becomes really frustrating when i have to re start my mac and all my apps open on one desktop instead of the ones i set them to.

Is it supposed to be like that or am i missing something really obvious?

Thanks

are you using the dock option? (right click on icon in dock> Options > Assign to)

mattwsp
Dec 17, 2011, 09:11 AM
When i try that the option is greyed out :/ It just gives me All or none as an option.

----------

Ah, i think i've done it! You where right, i had to go to each app and assign to "this desktop"

Thanks! It's a shame they have made you have to do this though!

The Economist
Dec 18, 2011, 06:31 PM
Why do you use so many desktops? I used to use several spaces on Snow Leopard but on Lion I simply use the full-screen option when available. It sort works the same way but you get some extra screen real-estate.

I use it for Safari and iTunes. Sometimes I also use it when writing a document.

mattwsp
Dec 18, 2011, 06:34 PM
haha, i don't really know. It's just kind of happened over the last year. I have my calendar and adress book on one then safari on another and iTunes on another, etc etc.

Works well for me i guess :)

The Economist
Dec 20, 2011, 05:04 PM
haha, i don't really know. It's just kind of happened over the last year. I have my calendar and adress book on one then safari on another and iTunes on another, etc etc.

Works well for me i guess :)

I see. Well I'm not criticizing your style, but you should give it a shot. Full-screen iTunes worked better for me after a while.