PDA

View Full Version : Marine Aquarium


Durandal7
Oct 24, 2002, 07:58 PM
This may be one of he coolest screensavers out there.
http://www.serenescreen.com/
It is available for both OS 9 and X.

RBMaraman
Oct 24, 2002, 08:08 PM
I had it, but once I installed Jaguar, it stopped functioning :(. Have they added a new Jaguar compatible version?

Durandal7
Oct 24, 2002, 08:17 PM
They must. I'm not running it on Jaguar but in the CompUSA I was at today all the Powermacs are running it.

RBMaraman
Oct 24, 2002, 09:05 PM
Great. I really missed having this screen saver. It's probably the coolest one out there.

JonD
Oct 24, 2002, 09:07 PM
I had it installed in 10.1, and after moving to 10.2, it continued to function normally (and does to this day). Maybe try going to versiontracker and downloading the latest version?

RBMaraman
Oct 24, 2002, 09:38 PM
I just tried the version of Serene Scene's site and one I found on VersionTracker, both didn't work for me in Jaguar. I double click the application to open it and nothing happens. When I try to select the screen saver, nothing happens. Oh well, maybe it'll be fixed in a later version.

puffmarvin
Oct 24, 2002, 10:28 PM
works fine here too....

do you have a legal serial number?
::also::
make sure you are getting a "complete" download.

AND one more thing... has anyone read this months mac(addict) ... theres a little hack in there to make the screen saver into your desktop background WITHOUT taking up too much of the CPU(s). im pretty sure its macaddict but it may be macworld. looks pretty neat with the aquarium. its amusing to watch people try to "exit" the screensaver when its actually just the background!!

gandalf55
Oct 24, 2002, 10:44 PM
i have the demo of it - works great in jaguar. i turned some settings down in the saver config panel - helped a lot and it doesn't look much different.

but its expensive wouldn't you say?

teabgs
Oct 25, 2002, 08:04 AM
Originally posted by puffmarvin
works fine here too....

do you have a legal serial number?
::also::
make sure you are getting a "complete" download.

AND one more thing... has anyone read this months mac(addict) ... theres a little hack in there to make the screen saver into your desktop background WITHOUT taking up too much of the CPU(s). im pretty sure its macaddict but it may be macworld. looks pretty neat with the aquarium. its amusing to watch people try to "exit" the screensaver when its actually just the background!!


would you mind posting that for those of us who dont have subscriptions? :D

wdlove
Oct 25, 2002, 03:29 PM
Thank you, had thought is was for Mac OS X only! :)

jaredcash
Oct 25, 2002, 03:30 PM
Originally posted by RBMaraman
I just tried the version of Serene Scene's site and one I found on VersionTracker, both didn't work for me in Jaguar. I double click the application to open it and nothing happens. When I try to select the screen saver, nothing happens. Oh well, maybe it'll be fixed in a later version.

Instead of running the application, try copying the file "Marine Aquarium.saver" to /Library/Screen Savers/ and running it from the "Screen Effects" panel of the System Preferences. If it still crashes, then there is a conflict on your machine, but what is most likely is that the application itself is less stable than the screen saver.

jaredcash
Oct 25, 2002, 03:36 PM
Originally posted by teabgs



would you mind posting that for those of us who dont have subscriptions? :D

There are several applications/Preference Panes which can do it at VersionTracker, though I don't know how well they work. The easiest way to do it is to use the command line:

/System/Library/Frameworks/ScreenSaver.framework/Resources/ScreenSaverEngine.app/Contents/MacOS/ScreenSaverEngine -background -module n

where 'n' is the Screen Saver module you'd like to use, in this case, Marine Aquarium. If you leave off the module altogether, it will automatically choose the one you have selected in Screen Effects. Kinda neat if you have chosen Random.

If you add '&' to the end of the command, it will put the process in the background. Otherwise, you'll be forced to keep the terminal window open while it runs. If you don't mind keeping the terminal window open, press Control-C to quit the screen saver as your desktop. Otherwise, you'll have to kill it using the ps and kill commands or using Process Viewer.

Jared

RBMaraman
Oct 25, 2002, 04:03 PM
Originally posted by jaredcash


Instead of running the application, try copying the file "Marine Aquarium.saver" to /Library/Screen Savers/ and running it from the "Screen Effects" panel of the System Preferences. If it still crashes, then there is a conflict on your machine, but what is most likely is that the application itself is less stable than the screen saver.

