PDA

View Full Version : Climbing up the rankings!




Falleron
Nov 9, 2002, 12:44 PM
Ok, this is tough going! I have been folding for some time now. However, on average, I am only making up 1 position per week in the macrumors group! Its only going to get tougher as well! Oh well, I will get up there soon. I need more computers to run Folding for me!



Rower_CPU
Nov 9, 2002, 01:38 PM
Having a lab or two of computers at your disposal certainly doesn't hurt mc68k and I. ;)

Speaking of rankings...we finally passed Team Raging Bull to take back 39th place. :D

Falleron
Nov 9, 2002, 01:41 PM
Thats good to hear! However, we still need more computers within the group if we want to gain many more places.

buffsldr
Nov 9, 2002, 02:15 PM
i have refocused my efforts on folding. i dont have a lot to contribute, but every bit counts, right? good work, falleron.

Rower_CPU
Nov 9, 2002, 02:48 PM
Well, we (mc68k and I) should be getting a new eMac lab soon, which will add just over 30 machines to our list. :D

bousozoku
Nov 9, 2002, 06:17 PM
Originally posted by Falleron
Ok, this is tough going! I have been folding for some time now. However, on average, I am only making up 1 position per week in the macrumors group! Its only going to get tougher as well! Oh well, I will get up there soon. I need more computers to run Folding for me!

I've noticed...congratulations! My G3 is afraid of being passed up soon. :)

More computers do help. I just noticed that we had 109 computers returning results. This is 10 more than I saw yesterday and almost 20 more than the beginning of the week.

Falleron
Nov 10, 2002, 05:16 AM
Originally posted by bousozoku


I've noticed...congratulations! My G3 is afraid of being passed up soon. :)

More computers do help. I just noticed that we had 109 computers returning results. This is 10 more than I saw yesterday and almost 20 more than the beginning of the week.
I think you are ok for some time! However, I have recently added a P4 to my account. I wish there was a program like Folding Control still available! I have a second processor not doing anything. It could be used some of the time (its needed other times). However, I know some people have produced scripts etc, but I dont want to mess around in the terminal much. Does anything exist? Folding Control was great + so easy.

medea
Nov 10, 2002, 05:13 PM
I keep folding running consistently, I just joined the team recently and I've made it to no.69 in the team so far. I'm not really in it to "compete" but it is an added incentive:D

MacBandit
Nov 10, 2002, 06:23 PM
Okay guys. If you want help you got it just tell me what I need to know.

I have a Dual/GHz/DDR should crank out the folding units quite nicely. What I need to know is how I can take advantage of the dual processors and how to install all the software to do it.

bousozoku
Nov 10, 2002, 07:48 PM
MacBandit:

That would be great. Currently, to use both processors, you need to use the command line version and the terminal. I have some scripts and I'm working on documenting the process for those who are Terminal-phobic. If you consider yourself to be okay with the Terminal, I can help you get started quickly.

Falleron:

Tiaguinho and I have been talking about doing something toward a folding control application. We cannot know how long this will take to achieve. I will be working on the back end and he will be working on the GUI part.

Still, if you want to run the other processor to complete one, it's easy enough to change a shell script to stop prior to downloading another work unit. Yes, it's not a beautiful way to do it, but it's efficient.

MacBandit
Nov 10, 2002, 07:57 PM
Originally posted by bousozoku
MacBandit:

That would be great. Currently, to use both processors, you need to use the command line version and the terminal. I have some scripts and I'm working on documenting the process for those who are Terminal-phobic. If you consider yourself to be okay with the Terminal, I can help you get started quickly.

Falleron:

Tiaguinho and I have been talking about doing something toward a folding control application. We cannot know how long this will take to achieve. I will be working on the back end and he will be working on the GUI part.

Still, if you want to run the other processor to complete one, it's easy enough to change a shell script to stop prior to downloading another work unit. Yes, it's not a beautiful way to do it, but it's efficient.


