PDA

View Full Version : OS X Mountain Lion - Front Row




CarsonGallo
Feb 19, 2012, 04:33 PM
We were able to do a work around to get Front Row to work again in OS X Lion. See Thread - Mac OS X Lion - Front Row (****************Wj9cq) now I was wondering if we could be able to do the same thing for OS X Mountain Lion.

Now the Front Row icon carried over from OS X Lion, but when I click it, nothing happens, and same thing with keyboard shortcut Command-Escape, nothing happens. Same thing when we originally updated to OS X Lion. So does anyone have any ideas on how to get it to work now?

https://img.skitch.com/20120219-bqn25a5c6n4hd91nda27ekpb2d.jpg



AnonMac50
Feb 20, 2012, 06:34 AM
Try one of the packages made. One is available here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=12980458 and the other is available in the thread you mentioned.

CarsonGallo
Feb 21, 2012, 01:22 AM
Try one of the packages made. One is available here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=12980458 and the other is available in the thread you mentioned.
Nothing, still unresponsive, someones gonna have to figure out how to do it another way. Some things have to be changed.

iAmYou
Feb 21, 2012, 05:27 AM
Nothing, still unresponsive, someones gonna have to figure out how to do it another way. Some things have to be changed.

That someone might just have to be you.

AnonMac50
Feb 21, 2012, 12:12 PM
i wonder what it is that could have changed so much.

CarsonGallo
Feb 22, 2012, 03:12 PM
That someone might just have to be you.

I have even gotten past Chapter 1 of Codecademy, I don't think I could even begin to make a package that modifies OS X.

mrboult
Feb 23, 2012, 08:52 AM
Ha. I've been with Lion since launch and hadn't even realised Front Row had gone!

Shows how much I used it I guess. But seems a shame to have gone. Do newer Macs still come with IR sensor and remote? I have a feeling they're gone now I think about it?

haravikk
Feb 23, 2012, 05:19 PM
I don't think the Front Row "hack" for Lion even works with the latest version(s) of iTunes? I'm still pretty annoyed about the removal of it as I'd hoped to upgrade my Mac Mini's to get Airdrop support, but one of them is hooked up to my TV so Front Row is great. I did occasionally use it on my Mac Pro too but not enough to lament its loss from that.

I suppose with the Mac Mini I can still update to Lion but I'll have to figure out how to force the older version of iTunes back onto it, anyone know which is the latest version that works with Front Row?


Still, I'm disappointed that Mountain Lion isn't bringing it back; while I can understand that it competes a bit with the Apple TV, it doesn't make sense to eliminate it from Mac Minis when they ship with an HDMI port that makes them great as a media centre PC.

CarsonGallo
Feb 24, 2012, 02:26 PM
I don't think the Front Row "hack" for Lion even works with the latest version(s) of iTunes? I'm still pretty annoyed about the removal of it as I'd hoped to upgrade my Mac Mini's to get Airdrop support, but one of them is hooked up to my TV so Front Row is great. I did occasionally use it on my Mac Pro too but not enough to lament its loss from that.

I suppose with the Mac Mini I can still update to Lion but I'll have to figure out how to force the older version of iTunes back onto it, anyone know which is the latest version that works with Front Row?


Still, I'm disappointed that Mountain Lion isn't bringing it back; while I can understand that it competes a bit with the Apple TV, it doesn't make sense to eliminate it from Mac Minis when they ship with an HDMI port that makes them great as a media centre PC.

I remember accidentally doing the keyboard shortcut a couple of weeks before I updated to Mountain Lion, and I had the latest version of Lion & iTunes and everything and it still worked. So its just Mountain Lion in which the hack doesn't work on anymore.

And your acting like theres no other Apps. Theres 5 other great Mac Apps that make up for FrontRow. We got XBMC, Plex, Boxee, QVIVO, & Hulu Desktop. We'll always have those.

But we should still should keep trying to figure out how to get Apple's Version to work. Never Give Up, Never Surrender.

haravikk
Feb 24, 2012, 02:35 PM
I remember accidentally doing the keyboard shortcut a couple of weeks before I updated to Mountain Lion, and I had the latest version of Lion & iTunes and everything and it still worked.
Did everything work, would it still pull up movies? I remember something about a change to the iTunes library format, and I think Front Row just reads the iTunes library… I dunno, I'll check on my own machine if I remember.

And your acting like theres no other Apps. Theres 5 other great Mac Apps that make up for FrontRow. We got XBMC, Plex, Boxee, QVIVO, & Hulu Desktop. We'll always have those.
I know, but I don't like any of them ;)
Well, it's more just that Front Row just does what I need it to, it's the right blend of simple and elegant. Sure it has some faults but they're minor, in my use-case anyway.

What galls me most is that there's not really any good reason to drop it; they should have just merged code with the Apple TV in order to allow Mac Minis to function like an Apple TV+; it's not like it would have been that hard as it's all the same API's these days.

djrod
Feb 24, 2012, 04:15 PM
Movist has a full screen mode that is just like Frontrow

http://code.google.com/p/movist/


http://fatalerror.info/images/14928/movist3.jpg

CarsonGallo
Feb 25, 2012, 02:35 PM
Did everything work, would it still pull up movies? I remember something about a change to the iTunes library format, and I think Front Row just reads the iTunes library… I dunno, I'll check on my own machine if I remember.


I know, but I don't like any of them ;)
Well, it's more just that Front Row just does what I need it to, it's the right blend of simple and elegant. Sure it has some faults but they're minor, in my use-case anyway.

What galls me most is that there's not really any good reason to drop it; they should have just merged code with the Apple TV in order to allow Mac Minis to function like an Apple TV+; it's not like it would have been that hard as it's all the same API's these days.

Actually it would be a little difficult cause the new Apple TV OS is completely different from the previous Apple TV OS. In fact if you don't know, its running iOS. But maybe they removed FrontRow because they are planning on bringing an Apple TV 2 App to Mac, after all there bringing a lot of features from iOS to Mac. Apple TV might be one of them. I think we'll get a better idea if and when Apple announces The iTV.

haravikk
Feb 26, 2012, 01:58 PM
Actually it would be a little difficult cause the new Apple TV OS is completely different from the previous Apple TV OS. In fact if you don't know, its running iOS. But maybe they removed FrontRow because they are planning on bringing an Apple TV 2 App to Mac, after all there bringing a lot of features from iOS to Mac. Apple TV might be one of them. I think we'll get a better idea if and when Apple announces The iTV.
That was my point; with the newer Apple TV's using iOS then the codebase is essentially the same (iOS and OS X have mostly the same libraries, just compiled onto different hardware, the code is largely interchangeable), which is only going to become even more so the case once Mountain Lion is out.

But it's the fact that Apple discontinued it even though Mac Minis have built in HDMI ports that practically scream "this can be used as a media centre PC"; all it would have taken would be either a relatively straightforward port from the iOS Apple TV platform to OS X, or for them to keep including Front Row but with any necessary minor patches to keep it working.

As it is the apple remote only seems to be of use for iTunes, which is clunky compared to Front Row. Most of the Front Row alternatives do, or can, work with the remote, but none of them are as well integrated as Front Row was; despite its various small failings it "just worked" after all :)

CarsonGallo
Feb 27, 2012, 12:50 PM
That was my point; with the newer Apple TV's using iOS then the codebase is essentially the same (iOS and OS X have mostly the same libraries, just compiled onto different hardware, the code is largely interchangeable), which is only going to become even more so the case once Mountain Lion is out.

But it's the fact that Apple discontinued it even though Mac Minis have built in HDMI ports that practically scream "this can be used as a media centre PC"; all it would have taken would be either a relatively straightforward port from the iOS Apple TV platform to OS X, or for them to keep including Front Row but with any necessary minor patches to keep it working.

As it is the apple remote only seems to be of use for iTunes, which is clunky compared to Front Row. Most of the Front Row alternatives do, or can, work with the remote, but none of them are as well integrated as Front Row was; despite its various small failings it "just worked" after all :)

There probably working on the port, or already have a port ready, but waiting for the right timing. Plus another reason for getting rid of FrontRow, so people buying Mac Minis to use as Media Centers would buy Apple TV's instead. After all the software is still a Hobby so its like there just doing the Beta for Apple TV's and when there ready to go full forward with it, they'll release it on additional devices.

But its not ready yet, they still have to add a lot of features first. One of which Steve Jobs actually confirmed about 18 months ago in an email, replying to that yes iTunes Extras would be coming to iOS. Whether he mean Apple TV 2G's only, or other iOS Devices that include iPad's, iTouch's, and iPhone's I'm not sure. But they really need to expand on that feature.