Tried it, and it crashed. I'd agree that there is some sort of conflict with the app and my system. Maybe the next release will be more compatible.

puffmarvin
Oct 25, 2002, 07:57 PM
Originally posted by teabgs



would you mind posting that for those of us who dont have subscriptions? :D

heres the trick (from macworld):
Open terminal and type nice +20 /System/Library/Frameworks/ScreenSaver.framework/Resources/ScreenSaverEngine.app/Contents/MacOS/ScreenSaverEngine -background &.
Hit enter to make it your background. Then terminal will give you a number, following [1]. Thats the number of this new process. To turn off the new effect you can just type in "kill #" where the # is the # of the process just given to you. The nice +20 in the command tells you to give attention to other processes when necessary thereby not bogging down your computer.

as for thinking its expensive... how often does everyone REALLY buy legit software. paying $22 for something you will actually use often and is quite enjoyable to watch, i think its worth it. now over $400 for office, thats another story :p

teabgs
Oct 25, 2002, 11:08 PM
Originally posted by puffmarvin


heres the trick (from macworld):
Open terminal and type nice +20 /System/Library/Frameworks/ScreenSaver.framework/Resources/ScreenSaverEngine.app/Contents/MacOS/ScreenSaverEngine -background &.
Hit enter to make it your background. Then terminal will give you a number, following [1]. Thats the number of this new process. To turn off the new effect you can just type in "kill #" where the # is the # of the process just given to you. The nice +20 in the command tells you to give attention to other processes when necessary thereby not bogging down your computer.



Ok, thats really cool!

Can I quit the terminal? or does that screw it up? I have it hidden now...man, unix is cool....I really gotta learn that stuff

Durandal7
Oct 26, 2002, 12:20 AM
You should be able to quit the terminal, it works on my computer.

The nice +20 forces it to play nicely with others :D

springscansing
Oct 26, 2002, 04:52 AM
Just for the record, it works fine for me under OS 10.2.1 on a DP G4/450, with some serial number that fell from the sky.

I already deleted it though. That damn starfish drove me nuts! lol

Flurry is better. :-P

Actually.. I'm back to OS 9 only for audio work anyway. *sobs* Damn Reaktor for being so cool.

Also, I wouldn't advice running the fishies on the desktop. It was horribly slow on my computer. I did it via an app though, not the terminal with low priority assigned to it.

- Springs

Durandal7
Oct 26, 2002, 03:14 PM
Originally posted by springscansing

I already deleted it though. That damn starfish drove me nuts! lol

Just so you know, there is an option to disable the starfish.

teabgs
Oct 26, 2002, 03:48 PM
Dont know why. but when I had it working my computer would not read dvd's. I killed it and they work fine...as long as the DVD is in before satrting the screensaver as the desktop the DVD works.....weird

globalwidget
Oct 27, 2002, 11:07 AM
I love this little trick, but does anyone out there know how to get a Screen Effect screen saver to work on both of your monitors if you've got an extra one hooked up?

Heck, I'd settle for just getting the screen savers to be on my main 19" instead of the Powerbook display that it always uses.

Kid Red
Oct 28, 2002, 12:16 PM
I've had it since it came out, no issues while running Jag either. I paid so I could have all the fish, love to see my PC user friends' faces when they see it on my CD.

edesignuk
Oct 28, 2002, 12:22 PM
Does anyone know if it runs over dual screens? (not on a TiBook like globalwidget, on a GF4MX in DP1Ghz)

mc68k
Oct 29, 2002, 12:50 PM
This is the most realistic screen saver out there. I run it on my 9600 w/Radeon PCI.

I use it with the Desk Effects (http://www.versiontracker.com/moreinfo.fcgi?id=16091&db=mac) app, which acts as a GUI front-end to the terminal commands.

It'll let you run the selected screen saver at startup, renice the priority, and select fore/background.

>Just so you know, there is an option to disable the starfish.

Looking at the screensaver, the option is just to disable it climbing on the glass. Or am I missing something?

orangedv
Oct 29, 2002, 02:58 PM
Well, on the plus side, as an ex C64 pro, its just great to see Sachs back in the saddle; go Jim!

On the minus side, this is very buggy for something with a price tag.......

I would take the shoulder shrug argument about iMac DV's, if it were freeware, but for $21.95, I expect more.

Quake 3 runs just fine on my imac dv in 24 bit colour. What excuse as half a dozen fish flapping about got to offer?