I wouldn't consider myself terminal phobic. I am more then willing to use it when I have clear cut instructions. I haven't really taken the time to get a book or research using the terminal, but I do want to know more about how to use it.

Rower_CPU
Nov 10, 2002, 08:06 PM
bousozoku-

I'm sure mc68k already told you this, but the command line version of 3.12 can run in multiple instances using the "-local" switch, regardless of what the documentation might say.

I have two instances running on my dual GHz at work, each using about 100% CPU when my machine is idling. :D

MacBandit
Nov 10, 2002, 08:39 PM
Originally posted by Rower_CPU
bousozoku-

I'm sure mc68k already told you this, but the command line version of 3.12 can run in multiple instances using the "-local" switch, regardless of what the documentation might say.

I have two instances running on my dual GHz at work, each using about 100% CPU when my machine is idling. :D

It would be great if you could work up some instructions on how to do this.

bousozoku
Nov 10, 2002, 09:07 PM
Originally posted by Rower_CPU
bousozoku-

I'm sure mc68k already told you this, but the command line version of 3.12 can run in multiple instances using the "-local" switch, regardless of what the documentation might say.

I have two instances running on my dual GHz at work, each using about 100% CPU when my machine is idling. :D

Yessir. I've been running it that way for about 8 weeks or so.

MacBandit: You'll have the instructions as soon as I can package them with the scripts.

Mr. Anderson
Nov 10, 2002, 09:16 PM
I've been neglecting Folding. For some reason something happened that caused the script to process unit 0 - and it sat there for weeks doing nothing before I realized that it had crashed, I guess.

Anyone else had this problem?

D

mc68k
Nov 10, 2002, 11:06 PM
Originally posted by MacBandit
I have a Dual/GHz/DDR should crank out the folding units quite nicely. What I need to know is how I can take advantage of the dual processors and how to install all the software to do it. Yes, that machine will serve you and our team nicely. Thanks for the interest. :)

My advice to you would be get folding on only one processor and wait for the people here to crank out something easy. If you really have the time and interest I or others here can personally get you going on DP. If you're not frenetic to have both going, just fold like it was a single processor computer for now. Every bit helps our team.

Do you need more info on how to start a client folding on your machine?

mc68k
Nov 10, 2002, 11:11 PM
Originally posted by dukestreet
Anyone else had this problem?I've had similar problems in the past where folding for all intents and purposes died on my machine. Just dump what you have and start over (that fixed it for me). Make sure you have the latest version also.

Default folding support files are located in ~/Library/Folding@home. Delete this folder to start anew.

mc68k
Nov 10, 2002, 11:17 PM
Originally posted by buffsldr
i have refocused my efforts on folding. i dont have a lot to contribute, but every bit counts, right? good work, falleron. i would like to personally thank you for getting me motivated to rigorously fold.

for those of you who don't know, when our team was in its infancy, buffsldr was the man to beat (no. 1) he still holds one of the top places among our team and is a great contributor.

kudos

Falleron
Nov 15, 2002, 03:17 PM
I am up to 50th. :-) Watch out people with scores in the 70's (there are quite a few that I have my sights on).

Over Achiever
Nov 15, 2002, 07:54 PM
Hah. I'm folding on a 200 MHz machine and my main 550 MHz laptop computer and I'm up to #56...look out MacAztec! :D

bousozoku
Nov 15, 2002, 09:40 PM
Originally posted by Falleron
I am up to 50th. :-) Watch out people with scores in the 70's (there are quite a few that I have my sights on).

Well, I'm barely safe but my G3 machine is slowly being devoured by faster machines already...even as its score approaches 100.

Over Achiever
Nov 22, 2002, 09:13 PM
Originally posted by Falleron
I am up to 50th. :-) Watch out people with scores in the 70's (there are quite a few that I have my sights on).