AnonMac50
Mar 1, 2012, 03:17 PM
I have a few of the Front Row alternatives on my computer, but there were none that I liked more than Front Row.

dawsonj
Jul 25, 2012, 07:42 PM
Ha. I've been with Lion since launch and hadn't even realised Front Row had gone!

Shows how much I used it I guess. But seems a shame to have gone. Do newer Macs still come with IR sensor and remote? I have a feeling they're gone now I think about it?

Newer MAcs still have remote capability. I have a mini as source for sharing to apple TVs etc but the HDMI port was also rigged up to a projector so for that I used front row. With latest lion updated and I haven't tried mountain lion yet I found the modified to work on lion front row no longer could read the iTunes library on the local disk however if you went into sources and accessed another library via the home network it worked perfectly so all our MBAs and iMacs and apple TVs share the mini iTunes library but no longer can I play to the projector.

I have no answer as I am only good at searching for someone else's clever software.

Winter Charm
Jul 25, 2012, 08:57 PM
Ha. I've been with Lion since launch and hadn't even realised Front Row had gone!

Shows how much I used it I guess. But seems a shame to have gone. Do newer Macs still come with IR sensor and remote? I have a feeling they're gone now I think about it?

IR sensor still there on newer macs. Just no front row. But it can be used to control slideshows, presentations, iTunes, etc.

albusseverus
Jul 26, 2012, 07:54 PM
I had Front Row working before Mountain Lion. Used it every day. Couldn't stand any of the alternatives.

What iTunes took away was easy to fix - put an alias to iTunes Movies folder in your Movies folder and you could still get everything there. Can't remember if it worked for Music, don't use Front Row for music.

So I optimistically reinstalled the package referenced in the TUAW article, no effect. Still have a Front Row app, just doesn't launch.

Anybody know a terminal hack that might switch something, so it can run?

I also used (white) Apple Remote to control Eye TV, and the Menu button doesn't seem to work there, at the moment. There was something that needed to run to make Apple Remote work with Eye TV, but I don't remember loading that with Lion. Perhaps, when that fix comes, someone can get Front Row to work again.

Eye TV has a menu item for Front Row. That always worked, once you got Front Row installed for Lion. Choosing View, Open Menu and clicking menu items doesn't activate Front Row, either.

Not holding my breath for an Apple TV app for OS X.

I tried Movist, looks simple, but wouldn't open any folders, then crashed, in Full Screen Navigation. Re-launching, Full Screen Navigation and Preferences are greyed-out & can't be selected. It was last updated in 2010, so I don't hold out much hope of getting it to work with Mountain Lion.

musio
Jul 26, 2012, 10:12 PM
Plex is a great alternative.

albusseverus
Jul 27, 2012, 07:02 AM
Plex is a great alternative.

I downloaded Plex and installed it - it offers me 3 menu items. Search, Preferences, Quit. I think I turned off something even more useless. Help doesn't even show, although it's "checked" in preferences.

Everyone says, you have to load your media into Plex, and it's supposed to ask you, the first time you run it. Not happening. I remember it doing that a couple of years ago, when last I looked, but not now.

No, I'm not getting an account, I just need it to play what's on my hard drive, no internet streaming, no channels - just play what I have.

If it won't do that, then it's no alternative.

haresh.g
Jul 27, 2012, 10:46 PM
You have to install Plex Media server as well to enable Plex pickup your media folder. Believe me. This app is worth using. It even collects and stores media information for all your artistes and Movies.

bmab
Jul 27, 2012, 11:17 PM
I need to know from all you guys - I have the apple remote, and use it a lot in FR - haven't upgraded to MountLion yet and won't till I find a FrontRow alternative that works really well with the remote.
Which one do you use??
In iTunes(ML) the only thing you can do with the remote is skip the song, pause, etc you can not choose a song like you did on FR right??
I've tried plex and others long ago I don't remember now but I think they all suck, I really loved FR!!

albusseverus
Jul 27, 2012, 11:25 PM
You have to install Plex Media server as well to enable Plex pickup your media folder. Believe me. This app is worth using. It even collects and stores media information for all your artistes and Movies.

Many thanks.

Now I need a Media Server too. I'm excited.
Starting to make iTunes look pretty sleek, this Plex.

Do appreciate the help, despite my sarcasm. I just don't like to install crap all over my system unless Apple makes me.

