PDA

View Full Version : Mountain Lion in Parallels?




cambookpro
Feb 17, 2012, 04:55 AM
Is it possible to use ML in Parallels, and more importantly, has anyone tried it?
I've heard reports that the cursor is jerky and it's generally quite slow.

What's the installation process like?



djrod
Feb 17, 2012, 05:03 AM
According to parallel's forums you can. I don't have the link but google it.

imacken
Feb 17, 2012, 05:16 AM
Is it possible to use ML in Parallels, and more importantly, has anyone tried it?
I've heard reports that the cursor is jerky and it's generally quite slow.

What's the installation process like?

It installed fine on PD7, but initially I couldn't get Parallels Tools to install. I then installed PD7 within PD7 (!) by selecting Install Parallel Tools from the menu and clicking on the 'Install Parallels' from the virtual CD in Finder.
Now, it is at my normal monitor res and most things seem to work OK, but a bit sluggishly with cursor a little jerky at times.
Things noted so far:
Youtube videos - no video or sound
Trackpad not recognised in Sys Prefs, so most gestures don't work
Launchpad takes AGES to load. I thought it had frozen!
Apart from that, it's working OK, but I've only been on for around an hour.

cambookpro
Feb 17, 2012, 07:04 AM
It installed fine on PD7, but initially I couldn't get Parallels Tools to install. I then installed PD7 within PD7 (!) by selecting Install Parallel Tools from the menu and clicking on the 'Install Parallels' from the virtual CD in Finder.
Now, it is at my normal monitor res and most things seem to work OK, but a bit sluggishly with cursor a little jerky at times.
Things noted so far:
Youtube videos - no video or sound
Trackpad not recognised in Sys Prefs, so most gestures don't work
Launchpad takes AGES to load. I thought it had frozen!
Apart from that, it's working OK, but I've only been on for around an hour.

When installing it, you select Macintosh HD (or whatever you've named the internal HD) as the destination, right?
It's inside a VM so I don't see a problem, just want to double check.
Don't want to install it as my main OS yet :p

Blipp
Feb 17, 2012, 08:30 AM
It installed fine on PD7, but initially I couldn't get Parallels Tools to install. I then installed PD7 within PD7 (!) by selecting Install Parallel Tools from the menu and clicking on the 'Install Parallels' from the virtual CD in Finder.
Now, it is at my normal monitor res and most things seem to work OK, but a bit sluggishly with cursor a little jerky at times.
Things noted so far:
Youtube videos - no video or sound
Trackpad not recognised in Sys Prefs, so most gestures don't work
Launchpad takes AGES to load. I thought it had frozen!
Apart from that, it's working OK, but I've only been on for around an hour.

I didn't go to the lengths you did to get Parallels Tools to install but otherwise I've had similar experiences as you. It's quite sluggish, sometimes you get double cursors (as though the Mountain Lion cursor is lagging behind), and it won't snap to your full screen resolution. It wants to stay at a very minimal resolution, something like 800x600, I haven't checked to see what it actually is.

I only installed it in Parallels on my home machine to see if I could get the AirPlay mirroring working with my AppleTV. It won't find your AppleTV if you have it set to share a network with your host Mac however. Once I was able to get it to locate the AppleTV it would appear the AirPlay functionality isn't built in the beta yet. Oh well.

As for Mountain Lion running on my 2011 iMac at work it's been a dream so far. There are certainly bugs (try going to Finder and clicking "Go" from the menu bar, crashes 100% of the time) but overall I've been very pleased. They desperately need to fix their dual-monitor support with fullscreen apps though.

imacken
Feb 17, 2012, 08:46 AM
I didn't go to the lengths you did to get Parallels Tools to install but otherwise I've had similar experiences as you. It's quite sluggish, sometimes you get double cursors (as though the Mountain Lion cursor is lagging behind), and it won't snap to your full screen resolution. It wants to stay at a very minimal resolution, something like 800x600, I haven't checked to see what it actually is.

There are certainly bugs (try going to Finder and clicking "Go" from the menu bar, crashes 100% of the time) but overall I've been very pleased. They desperately need to fix their dual-monitor support with fullscreen apps though.
Doesn't sound like you've got Tools installed then. Mine runs @ 2560 x 1440 in Parallels.

Also, my Finder doesn't crash when I select 'Go' from the menu.

cambookpro
Feb 17, 2012, 10:22 AM
When installing it, you select Macintosh HD (or whatever you've named the internal HD) as the destination, right?
It's inside a VM so I don't see a problem, just want to double check.
Don't want to install it as my main OS yet :p

^^^

Just to double check?


So hopefully it's at least useable with Parallel Tools installed? Cool. Will try tonight :D

----------


As for Mountain Lion running on my 2011 iMac at work it's been a dream so far. There are certainly bugs (try going to Finder and clicking "Go" from the menu bar, crashes 100% of the time) but overall I've been very pleased. They desperately need to fix their dual-monitor support with fullscreen apps though.

