PDA

View Full Version : DVD player in G4 tower set to wrong region




thomasp
Aug 1, 2005, 11:37 AM
Hi,

We have a Dual 867MHz G4 MDD (combo drive) running OSX 10.2.8. We're in the UK, which is Region 2 for DVD's.

Somehow (probably by accidentally playing a Region 1 disc) the drive is stuck on region 1, and refuses to be changed to region 2.

When I click on "Set region now", I get the attached error message. When I click on OK, the region 2 DVD gets ejected.


How can I set the G4 so as it will play region 2 DVD's again?


Thanks for the help :)



Chundles
Aug 1, 2005, 12:03 PM
Try using VLC media player, it overlooks the region coding or something spooky like that but it works, I use DVDs from all over on my iBook and it's never missed a beat.

thomasp
Aug 1, 2005, 04:14 PM
Is ther any solution that will overcome this error message and set my DVD player back to its correct region?

I'd rather have a DVD player set to the correct region than have a piece of software that bypasses it.

Stampyhead
Aug 1, 2005, 04:39 PM
According to Apple you can change DVD Player's region code 5 times. After that it stays on the last one and will not change again. Perhaps that is what happened with your machine? Maybe reinstalling DVD Player or the entire System software would reset it and it would start over.
Good luck!

RGunner
Aug 1, 2005, 04:50 PM
Region free player, you must flash firmware. There are no software fix's (that I know of). RPC1.org is the best place to the find the info you seek. Might need a PC to do it tho.

thomasp
Aug 2, 2005, 03:10 AM
According to Apple you can change DVD Player's region code 5 times. After that it stays on the last one and will not change again. Perhaps that is what happened with your machine? Maybe reinstalling DVD Player or the entire System software would reset it and it would start over.
Good luck!

According to the error messages I attached to my earlier post, I have four changes left, so it can't be on the last one.

I'm a bit reluctant to re-install the system software just to correct this one problem - I fear something else may go wrong!

Region free player, you must flash firmware. There are no software fix's (that I know of). RPC1.org is the best place to the find the info you seek. Might need a PC to do it tho.

I don't want region free, I just want region 2, instead of region 1.


We're considering buying an internal DVD burner to go in the spare optical bay. I assume if we got a new DVD burner and put it in the bottom bay it'd be able to read region two discs?

giomla
May 30, 2006, 11:08 AM
Anyone still experiencing "70001" problem? i might have a solution....at least it worked for me...

benthewraith
May 30, 2006, 11:17 AM
According to the error messages I attached to my earlier post, I have four changes left, so it can't be on the last one.

I'm a bit reluctant to re-install the system software just to correct this one problem - I fear something else may go wrong!



I don't want region free, I just want region 2, instead of region 1.


We're considering buying an internal DVD burner to go in the spare optical bay. I assume if we got a new DVD burner and put it in the bottom bay it'd be able to read region two discs?

Huh....wait, so instead of using software that lets you play dvds from anywhere in the world you'd rather spend 60, 70 pounds just to have a region 2 setting? And you're not even sure if installing a new DVD player will work? Well, it's your money, but VLC player is the easier route, and everyone who has it says it works great, it works great for me.

Laser47
May 30, 2006, 11:31 AM
Do you have another computer around a desktop mac or pc or one you could use? If so take the drive out of the computer and put it in another one, then try to change it. region codes are stored internally inside the drive so it should carry over.

crap freakboy
May 30, 2006, 11:43 AM
Make a region free version of your DVD with Mac the Ripper and save to your Harddrive or put on a dvd.
Or go to PCWorld buy a DL DVD burner such as the Philips R1660P1 for £34. Worked a treat for me, uberfast burning can't be beaten compared to that combo drive, at least it was for me.

shaolindave
Dec 2, 2006, 04:36 AM
i'm having the same exact problem with my 1st gen intel imac. except i have 3 changes left, and it's changed from region 1 to region 3. using vlc isn't really good enough for me, i really prefer to use front row. same error message too, error: -70001

figboy
Sep 18, 2007, 12:37 PM
Anyone still experiencing "70001" problem? i might have a solution....at least it worked for me...

Hi my son is in Italy experiencing exactly the error code you talk about 7001, associated with changing the region code and possibly exceeding the limit of 5 ? Any help gratefully received.

thomasp
Sep 18, 2007, 02:01 PM
Hi my son is in Italy experiencing exactly the error code you talk about 7001, associated with changing the region code and possibly exceeding the limit of 5 ? Any help gratefully received.


What operating system are you running? I found upgrading to Tiger solved the problem.