PDA

View Full Version : Macbook air too slow on Preview.




orfeas0
Mar 10, 2012, 06:18 AM
So I have a 2011 macbook air base model (2gb ram, 1,6ghz i5, 64gb ssd).
It's blazing fast for everything and the only time it slows down is on Preview.

But it slows down a lot. Not only while editing photos but for example, I had 3 e-books in PDF format , which I opened from safari using "Open in preview" in order to download them permanently.
The saving is fast, but when I closed each of them , preview got stuck for like half a minute with a spinwheel.
Why does it take so long to just close a window?
My ram isn't even full (500mb left) and cpu is working at 16-25% speed.
So is it the GPU's fault?

Also, because of the low ram (2gb), intel's HD3000 only has 256mb memory, instead of the 384mb on the 4gb models. Is there a way to change that? Make it use more ram, since I don't need it anyway?



calvol
Mar 10, 2012, 12:17 PM
Yes, it's the weak HD3000 iGPU, which is relatively slow in rendering video. Sandy Bridge TurboBoost can't make up for that.

orfeas0
Mar 10, 2012, 12:35 PM
Yes, it's the weak HD3000 iGPU, which is relatively slow in rendering video. Sandy Bridge TurboBoost can't make up for that.

I guessed so... But is there a way to give the iGPU more available ram, or is it locked at 256mb?

orfeas0
Mar 11, 2012, 04:48 AM
I guessed so... But is there a way to give the iGPU more available ram, or is it locked at 256mb?

Sorry to bump this thread but I couldn't find anything by googling it.
Is there a way to give the iGPU more available ram than 256mb? Or is it locked in a certain memory depending on the available ram?

Stingray454
Mar 11, 2012, 05:15 AM
Yes, it's the weak HD3000 iGPU, which is relatively slow in rendering video. Sandy Bridge TurboBoost can't make up for that.

How on earth would a weak GPU make the Preview app do a 30 sec beachball when exiting the app? I can promise you that's not the cause.

Not sure what the problem is, but something is broken with Preview. I would try a reinstall of Lion, that would probably fix it.