PDA

View Full Version : Using Siri in your app?




HannKett
Mar 2, 2012, 07:37 AM
Hello,

I just checked the developer site at apple, and could not find any useful information if it is possible to use Siri in our apps?

Is there a API out? can I use it in my app?

Anyone have experience trying this or has succeeded implementing it?

would be cool to hear your stories around this :)



dejo
Mar 2, 2012, 08:34 AM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

Sorry, SIRI has no API (yet). Thus, no stories.

thewitt
Mar 2, 2012, 09:37 AM
Not yet. When Siri comes out of beta we expect the API to be made available.

ArtOfWarfare
Mar 2, 2012, 10:52 AM
The best you're going to get right now is the mic key on the keyboard.

Edit: So, for example, I advertise one of my apps as allowing "voice search". It's really the same as the old text search... I didn't change a thing, I just pointed out to users that they could use their voice rather than type for their search if they so desired.

You could maybe go a bit further and try to make sense of what the mic key has transcribed in the text field...

HannKett
Mar 2, 2012, 12:04 PM
That is what I was afraid to hear :)
Will be cool when we can use it (soon enough I hope).

Thanks guys