Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Solafaa

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
I will be moving into an apartment in London in a year or so and would like to know what i will need to be safe (from virues and people steeling my bandwidth). My friend would move in with me so i would be using a rotuer to connect 2 macs and 1 PeeCee, the macs are both laptops so i will connect them wirelessly and the PC desktop would be connected via ethernet. What will i needto be safe. Should i get a software or hardware firewall? how can i be safe from someone trying to steel my bandwidth?

I am not technical at all so i need help in this department.

Thank you.

EDITED: Do you know any fast ISPs in London with lots of bandwidth?

iSaint

macrumors 603
Setting up a secure wireless network should keep people out. To keep those who are already in, out (your roommates), don't share any of your folders, and activate the firewall(s) built into your compters. There should be plenty of help and options on the wireless setup to secure your systems.

OryHara

macrumors regular
Nov 22, 2004
San Bruno, CA
not to sound like a freeloading hippie but whats wrong with sharing your bandwidth, unless of course your downloading/uploading massive amounts of data

Applespider

macrumors G4
OryHara said:
not to sound like a freeloading hippie but whats wrong with sharing your bandwidth, unless of course your downloading/uploading massive amounts of data

Because many of the ISPs in the UK now have bandwidth limits. And because while I'd like to believe that other people would share my ethics in terms of not downloading illegal material, not trying to snoop into my files or not using my connection to be an anonymous internet user while spamming or planning nefarious activities, I've decided to be safe rather than sorry and closed my network.

pubwvj

macrumors 68000
Oct 1, 2004
Mountains of Vermont
Solafaa said: