PDA

View Full Version : How do I change the "Bounding Box" option after it's placed?




plem
Apr 18, 2012, 09:48 AM
In Indesign. Does anyone know how to clear the "Crop to" that was chosen in the "Import options" after the item is placed in the document?

Or, let's say I place an item and then I decide that I would like to crop it to the "Bleed box dimensions" instead of the "Trim dimensions" that I chose when it was imported. Is there any way to do this?



citizenzen
Apr 19, 2012, 02:50 AM
In Indesign. Does anyone know how to clear the "Crop to" that was chosen in the "Import options" after the item is placed in the document?

Or, let's say I place an item and then I decide that I would like to crop it to the "Bleed box dimensions" instead of the "Trim dimensions" that I chose when it was imported. Is there any way to do this?


I tried a little experiment in Indesign. The results showed that nothing could clear Crop to: options on an already placed object.

If anybody knows how, I'd love to hear the solution.

Apple Key
Apr 19, 2012, 08:38 AM
In Indesign. Does anyone know how to clear the "Crop to" that was chosen in the "Import options" after the item is placed in the document?

Or, let's say I place an item and then I decide that I would like to crop it to the "Bleed box dimensions" instead of the "Trim dimensions" that I chose when it was imported. Is there any way to do this?

Can you give a step by step to reproduce? What type of a placed item are we talking about here?

plem
Apr 19, 2012, 09:01 AM
Just a placed PDF file in Indesign. For example...While placing a PDF file in the "import options" and I choose the "Trim box" under the "Crop to:" option.
After it is placed in the doc I would now like to change that and open up to the "Bleed box".

Apple Key
Apr 19, 2012, 09:36 AM
Just a placed PDF file in Indesign. For example...While placing a PDF file in the "import options" and I choose the "Trim box" under the "Crop to:" option.
After it is placed in the doc I would now like to change that and open up to the "Bleed box".

Now I see what you're after. The only way that I saw is relinking the files, which is obviously a pain and pretty much the same as reimporting them.

Someone asked the same question on Adobe's forum, this might help:
http://forums.adobe.com/message/3691681

plem
Apr 19, 2012, 09:53 AM
Ahhhh... That does sounds like my problem. They seem a little more advanced than I am. What did they do create a script? I'm not sure how to go about that.
How can there be no way to change that option directly in Indesign without having to write a script for it?

Seems ridiculous that this is not a common issue. I've come across this many times before but have always just done a work-around to avoid the issue.

Somebody must know a better way. Replacing the item re-sizes the new item. There has to be a way to keep it from resizing while keeping it from shifting position?

Apple Key
Apr 19, 2012, 10:00 AM
Ahhhh... That does sounds like my problem. They seem a little more advanced than I am. What did they do create a script? I'm not sure how to go about that.
How can there be no way to change that option directly in Indesign without having to write a script for it?

Seems ridiculous that this is not a common issue. I've come across this many times before but have always just done a work-around to avoid the issue.

Somebody must know a better way. Replacing the item re-sizes the new item. There has to be a way to keep it from resizing while keeping it from shifting position?

I'm not that familiar with scripting in InDesign either. You can add a script to this path: HD > Applications > Adobe InDesign > Scripts > Scripts Panel. Try out the .jsx file I attached (not sure if it works or not - you may need to adjust the script slightly).

Yeah it is ridiculous. They really should have just included this as a default preference in InDesign.

Can't you just relink the file from the Links pane? Obviously that is a pain if you have many files, but it should keep the position.

citizenzen
Apr 19, 2012, 10:07 AM
How can there be no way to change that option directly in Indesign without having to write a script for it?

Just re-import those puppies.

How long can it take?

How many placed PDFs are you talking about?

plem
Apr 19, 2012, 10:09 AM
Relinking will re-size the item so that it will fit into the previous items box.

Apple Key
Apr 19, 2012, 10:12 AM
Okay, the script is working for me.


var doc = app.activeDocument;
var graphics = doc.allGraphics;
app.pdfPlacePreferences.pdfCrop = PDFCrop.cropTrim;
for (var i = 0; i < graphics.length; i++) {
image = graphics[i];
image.absoluteHorizontalScale = 100; // Horizontal Scale
image.absoluteVerticalScale = 100; // Vertical Scale
image.place(image.itemLink.filePath);

}


Just replace the third line with whichever one of these you need:

app.pdfPlacePreferences.pdfCrop = PDFCrop.cropMedia;
app.pdfPlacePreferences.pdfCrop = PDFCrop.cropBleed;
app.pdfPlacePreferences.pdfCrop = PDFCrop.cropTrim;

plem
Apr 19, 2012, 10:35 AM
Just re-import those puppies.

How long can it take?

It's not just the time but also the grief of having to go through the multiple steps for each item to be replaced....

Hey Apple Key. Thanks, nice try but no cigar. I just tried using the script. It is resizing the items. Same as if I were to just relink them.

----------

Okay, the script is working for me.

Try your script with a pdf that has different dimensions for each of the "Trim,Bleed,and Media" boxes

plem
Apr 19, 2012, 10:45 AM
nice try but no cigar.

oops. That sounded harsh.
Sorry bout that. I do appreciate the help.

Apple Key
Apr 19, 2012, 11:04 AM
oops. That sounded harsh.
Sorry bout that. I do appreciate the help.

:) No worries, I know what you meant.

I'm seeing the same thing as you, with the script resizing the items. Unfortunately I have no idea how to fix it. Sorry.

There must be a scripting expert out there who can solve this.

plem
Jul 18, 2013, 10:03 AM
This is definitely the same issue here, only now it is happening with a placed Illustrator file. I will try to explain further because I still need a fix. It is really annoying.

I have a customers file with placed .ai images. In Indesign I need to update the images and turn off a layer using Indesign's Object Layers option. When I do this the already placed images will shift according to the "Visible Layers" in the .ai file.

What I need is the placed images to NOT SHIFT while turning off the layers.

I have figured out that while placing an image when the "Place Image" popup window comes up and in the "General" tab where it has the "Options" to "crop to:" . I will only achieve what I need to do if I choose to place an image using the option of "(All Layers)" rather than choosing the "(Visible Layers Only)".

Now, is there a way to change to the "Crop to: (All Layers)" option on an already placed image?

plem
Jul 18, 2013, 01:19 PM
Awesome!
Found a free script over at Adobe.
Allows you to change from "(Visible Layers only)" to "(All Layers)".

https://www.adobe.com/cfusion/exchange/index.cfm?event=extensionDetail&extid=1046580