PDA

View Full Version : Ad hoc network




ramz003
Feb 21, 2012, 11:47 AM
In ML anyone know how to create a ad hoc network?? I couldnt find it.

Thanks



fskaffe
Mar 15, 2012, 05:05 AM
In ML anyone know how to create a ad hoc network?? I couldnt find it.

Thanks
Would like to know this too

Argelius
Mar 27, 2012, 06:13 AM
Me, too.

jackhdev
Mar 27, 2012, 07:39 AM
Really? It's been changed? Normally you go to Wi-fi and "Create Network..." Wow, if this was taken out, that will be unbelievable and beyond annoying.

Argelius
Mar 27, 2012, 07:46 AM
Really? It's been changed? Normally you go to Wi-fi and "Create Network..." Wow, if this was taken out, that will be unbelievable and beyond annoying.

Yep. That's pretty much the way it is. I have posted in the Apple Seed forums to see if there is a new way to do this.

ramz003
Mar 27, 2012, 07:55 AM
Thanks! I thought I was one only that didnt know this...
I cant use quasidisk any more :(

jackhdev
Mar 27, 2012, 10:01 AM
Yep. That's pretty much the way it is. I have posted in the Apple Seed forums to see if there is a new way to do this.

I love Apple technology, but WHY are they crippling their computers to this point? There's no reason for it!

blow45
Apr 6, 2012, 07:30 PM
I can't believe they would take this feature out... It's unbelievable how they are crippling their os as the previous user said... What is the os x team smoking these days...

Anthony La
Apr 10, 2012, 08:23 AM
Tried going into the Sharing system preference panel and turning Internet Sharing on?

Malawe
May 9, 2012, 07:58 AM
Any news?
Is there a third-party software doing the same?

Embio
May 9, 2012, 08:38 AM
Sharing -> Internet Sharing -> Wifi Options

calm down everyone...

fullenso
May 9, 2012, 06:47 PM
Sharing -> Internet Sharing -> Wifi Options

calm down everyone...

I'm assuming you don't know what an ad hoc network is then.

Embio
May 10, 2012, 04:02 AM
why not? because you and you alone know these things?

this gives you an ad-hoc network. if you don't have an internet connection then it still provides a network.

It is a bit daft of Apple to over-simplify in this way but we're not at release yet.

talmy
May 10, 2012, 09:53 AM
No ad-hoc network. It's gone. Internet sharing is there, but that requires an existing network connection.

I think from Apple's viewpoint they feel ad-hoc network is replaced by AirDrop, but of course that only works for Apple products, and recent ones at that!

Embio
May 10, 2012, 10:11 AM
internet sharing, despite the name, doesn't require a working internet connection

talmy
May 10, 2012, 10:26 AM
internet sharing, despite the name, doesn't require a working internet connection

But it does require a working LAN, at least. You must associate the adapter for sharing with an adapter on a functioning network. The ad hoc network feature did not require an existing network, so could be used between a Mac and a PC over Wifi in the wilderness. Closest to this now is AirDrop between two Macs in the wilderness.

Embio
May 10, 2012, 10:29 AM
I unplugged my ethernet and turned it off, then went into wifi options, created a network, then configured internet sharing

talmy
May 10, 2012, 10:43 AM
I unplugged my ethernet and turned it off, then went into wifi options, created a network, then configured internet sharing

The "Create Network" choice doesn't exist in Mountain Lion, at least not in the same location as it appears in Lion. If you've found it, exactly where is it?

Embio
May 10, 2012, 10:47 AM
as I said above

sharing -> internet sharing

Share Connection from: Ethernet (or any other)

To computers using: Wifi

click Wi-Fi Options


This does not require a working internet connection though.

talmy
May 10, 2012, 11:03 AM
Aha! Thanks. They must have implemented that with Preview 3. Previously I couldn't select "Share your connection from" if there wasn't a connection.

Embio
May 10, 2012, 01:23 PM
I think it might be the update to DP3... but yeah.

it's a mess. I think we'll see 'create network' coming under the the menu bar with option held down. If you go in there now theres some nice diagnostics and monitoring stuff to play with that I've not seen before and isn't in 10.7.4 :-)

Eric Marshall
May 19, 2012, 08:47 AM
When I click "Wi-Fi Options..." button, the title says to *Configure* an internet-sharing network, not to create one, like it does for Lion's "Create Network..." menu item. I then click the "OK" button, but no new Wi-Fi network appears. Clicking the "Internet Sharing" checkbox doesn't seem to help. What am I missing?

Thanks in advance.

AppleFreakazoid
Aug 6, 2012, 01:54 PM
Tried going into the Sharing system preference panel and turning Internet Sharing on?

I actually use this while on the road with a USB modem for the iDevices in the car. It really comes in handy. :)

zarajoe
Dec 10, 2012, 06:51 AM
Had to join the forum just to reply to this.
The feature is still in Mountain Lion it has just been moved. Its now in the menubar.

talmy
Dec 10, 2012, 11:34 AM
Had to join the forum just to reply to this.
The feature is still in Mountain Lion it has just been moved. Its now in the menubar.

Nobody was saying it wasn't in the release, just that it was missing in the early previews.