Is that on a virtual machine or on a partition/external HD?

cambookpro
Feb 17, 2012, 11:33 AM
Ok so I've installed ML inside PD7.

Installed Parallels Tools as well, this seemed to make the cursor less 'laggy' and meant I could increase the screen res from some low one is was set at.

I'm on a MacBook Pro, however it doesn't recognise a trackpad being there, or a magic mouse, just a standard mouse. The trackpad works, but you can't do any gestures.

Mine seems to crash when opening Launchpad, however I'll put that down to ML being a beta. Apart from that, notes and reminders look great, so does notification centre but I've yet to have any notifictaions!

WhoDaKat
Feb 17, 2012, 01:43 PM
I've got Parallels running 10.8 as well. I jumped through the same hoops as the other poster and got Tools installed (its not that hard to figure out). My biggest issue is the lack of trackpad support. I went as far as having my main OS release the USB Bluetooth, in hopes that the guest OS would be able to use it. It kind of worked as I can use the trackpad in 10.8 with gestures, I just can't see the mouse pointer! If anyone figures that one out, please post!

Of course, all wireless peripherals cease to work on the main OS which can be an issue. Remember Cmd + Control + F moves you from full screen to windowed. If you get stuck drag your cursor to the top left corner and shut down the virtual machine, give it 10 seconds or so and your Bluetooth will restore to the actual machine.

cambookpro
Feb 17, 2012, 02:05 PM
I've got Parallels running 10.8 as well. I jumped through the same hoops as the other poster and got Tools installed (its not that hard to figure out). My biggest issue is the lack of trackpad support. I went as far as having my main OS release the USB Bluetooth, in hopes that the guest OS would be able to use it. It kind of worked as I can use the trackpad in 10.8 with gestures, I just can't see the mouse pointer! If anyone figures that one out, please post!

Of course, all wireless peripherals cease to work on the main OS which can be an issue. Remember Cmd + Control + F moves you from full screen to windowed. If you get stuck drag your cursor to the top left corner and shut down the virtual machine, give it 10 seconds or so and your Bluetooth will restore to the actual machine.

Let us know if you find any fixes! The trackpad thing is pretty annoying.

Blipp
Feb 17, 2012, 07:58 PM
^^^

Is that on a virtual machine or on a partition/external HD?

It's the only OS on the internal drive. It's an iMac used strictly for testing, it gets reloaded several times a week typically.

kemo
Feb 18, 2012, 02:23 PM
I suggest you to watch this thread, its pretty active and I guess soon the network will get's fixed in Parallels Virtual Machine:

http://forum.parallels.com/showthread.php?t=257398

WhoDaKat
Feb 18, 2012, 05:45 PM
I suggest you to watch this thread, its pretty active and I guess soon the network will get's fixed in Parallels Virtual Machine:

http://forum.parallels.com/showthread.php?t=257398

Wow, these guys are saying it won't install except in 32 bit mode, and then they are moving kernel files around to make it work.

I guess I got lucky as 10.8 installed in a VM just fine. Just my pesky trackpad/bluetooth issue, but everything else is working fine.

cambookpro
Feb 19, 2012, 03:40 AM
Wow, these guys are saying it won't install except in 32 bit mode, and then they are moving kernel files around to make it work.

I guess I got lucky as 10.8 installed in a VM just fine. Just my pesky trackpad/bluetooth issue, but everything else is working fine.

I think they're talking about Parallels on Mountain Lion, rather than ML just running as a guest OS.

kemo
Feb 20, 2012, 01:46 AM
Wow, these guys are saying it won't install except in 32 bit mode, and then they are moving kernel files around to make it work.

I guess I got lucky as 10.8 installed in a VM just fine. Just my pesky trackpad/bluetooth issue, but everything else is working fine.

Yea, that's exactly what they are talking about.

----------

Wow, these guys are saying it won't install except in 32 bit mode, and then they are moving kernel files around to make it work.

I guess I got lucky as 10.8 installed in a VM just fine. Just my pesky trackpad/bluetooth issue, but everything else is working fine.

The even get Network working in VM and yea, it just worked in 32 bit mode for now as a workaround.

imacken
Feb 20, 2012, 01:53 AM
Yea, that's exactly what they are talking about.

No, that's not what they are talking about. That thread is about PD7 running in ML. This thread is about running ML in PD7.

kemo
Feb 20, 2012, 03:55 AM
No, that's not what they are talking about. That thread is about PD7 running in ML. This thread is about running ML in PD7.

My BAD, sorry. I was quoting

No, that's not what they are talking about. That thread is about PD7 running in ML. This thread is about running ML in PD7.


but just hit the wrong one..