(Ask me how drag'n'drop is disappearing from Mountain Lion if you really want to get me started. I was worried when iOS didn't have drag'n'drop, even Newton had drag'n'drop, it's like Steve saying 'people don't want key short cuts, they want to use the mouse and menus'. I got the feeling Steve never 'got' drag'n'drop and wanted copy'n'paste. He didn't want multitasking in iOS and I'd be surprised if that isn't the way OS X goes, pretty soon. It's too complicated to show an 80 year old…) arrgh.

Thanks for the Plex help. Sadly, not interested in metadata for movies. Commercial stuff that will have metadata, I just buy the disc. Computers are for other stuff. My library is just too big.

I just want to get to my media from a remote control.

----------

I need to know from all you guys - I have the apple remote, and use it a lot in FR - haven't upgraded to MountLion yet and won't till I find a FrontRow alternative that works really well with the remote.
Which one do you use??
In iTunes(ML) the only thing you can do with the remote is skip the song, pause, etc you can not choose a song like you did on FR right??
I've tried plex and others long ago I don't remember now but I think they all suck, I really loved FR!!

I'm really hoping someone gets Front Row working, soon.

First time I used Plex it couldn't even get aspect ratios correct. It didn't give me a solid feel at all - as if it didn't want to use all the stuff Apple provides under the hood. Whereas iTunes and Front Row were just skins for QuickTime (Front Row used QuickLook). Very minimal, and closer to the er… OS metal.

Machalo
Jul 31, 2012, 07:13 AM
Front Row is the easiest and most convienent way to view all your movies, it works well with the remote, apple TV and the user. Who ever finds a way to get it back on the iMac 27" with retina display, gets a kiss from me;)

yarivn
Jul 31, 2012, 04:04 PM
ok. so after upgrading to 10.8 i still had few "front row.app" icons scattered around the machine. some of the looked as normal (the red sofa) and one of the looked "broken" (like this: http://d.pr/i/ofnj) the normal icons did absolutely nothing (i opened activity monitor to chaco that) but the "broken" one did started an action (again, on activity monitor) here comes the tricky part: once i saw "front row" in the activity monitor all i had to do is just hit escape once!
i have tried it several times and it worked each and every time!

if you don't have this icon on your mac you can download it from here: http://d.pr/f/tudr

good luck, let me know if it worked for you

qCzar
Jul 31, 2012, 07:17 PM
Who ever finds a way to get it back on the iMac 27" with retina display, gets a kiss from me;)

Where'd you get it? I want one :|

ijohn.8.80
Jul 31, 2012, 07:35 PM
Just use "Movist"

Apart from having to click an icon to start it, it's almost identical to Front Row in navigation and usage.

I use it every day to watch Movies, Documentaries, DVD Tutorials, etc... I don't use it for Music, I have that disabled, so can't comment on that aspect of it.

Flex was a pain in the @$s when it came to recognising DVD Tutorials, where you have a heap of folders with a few individual lessons in them, it kept identifying them as obscure movies and such forth. I got rid of it almost as soon as I got it. If I was only watching single file Movies and single file type Documentaries, I would have stuck with it though.

n.dwatson1
Aug 5, 2012, 07:45 PM
Well yarivn, I tried your work around, but must be doing something wrong... Tried to open Front Row.app from the download you linked to but it just doesn't appear in the Activity Monitor.
Have tried it looking in all tabbed sections (i.e. CPU, System Memory, Disk Activity, Disk Usage, Network) but, apart from trying to see through the constantly changing lists of activity, Front Row simply isn't showing up for me to then 'escape'.

Any suggestions as to what I'm doing wrong?
Am gutted that Front Row is disabled in MLion... am considering regressing to Snow Leopard, but seems such a waste!

yarivn
Aug 6, 2012, 02:58 AM
Well yarivn, I tried your work around, but must be doing something wrong... Tried to open Front Row.app from the download you linked to but it just doesn't appear in the Activity Monitor.
Have tried it looking in all tabbed sections (i.e. CPU, System Memory, Disk Activity, Disk Usage, Network) but, apart from trying to see through the constantly changing lists of activity, Front Row simply isn't showing up for me to then 'escape'.

Any suggestions as to what I'm doing wrong?
Am gutted that Front Row is disabled in MLion... am considering regressing to Snow Leopard, but seems such a waste!

what i know is that i'm not the only one that it worked for, i have seen it in few other forums that people got front row to work using this method, but i cant say for sure why this works for some and doesn't fot others.

jamalnet
Aug 20, 2012, 07:19 PM
what i know is that i'm not the only one that it worked for, i have seen it in few other forums that people got front row to work using this method, but i cant say for sure why this works for some and doesn't fot others.

