PDA

View Full Version : [INFO] ML DP1 & GM runs within VMware Fusion v3.1.x




Mr. Retrofire
Feb 18, 2012, 09:38 PM
So you do not need VMware Fusion v4.x.x.

ML DP1 is faster than 10.7.3. VMware Tools work fine (no kernel panics). See screenshot below!

(Click to enlarge!)



cuestakid
Feb 18, 2012, 10:48 PM
So you do not need VMware Fusion v4.x.x.

ML DP1 is faster than 10.7.3. VMware Tools work fine (no kernel panics). See screenshot below!

(Click to enlarge!)

works in Parallels as well -but sadly airplay DOES NOT WORK IN PARALLELS!!!

Mr. Retrofire
Feb 18, 2012, 11:01 PM
...sadly airplay DOES NOT WORK IN PARALLELS!!!
AirPlay requires AirPort hardware support.

sparot
Feb 23, 2012, 11:29 AM
So you do not need VMware Fusion v4.x.x.

ML DP1 is faster than 10.7.3. VMware Tools work fine (no kernel panics). See screenshot below!

(Click to enlarge!)

Any tips on how to get working with VMWare Fusion 3.1.3?
Booting produces...

"Still waiting on root device"

Scarrus
Feb 23, 2012, 11:56 AM
So you do not need VMware Fusion v4.x.x.

ML DP1 is faster than 10.7.3. VMware Tools work fine (no kernel panics). See screenshot below!

(Click to enlarge!)


LOL at the "take screenshot, blah, blah, blah..." :D

warrenkopp
Mar 3, 2012, 03:04 PM
any tips or instructions to get it installed? i'm getting a circle slash symbol every time i've tried with a few different setups.

Tander
Mar 3, 2012, 03:25 PM
Would also like to know. I have Fusion v4.1.0 and it won't install. :confused:

Mr. Retrofire
Jul 24, 2012, 11:04 PM
any tips or instructions to get it installed? i'm getting a circle slash symbol every time i've tried with a few different setups.
You need at least three things on the installer disk and on the installed version of Mountain Lion (with the correct access permissions):
- ServerVersion.plist in CoreServices
- AppleSMC file from AppleSMC.kext/Contents/MacOS/ (from OS X 10.7.3)
- AppleLSIFusionMPT file from AppleLSIFusionMPT.kext/Contents/MacOS/ (from OS X 10.7.1)

Btw, Mountain Lion GM runs within VMware Fusion v3.1.4 (host-OS: Snow Leopard). Some system preferences are buggy and logout/login does not always work.

(click to enlarge)

minik
Jul 24, 2012, 11:52 PM
That's interesting.

I have v4.1.3 installed on my Mountain Lion machine (stock 2009 Mac Pro with 6GB of RAM) and 10.7.4 ran pretty smooth as a VM. :p

Seth Mac Fan
Jul 25, 2012, 12:01 AM
I don't understand apple if it runs fine in a VM why wont it run on the older macs , apple is just forcing people to upgrade there computer . I do not believe them when they say they want it to be a good experience .

You could install all the way from os 9 to tiger on a imac g3 . It makes no since and apple is forcing people to upgrade there computers when they can run mountain lion perfectly fine and at a reasonably fast speed .