Durandal7
Oct 30, 2002, 10:57 PM
Originally posted by mc68k

>Just so you know, there is an option to disable the starfish.

Looking at the screensaver, the option is just to disable it climbing on the glass. Or am I missing something?
Ah, never mind.

MacBandit
Oct 31, 2002, 01:25 AM
Why does anyone want to run a screen saver? While it's running your computer is still sucking power at full force. No wonder California had an energy crisis besides the general poor management of it all there was all these people running there computer 24/7 oooing an aaaaing at there pretty screen saver.

Aeolius
Oct 31, 2002, 11:19 AM
Originally posted by orangedv
...for $21.95, I expect more.

Granted, it's much cheaper than setting up your own saltwater reef aquarium, which would run about $30-$40 a gallon :D

ddtlm
Nov 1, 2002, 12:10 PM
MacBandit:

While it's running your computer is still sucking power at full force. No wonder California had an energy crisis...
:) Screensavers make me feel guilty cause they waste cycles that folding@home deserves.

evilpenguin21
Nov 1, 2002, 02:45 PM
Well, I did the background trick and it was really neat... now I kinda want my old background back :). I killed the process and the background went to black. I can't make it put a picture up anymore. Anyone know how to fix this one?

User X
Nov 2, 2002, 07:56 AM
Any one else notice a studder in the movement of the fish when running as a screensaver. I did not notice this on the demo. It takes away from the apeal of the program if it is not seemless. I am running it on a 867 with geforce 3. What gives? Is there a way to fix it?

MacBandit
Nov 10, 2002, 06:25 PM
I'm wanting to run a screensaver as my desktop. I know how to do this but it seems to eat up cpu cycles even when the desktop is hidden. How do I change the cpu priority to make it use as little processing time as possible when in the background/hidden?

edesignuk
Nov 10, 2002, 06:52 PM
Originally posted by MacBandit
I'm wanting to run a screensaver as my desktop. I know how to do this but it seems to eat up cpu cycles even when the desktop is hidden. How do I change the cpu priority to make it use as little processing time as possible when in the background/hidden?
Entering this into the terminal will make your selected screensaver run as your background:
/System/Library/Frameworks/ScreenSaver.framework/Resources/ScreenSaverEngine.app/Contents/MacOS/ScreenSaverEngine -background &
If you get Visage (http://versiontracker.com/moreinfo.fcgi?id=12745&db=mac) I seem to remember you can also activate it and deactivate it via a nice system prefs GUI.
Enjoy! :)

MacBandit
Nov 10, 2002, 06:59 PM
Originally posted by edesignuk

Entering this into the terminal will make your selected screensaver run as your background:
/System/Library/Frameworks/ScreenSaver.framework/Resources/ScreenSaverEngine.app/Contents/MacOS/ScreenSaverEngine -background &
If you get Visage (http://versiontracker.com/moreinfo.fcgi?id=12745&db=mac) I seem to remember you can also activate it and deactivate it via a nice system prefs GUI.
Enjoy! :)


Thanks though as I stated I already know how to make a screensaver the desktop. What I'm looking for is to change it's priority on the cpu so that when you are running a program that totally hides the desktop it will use as little cpu time as possible. Why have it eat up cpu cycles when you can't even see it?

I see that Visage (http://versiontracker.com/moreinfo.fcgi?id=12745&db=mac) offers the ability to change the cpu priority. I am really just wanting to know how to do this in the terminal. I don't like 3rd party system modifiers they have a tendency to make the system unstable.

edesignuk
Nov 10, 2002, 07:02 PM
Originally posted by MacBandit

Thanks though as I stated I already know how to make a screensaver the desktop. What I'm looking for is to change it's priority on the cpu so that when you are running a program that totally hides the desktop it will use as little cpu time as possible. Why have it eat up cpu cycles when you can't even see it?
Oooooops! Sorry, I miss read your post :rolleyes:
Anywho, I think if you use Visage as I suggested you can change CPU priority with a simple drop down menu in the same place as you activate/deactivate the screensaver background.

hehehe, I see you just edited your last post, which kinda make this one pointess....oh well :)

Durandal7
Nov 10, 2002, 07:07 PM
I think that if you add "nice +20" to the front of that command it will share CPU cycles.

MacBandit
Nov 10, 2002, 07:21 PM
Originally posted by Durandal7
I think that if you add "nice +20" to the front of that command it will share CPU cycles.

Great that is what I've been looking for.