PDA

View Full Version : How to reset time machine?




dacoolest
Feb 24, 2012, 02:50 PM
I have set up time machine with one of my external HDD partition. But at the moment I have to change it to a different partition and start using again with new backups. Can someone please explain me how to get it reset?

Has anyone used D-link router's "USB storage" feature with a mac?

Thanks.



iRooney
Feb 24, 2012, 02:57 PM
The only router with USB luck i've had with time machine has been with the airport extreme, unless you can find a router that supports hfs file systems on USB drives.

Bear
Feb 24, 2012, 08:35 PM
I have set up time machine with one of my external HDD partition. But at the moment I have to change it to a different partition and start using again with new backups. Can someone please explain me how to get it reset?
...Go in to Time Machine preferences and hit "Select Disk...". Rather simple to do.

dacoolest
Feb 25, 2012, 11:07 AM
The only router with USB luck i've had with time machine has been with the airport extreme, unless you can find a router that supports hfs file systems on USB drives.

Go in to Time Machine preferences and hit "Select Disk...". Rather simple to do.

Thanks for the reply.

dacoolest
Feb 27, 2012, 04:38 AM
Hey
Follow following steps to reset time machine:
Go to System Preferences > time machine > change disk > On the screen that appears, choose "None" as an option and click on "Stop Backing Up"

Next, you need to delete 2 files. The first is found at the location Macintosh HD > Users > User Name > Library > Preferences > ByHost > "apple.com.TimeMachine.xxx.plist" (where "xxx" could be any number of characters)"(delete this file)

The second file is located at Macintosh HD > Library > Preferences > "com.apple.TimeMachine.plist"(delete this file)

Now, Reboot your Mac
Once your Mac reboots, go to the Time Machine preferences again and click on "Choose Backup Disk"..
Choose the disk that you want to use and click "use for backup".

Thanks. that worked. Although I couldn't find one of those files.

camner
Apr 1, 2013, 03:25 PM
Another approach that worked for me recently when for some strange reason Time Machine had lost track of the backup disk (and hence I lost the exclusion list, too) was to go to a recent clone backup I had and copy the com.apple.TimeMachine.plist file from the backup to /Library/Preferences