You know, you've been stuck at #50 for a while now...I'm nippin' at your heels at #51 ;) :D

Falleron
Nov 23, 2002, 05:32 AM
Originally posted by Over Achiever


You know, you've been stuck at #50 for a while now...I'm nippin' at your heels at #51 ;) :D
Hmmm, you must have a good machine :

51 Over_Achiever 60.54 17

Oh well, I guess I better use my second processor to stay ahead of you. At the moment I am only folding on 1 processor + for only about 4 hours a day. I guess that I will have to put my tower into gear! :-)

Over Achiever
Nov 23, 2002, 06:58 AM
Originally posted by Falleron

Hmmm, you must have a good machine :

51 Over_Achiever 60.54 17

Nope. See my post above somewhere...I'm folding on a 200 MHz Pentium MMX :D

Falleron
Nov 23, 2002, 09:27 AM
Originally posted by Over Achiever

Nope. See my post above somewhere...I'm folding on a 200 MHz Pentium MMX :D
Sorry, I must be blind! Thats a little worrying, I have a Dual 1Ghz (does not run folding too much though). I will have to run my machine a bit more in order to stay ahead of you. How many points do you do on average a week? I just noticed you are getting a 1Ghz Tibook! I think you may be passing me soon!

On a separate note, has anyone developed (or know of a program) like "Folding Control" for use on dual processor systems? I really want that sort of program, just dont want to mess around with the terminal.

bousozoku
Nov 23, 2002, 06:00 PM
Originally posted by Falleron

...

On a separate note, has anyone developed (or know of a program) like "Folding Control" for use on dual processor systems? I really want that sort of program, just dont want to mess around with the terminal.

Tiaguinho and I have been talking about doing one. I've been using the terminal and I had started work on a progress monitoring application prior to talking to him. There is research that needs to be done. I've never even seen the control application, for instance.

Btw, I topped 100 with the G3/400 and 300 with the dual G4/800 this week. :)

mc68k
Nov 23, 2002, 08:26 PM
good news on our end, the new eMacs arrived last week. come winter break, we'll have that lab up and folding.

my only problem is getting CLI folding to automatically run at startup. i'm not exactly sure how do do this.

any ideas?

btw i'm extermely happy with out output lately. it's the best it has ever been.

bousozoku
Nov 23, 2002, 10:22 PM
Originally posted by mc68k
good news on our end, the new eMacs arrived last week. come winter break, we'll have that lab up and folding.

my only problem is getting CLI folding to automatically run at startup. i'm not exactly sure how do do this.

any ideas?

btw i'm extermely happy with out output lately. it's the best it has ever been.

Submitting the command line business from a program which could be run as a startup application is not a problem. Shutting it down gracefully is the problem. Of course, you send 'control-c' to the folding@home client, but I think there's much more to it and I don't feel like experimenting right now on my folding data.

Rower_CPU
Nov 23, 2002, 10:26 PM
It's a good thing they won't have to shut down often. We can keep them running 24/7...

What will be interesting is if we try NetBooting them. ;)

medea
Nov 25, 2002, 10:33 PM
looks like we are in a flux between 39 and 40.....but I have moved up from 69 to 60..... :)

Falleron
Nov 26, 2002, 02:57 AM
That eMac lab is really going to help. Its the only way we are going to get much higher in the rankings.

Falleron
Nov 26, 2002, 03:05 AM
Originally posted by Over Achiever


You know, you've been stuck at #50 for a while now...I'm nippin' at your heels at #51 ;) :D
Bugger, you passed me! :-( Your lucky, if I had a program like folding control, I would be after you! Do you run your computers 24/7? I only run mine for about 4 hours a day.

medea
Nov 26, 2002, 02:39 PM
yeah I run my (single) computer 24/7 and have Folding set in the startup for when I need to reboot. It's almost invisible and drains like zero resources so it doesnt bother me to run it on my system all the time.

pgwalsh
Nov 26, 2002, 03:45 PM
For some reason I can't access the site. I was at the number 4 position, but probably was passed by now.

mc68k
Nov 26, 2002, 03:48 PM
you're still #4. rugby's cranked it up a notch though. still some rockin' ouput though

word

pgwalsh
Nov 26, 2002, 03:52 PM
Come January, I'll have a new Apple tower and that should help a little.