Dear Yarivn,

I have registered just to say thank you, it worked as a treat, I was looking for a fix since upgrading to ML.

For people that it didnt't work for you, you may need to install front row enabler first, you can download it here:

http://www.mac-hatter.com/blog/frontrowenablerforlion

As I got it already enabled and working in Lion.

Again thank you

Jim

Gemini UK
Aug 28, 2012, 07:02 AM
if you don't have this icon on your mac you can download it from here: http://d.pr/f/tudr

good luck, let me know if it worked for you

Many Thanks yarivn, at first I was trying your remedy from my existing Front Row icon, it didn't occur to me to download the one you posted. Once I did I dragged it in to Applications and then tried and it worked!

brotherseven
Sep 25, 2012, 11:11 AM
ok. so after upgrading to 10.8 i still had few "front row.app" icons scattered around the machine. some of the looked as normal (the red sofa) and one of the looked "broken" (like this: http://d.pr/i/ofnj) the normal icons did absolutely nothing (i opened activity monitor to chaco that) but the "broken" one did started an action (again, on activity monitor) here comes the tricky part: once i saw "front row" in the activity monitor all i had to do is just hit escape once!
i have tried it several times and it worked each and every time!

if you don't have this icon on your mac you can download it from here: http://d.pr/f/tudr

good luck, let me know if it worked for you


Thanks Yarivn, it runs however my remote cannot control it but keyboard did.

I've just see into the content of the app, it seems you have upgraded several version of MacOS since 2008 or 2009; the version of the app (broken icon) you sent out is an old version which build in 2008/2009. I think there should be some experts can do the trick to 'upgrade' it to use in ML.

regards
Richard

albusseverus
Sep 25, 2012, 11:48 AM
Many thanks for posting that solution, Yarvin.

I had previously installed FrontRow Enabler, and all I had to do was double-click that file, press Esc, and it opened!!

I'd love it if the remote could work with it, too, but something's happened to the remote since Mountain Lion, too. iTunes ignores it completely, now - for example.

There was a terminal command for Eye TV that helped Apple Remote, not only with Eye TV, but Front Row, as well. I haven't run that command for a few OS X updates, because Eye TV works with Apple Remote, without it.

Command was…

defaults write com.elgato.eyetv "apple remote menu button behavior" -int 1

Anyone want to hazzard a guess as to how to get Apple Remote working for Yarvin's Front Row app?

spda242
Sep 26, 2012, 08:08 AM
I have since long way back, replaced Frontrow with Plex for my Movie/TV-series needs.

Due to Plex Media Server Madness (0.9+?) where they want the user to manage movies instead of watching them I have stayed with Plex 0.8 which doesn't need a Media Server.

I do use a SL Mac mini so I am not sure if Plex 0.8 would work on Mnt. Lion?

That might be worth a try if you want something easy which works?

If Plex 0.8 would stop working I would probably go XBMC instead but I really like Plex 0.8 small, lean and fast :)

theSeb
Sep 26, 2012, 08:28 AM
I have since long way back, replaced Frontrow with Plex for my Movie/TV-series needs.

Due to Plex Media Server Madness (0.9+?) where they want the user to manage movies instead of watching them I have stayed with Plex 0.8 which doesn't need a Media Server.

I do use a SL Mac mini so I am not sure if Plex 0.8 would work on Mnt. Lion?

That might be worth a try if you want something easy which works?

If Plex 0.8 would stop working I would probably go XBMC instead but I really like Plex 0.8 small, lean and fast :)

I like XBMC, but they really need to fix whatever is hogging the CPU. If you are just sitting in the menus and not doing anything it hogs the CPU and makes the fans spin up. Maybe it's just me, but I have this problem on all my Macs.

hexonxonx
Sep 30, 2012, 10:26 PM
I am now installing Snow Leopard once again on my black MB just for Front Row. I simply use this computer as my media center with an external monitor. That's it's main purpose these days.

I was using Remote on my iPhone to start shows and movies but it was always so much easier with Front Row.

I used an extra drive and installed it in my MB. Since it's so easy to swap drives, I can always go back and install my Lion drive in the future.

spda242
Oct 1, 2012, 01:01 PM
I like XBMC, but they really need to fix whatever is hogging the CPU. If you are just sitting in the menus and not doing anything it hogs the CPU and makes the fans spin up. Maybe it's just me, but I have this problem on all my Macs.

Strange, I haven't noticed that. Did watch a complete movie 720p this weekend with XBMC 11 (Eden). I didn't notice any fans going wild. I have a 2009 Mac mini as Media Center and that seem to be much cooler than the 2011 offering I use as my desktop mini.

The-Pro
Oct 10, 2012, 02:34 PM
Yarvin, it works like a charm. I use front row mainly for trailers :D

Why are the names of the menu things weird?

patpres
Dec 28, 2012, 11:53 PM
Hard to believe, but yes, I did the download of the obscure icon and pressed escape after launching it - and lo and behold - up it came. It doesn't find my music and movies I suppose because my iTunes library is kept on an external drive, but the movie trailers and iTunes store stuff is all there. I can also navigate to my movies by having a link to my library in the Mac Movies folder. All is good. Thanks so much for this quirky solution.

ok. so after upgrading to 10.8 i still had few "front row.app" icons scattered around the machine. some of the looked as normal (the red sofa) and one of the looked "broken" (like this: http://d.pr/i/ofnj) the normal icons did absolutely nothing (i opened activity monitor to chaco that) but the "broken" one did started an action (again, on activity monitor) here comes the tricky part: once i saw "front row" in the activity monitor all i had to do is just hit escape once!
i have tried it several times and it worked each and every time!

if you don't have this icon on your mac you can download it from here: http://d.pr/f/tudr

good luck, let me know if it worked for you

iamJay
Dec 29, 2012, 12:10 AM
Doesn't work for me.:(

Any idea?

PurrBall
Dec 29, 2012, 12:16 AM
Hah, works like a charm. Thanks!

kidologist
Feb 13, 2013, 03:49 PM
Dear Yarivn,

I have registered just to say thank you, it worked as a treat, I was looking for a fix since upgrading to ML.

For people that it didnt't work for you, you may need to install front row enabler first, you can download it here:

http://www.mac-hatter.com/blog/frontrowenablerforlion

As I got it already enabled and working in Lion.

Again thank you

Jim

This worked in Lion, but no longer works for Mountain Lion, and I'd love to have Front Row working again... seems this thread is mixing Lion and Mountain Lion responses. Has anyone gotten Front Row to work again in MOUNTAIN Lion, because the fix linked above does not seem to work any more, when you click on Front Row now, nothing happens. :(

PeterHolbrook
Feb 13, 2013, 04:01 PM
This worked in Lion, but no longer works for Mountain Lion, and I'd love to have Front Row working again... seems this thread is mixing Lion and Mountain Lion responses. Has anyone gotten Front Row to work again in MOUNTAIN Lion, because the fix linked above does not seem to work any more, when you click on Front Row now, nothing happens. :(

You may have failed to follow instructions. It's not the Front Row application "armchair" icon the one you're supposed to double-click in Mountain Lion, but rather the Front Row "generic" application icon in /System/Library/CoreServices/Front Row.app. If you do that, and then press Esc, lo and behold, Front Row will start and it will play movie trailers. As for your iTunes content, it won't find it natively, at least not if your iTunes Library version is later than 10.3.1, but it will sort of find it, without any nice graphic displays, if you share your content across your local network.

gigas65
May 10, 2013, 01:29 AM
but rather the Front Row "generic" application icon in /System/Library/CoreServices/Front Row.app. If you do that, and then press Esc, lo and behold, Front Row will start and it will play movie trailers.
Well, it actually works under 10.8.3 and when getting into movie trailers menu, it shows the front pages of the movies, but when i click to see the trailer, it just spins showing the duration of the trailer without starting to play. By the way, iTunes trailers play fine. Any help, please?:confused:

PeterHolbrook
May 10, 2013, 06:53 AM
Well, it actually works under 10.8.3 and when getting into movie trailers menu, it shows the front pages of the movies, but when i click to see the trailer, it just spins showing the duration of the trailer without starting to play. By the way, iTunes trailers play fine. Any help, please?:confused:

In my experience, what you describe happens with certain trailers, but not all. I haven't had the time to figure out when that happens. My hunch is that it might be related to the age rating of the movie itself. If so, the problem might be solved by assigning the relevant parental ratings to the "Front Row" launch script. Any other insight would be greatly appreciated. Let's see if we can figure this out.

Che Castro
May 11, 2013, 01:44 AM
I wish there was an applet tv OS we could install on our macs legally or illegally I don't mind